Advertisement
Advertisement

Evangel Classical Christian School

Private | K-12 | 380 students

We are best known for development of leaders.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Alabaster

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $128,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $890.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 1, 2013

My son has gone here for 5 years since k-4 and every teacher has been placed in his life for a reason. He continues to excel in his faith as well as his school classes. Most kids includng himself are on A honor roll every time. And considering they run an accelerated learning curriculum that speaks volumes for the teachers. BEST SCHOOL EVER!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2012

My children attended this school for the past 4 years and It is truely a wonderful school. The academics are top notch- the teachers are amazing, students respectful to their teachers and one another. A++ school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2012

My children have attended this school for 5 years. I could not be more pleased with the education that they are receiving. They are taught to be life long learners but more importantly to be culture changers. They learn how to defend their faith. They have wonderful opportunities to do Christian service projects. Visit the website to see what the latest service project has been. If you are looking for your child to be educated from a Christian worldview in every subject you should visit the school. There is a wonderful atmosphere of respect and genuine love for learning. The attitude of the students' at ECCS is to do well and to always remember to represent Christ well. The school does ask that you sign a commitment to attend for the year and I am sure bases the budget on those commitments.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2012

This is such an incredible school in so many ways! The Christian education which the children receive is second to none. The education that the children receive in all the other subjects is beyond compare. Everyday I am amazed with all that my children are learning. The entire staff is so caring and when you walk into the school you immediately feel like you are part of a large caring "family". Here you feel like you are welcome to come and see what your child is learning at any time and they encourage you to be a part of the school in a number of ways. The way in which they teach each subject is made so interesting that the students all seem to LOVE learning--never tedious or boring in any shape, form or fashion. I cannot say enough positive words about this school---it won my heart from the first day my children started going there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2012

My wife and I love ECCS. This is a truly Christian school with a strong academic focus as well. In our experience, the graduates are grounded in faith and extremely well prepared to move on to college. Scholarship amounts offered to the graduates are amazing. Students are actively serving their community through required service hours and dedicated service days when the entire upper school participates in focused community service. The teachers and administrators are excellent Christian leaders. I could not possibly be happier with the school my children attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2012

If you want a decent academic school with mediocre Christian principles, then this school is fine. However, its school statement says that "doctrines will clearly delineate the Reformed view of the Presbyterian Church of America." This is NOT the case. Also, in the year we attended, there was not one single opportunity for Christian service or ministry, but many social activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2012

The teachers were nice, however I was disappointed when we decided to withdraw my daughter after 2 weeks because she was so unhappy about attending that we were still required to pay the $430 / month tuition until the end of the school year. It's disheartening that a school that poses as having christian values would not have compassion on a family that just can't afford to pay the tuition when their child is no longer attending. Yes, it was in the contract we signed, however she only went for 2 weeks. Very heartbreaking.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2011

My son will NOT attend anywhere else...Cassical Edu is second to none!!! My son has attended 4 years and it gets better and better!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2009

This is our 5th year at ECCS and we Love it! I could not be happier with my how much my two chidren are learning. Praise God for a school like Evangel!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2009

Incredible school! I'm so amazed every day when my kids come home and are excited to share what they've learned!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 99% 56%
Black 1% 38%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian 0% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Hispanic 0% 4%
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Thompson Intermediate
Riverchase Middle
Meadowview Elementary
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 12:50, 3:10
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Pam McKee
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACCS
Fax number
  • (205) 216-0150

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

423 Thompson Rd
Alabaster, AL 35007
Website: Click here
Phone: (205) 216-0149

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT