Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-12
Public district
Alexandria, AL
Students enrolled: 1,000
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Alexandria High School 4

Posted August 09, 2015
- a community member
I went to Alexandria in the tenth grade and only had three years there but I found the teachers were very interested in your welfare and your future. i was involved in sports, co-captain of the football team, president of the honor society, president of the senior class and did not live for the sports area. Due to the time sports took, I'm sure there were a lot of students that I did not have a chance to meet but I tried to meet all of them in high school. I'm also sure there were "cliques" but I didn't see any nor was I a member of any. Over all very friendly school, academics were important but we were still a country school and this meant that there were subjects that were not offered as they would be at Anniston High.

Alexandria High School 2

Posted June 17, 2013
- a community member
Alexandria is a great school other than it mainly focuses on JUST sports. If you don't play some type of sport you just "one of those kids" who doesn't platy sports. This school needs major help.


Alexandria High School 1

Posted May 26, 2012
- a parent
The principal at this school is not capable of running an institution of this size. He couldn't handle the little 1A school that eh came from. You have a maniacal egomaniac running a show full of "favorites" and teachers dating students. More work needs to be done. Stop putting so much emphasis on importing products for athletics and focus on teaching these kids.

Alexandria High School
no rating

Posted November 21, 2009
- a parent
Alexandria is a wonderful school, my child has been here since kindergarden and is now a junior. It;s great to be a Valley Cub......

Alexandria High School 3

Posted October 07, 2008
- a student
I have been a student of Alexandria since kindergarten, so I haven't a huge basis to compare to, but I shall make my best attempt. I am a purely academicly focused student that has always achieved A's in all subjects. Alexandria administrators mostly support the athletic students of our school, but our average teachers are very supportive of acedemic students. A very prominent example would be our National Honor Society chapter sponsored by in house teachers who provide us with goals and outlets for community service projects. We are a small rural school, but we offer an excellent band program that recieves ones at almost every competition, and a fabulous choir that also earns many rewards. Our atheletics department is a bit over supported, but it would be useful if your child or yourself was interested in a winning, dedicated sports team.


Alexandria High School 4

Posted June 24, 2008
- a parent
Good teaching staff. Good leadership, although, defiantly pushes religion. Good basics. Need more emphasis on foreign languages and the arts. School is above average in safety and discipline. Very good major sports. School does not support track and field and other minor sports.

Alexandria High School 4

Posted October 26, 2007
- a student
I have been in AHS from k-8th grade. From what i have come to know so far. is that this school is a great opportunity for kids to make friends. but also i think that if your not into sports. you will get excluded from some fun things. other than that i love this school. it would be a great experience to go there. so if your new in calhoun then this is the place to go to school.

Alexandria High School 3

Posted November 09, 2006
- a parent
I like the school pretty well, but my concern is for the students who do not excel in sports. It seems all the attention goes to football and basketball.


Alexandria High School 5

Posted December 03, 2005
- a student
I am a student @ AhS...I feel extremely safe nad the teachers are not only Edu. teachers but life teacher as well. There are many clubs @ AHS for the students to get involed with. I agree that that the 5-8 are not seperated but they also need to see the leaders of AHS, which are great the band is a highly ranked and the Choirs are life changing. I encourage you to put your child into Alexandria not only because of the great Edu. but also because of the students and all the activitys AHS has in it. Parents are involed but are not forced the only thing they have to do is jsut go to the school you don't have to be invited. Heather-13

Alexandria High School 4

Posted February 08, 2005
- a parent
My child started Alex. High in the Fall 2004 in 5th grade. Although she had a rough time adjusting, she is doing better now. The school seems OK but I don't have any experience to compare it to. My concerns with Alex. High are: 1. There should be a separate middle school for 5 -8 grades. Grouping them with High Schoolers forces unneeded pressures on them. There is enough negative distractions around them from TV, computers, magazines, billboard ads, etc... 2. There needs to be more involvement with Parents and teachers. Outside of the initial orientation, I have not been invited back to the school. This concerns me greatly. I'd rather know what's going on inside my child's school. 3. The school should maintain a website so parents can get updated information, meeting dates, activities, etc... 4. Need more Arts Programs.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Alexandria High School
353 Stadium Dr, Alexandria, AL  36250
(256) 741-4400
Last modified Alexandria High School is a Public school that serves grades 6-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Alexandria High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top