Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Thompson Intermediate School

Public | 4-5 | 994 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 5, 2012

While I want to rate this school 5 stars, I simply can't. Far too many of the students are not capable of elementary work or can't speak English or are discipline problems. These students absorb far too many of the resources in terms of money, faculty resources and classtime. Good and average students are pretty much made to repeat 2nd & 3rd grade level work as teachers spend the first half of the school year trying to catch up kids who didn't crack a book all summer and have no respect for learning. The school does have parental involvement - if you don't work outside the home. Activities that involve parents like meet the teacher, orientations, parents meetings and such almost always occur during the day or just after school. I've had several teachers tell me that particular problem is caused by the principal and her unwillingness to work outside of school hours. Notification of events is made at the last minute. We were notified today of big "Parents Day" events that will take place next Tuesday after a Monday holiday. So working parents can't make arrangements to attend ahead of time, even if they have vacation days available because of the short notice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2011

If you have a child with special needs or individual help with learning, this is an incredibly helpful school. The teachers and staff have made my child's transition to 4th grade so easy. I think that, after reading previous feedback and having dealt with special needs for years, parents often ask for the wrong kind of help or ask the wrong person. This school's staff offers an incredible amount of support for my child and our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2011

I've read most of the other reviews, and I have to say that I had a completely different experience. My child attended for two years. I never had a problem with any of the teachers or administrators. They were always very friendly and helpful. I volunteered as often as possible, and was welcomed and appreciated every time. My child was prepared for the sixth grade when he left this school. I think that was the goal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2011

Our child just finished here, too, and it was an awful experience. The teachers were unhelpful and unresponsive. We couldn't get any help or even any quality feedback as to what was going on in our child's classroom. The administrators were no help either. They blindly stood behind teachers who weren't doing their jobs. Most of the other parents we know were in the same boat, too. If you have the means, find some way to skip Thompson Intermediate School and go to a private school. It's the only to get a decent education in Alabaster.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2011

This is a great school for students who are self-motivated, dilligent, calm and in love with learning. Basically, if your child loves to study on their own and is capable of teaching themselves then this is the place for them. This is not, unfortunately, the place for a child who needs to be taught or needs any kind of individual help. If they can't learn it own their own then they can't learn it here. In the end, they will get passing grades but based on our experience and the experience of those we know, very little actual learning takes place. I wish we had known sooner...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2010

This is my child's second year at TIS after being homeschooled for 2 years after less than stellar experiences at private and another public school in the Shelby Co. school system. I was concerned about how she would transition into such a large environment and how she would handle a structured classroom. I'm pleased to say that she did wonderful and was actually crying the last day of class before summer break because she didn't want to leave. TIS is not perfect, no school is for that matter. But for such a large school, they keep things together. The admin, staff and faculty have always been welcoming and quick to reply whenever I have had a question. And with the beginning of a new school year, we're already receiving newsletters to keep us informed of what's going on and planned for the year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2010

I see that other parents are disappointed with gifted and special ed programs, but regular students are not getting what they need either. The BAD news is that classrooms teach to the level of the lowest ability students. The GOOD news is that EVERYONE passes with As. Wheter they have learned anything or not.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2010

One problem there is the unprofessional and unpleasant administration. Depending on who you talk to, or what day it is, you could get much different information given to you. Another disappointment is the lack of challenging classes. It seems that students are passed on through regardless of whether they learn anything. No wonder TIS test scores only earn a 5 out of 10. I prefer that my child be educated than placated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2009

TIS is a great school. It was definitely a transitional time for my child, but the teachers worked with me and my child to help during this time. My child left completely prepared for middle school. I'm not in the 'church group' or other social group that is referred to in other reviews. I simply went to the school and told them I was interested in playing a part in my child's education. The administrators, office staff, and others were always friendly and even asked if I would like to start volunteering (which is something parents usually sign up to do). I know every child is different, but we definitely had a wonderful experience at TIS and wish we could have stayed there longer than 2 years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2008

The teachers at this school are definitely out of touch and burnt out and need to retire or get a new career. The office staff and principal is very professional and really need to clean the slate ann hire teachers who care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2008

My child has always had supportive teachers and since she has been at this school her grades are awful and she is having a difficult time keeping up. She feels that the teachers are leaving her behind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2008

TIS is an extreme school, meaning the teachers are extremely for themselves and against the students. My 2 sons attended here for 2 very unfortunate years where they not only felt alone and out of place but unwanted and unapprectiated by their teachers. Thank goodness this year we could afford a local private school in the area and what a difference in all aspects!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2008

As the parent of a student in GRC, I can attest to the fact that the parents are no more friendly to me than they are to those whose children aren't in the program. Unless you are able to volunteer or be at the school to schmooze all the time, it seems like no one even cares who you are. This entire community is so cliquish, it's like being in high school all over again. The level of teaching is average, but there seems to be a high level of apathy among many of the teachers. With only a few exceptions, they don't really seem to care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2008

This is a good school, but what they say is true. If your child is not on the honor roll there is not much support. The parents are not friendly unless you attend the same church or other functions. The principal this year is very nice and professional. The assistant principal Ms. Grimes is great too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2007

This school is great if you have a child that is in GRC or maintains an A-B average. For those students that struggle and have ADD you can forget support. You will receive a passing grade to move you ahead to the next grade, but SAT scores says it all! Now you know why this school does not meet AYP.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2007

This is a great school where teachers and principals are willing to go the extra mile to educate and care for students!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2007

Great school if you are a select group of people who attend the same church, pool, baseball/softball teams etc... We moved to Alabaster a year ago and felt extremely out of place upon entering this school's office and even my childs classroom as did my child all year at TIS. Definitely a 'good ole' boy network going on at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2003

Thompson Intemediate students have opportunities to participate in some great programs. They learn to make Powerpoint presentations in the 4th grade. There is a great after school program called 'Hands on Science' that students can take. The principal greets students at the door with a smile each day.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 93% in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students86%
Female88%
Male84%
Black82%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic82%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White88%
Free lunch eligible73%
Reduced lunch eligible83%
Special education37%
General population90%
English language learners58%
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Poverty74%
Not poverty94%

Reading

All Students91%
Female94%
Male88%
Black94%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic75%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White94%
Free lunch eligible81%
Reduced lunch eligible91%
Special education40%
General population95%
English language learners53%
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Poverty82%
Not poverty96%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students93%
Female95%
Male93%
Black89%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic91%
Multiracial92%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White95%
Free lunch eligible92%
Reduced lunch eligible96%
Special education66%
General population95%
English language learners89%
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant93%
Poverty92%
Not poverty94%

Reading

All Students89%
Female91%
Male87%
Black82%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic79%
Multiracial77%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White93%
Free lunch eligible81%
Reduced lunch eligible96%
Special education55%
General population91%
English language learners42%
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant89%
Poverty83%
Not poverty93%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Students78%
Female79%
Male77%
Black72%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic57%
Multiracial77%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White85%
Free lunch eligible64%
Reduced lunch eligible76%
Special education53%
General population80%
English language learners26%
Proficient in English81%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant78%
Poverty66%
Not poverty88%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 66% 58%
Black 17% 34%
Hispanic 14% 5%
Two or more races 2% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 44%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10019 Hwy 119
Alabaster, AL 35007
Website: Click here
Phone: (205) 682-5720

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT