Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Adamsville Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 16, 2009

I truly love the spirit of this school. The teachers are very much in touch with Parents to help in the entire teaching process. This is great for those of us parents whom want to have a role in our childrens education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2008

My children have been at AES since they started kindergarden. My oldest start kindergaden in 2005. I have really loved being apart of this school getting to know the faculty. I know that when I walk into that school the faculty there know me and my children and have always been extremely helpful. The teachers have always gone the extra mile to make sure that my kids received a very good education. I would recommend and have recommended this school to other parents. I have actually put off moving out of this area until my children are older so they will be able to attend AES through 5th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2008

I have had children at this school the last 5 years and AES is GREAT!!! I have never been more pleased with the faculty at any school that my kids have attended. They are caring, nuturing, respectful and you can see that they LOVE their job. I would recomend any parent moving to this area to enroll their children there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2008

Excellent school! Great teachers who really care!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2007

Adamsville is a wonderful school! It has a diverse school culture, and caring teachers who want my kids to have the best possible learning experience. They have good test scores every year. They also teach us parents how to understand our child's scores on dibels testing and the sat. They've had workshops for parents to show us what our kids are doing in class and how to help them at home! We've had a good experience at Adamsville Elementary!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2007

I work at AES. I love it. I brought one of my own children to attend AES. It has been wonderful. He loves it. It is a great school. The students are very respectful. The teachers really care about their students. I love it as a teacher and as a parent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2006

2 of my children have been at this school for the pst 2 years and enjoyed sending them there. i have not had any problems with the falcuty and find the parent involvement extrodinary. i recommend anyone moving to the neighborhood to enroll their school age children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2006

My son has attended this school since kindergarten.I have been very pleased with the academic programs,the availability of low student teacher ratios,and the type of extracurricular activities offered.He is now in the fifth grade and I would highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2006

My children and I love this school. The principal, faculty, and staff are excellent and always helpful. They truly care about the students at Adamsville Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2006

My kids had a horrible experience the whole time they were at this school. The principal was very rude and the teachers did not care what students did to other students. I would not recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2005

I am extremely satisfied with the faculty at this school! I feel they go the extra mile for every child. Would not want to go anywhere else!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 93% in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students75%
Female86%
Male67%
Black68%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White85%
Free lunch eligible69%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English75%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant75%
Poverty73%
Not poverty80%

Reading

All Students82%
Female93%
Male72%
Black76%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White88%
Free lunch eligible74%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English82%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant82%
Poverty80%
Not poverty85%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students81%
Female83%
Male78%
Black83%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White74%
Free lunch eligible69%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant81%
Poverty76%
Not poverty100%

Reading

All Students89%
Female93%
Male85%
Black94%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White79%
Free lunch eligible83%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant89%
Poverty87%
Not poverty100%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students95%
Female100%
Male92%
Black97%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible94%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant95%
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a

Reading

All Students86%
Female95%
Male79%
Black87%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible84%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant86%
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Students80%
Female90%
Male71%
Black83%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible74%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant80%
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 61% 34%
White 34% 58%
Hispanic 4% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 75%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms Kathy R Murray
Fax number
  • (205) 379-2445

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

600 Hazelwood Rd
Adamsville, AL 35005
Phone: (205) 379-2400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Minor Community School
Birmingham, AL


Forestdale Baptist
Birmingham, AL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT