Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


20 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Alexandria High School 2

Posted June 17, 2013
- a community member
Alexandria is a great school other than it mainly focuses on JUST sports. If you don't play some type of sport you just "one of those kids" who doesn't platy sports. This school needs major help.

Alexandria High School 1

Posted May 26, 2012
- a parent
The principal at this school is not capable of running an institution of this size. He couldn't handle the little 1A school that eh came from. You have a maniacal egomaniac running a show full of "favorites" and teachers dating students. More work needs to be done. Stop putting so much emphasis on importing products for athletics and focus on teaching these kids.


Alexandria High School 0
no rating

Posted November 21, 2009
- a parent
Alexandria is a wonderful school, my child has been here since kindergarden and is now a junior. It;s great to be a Valley Cub......

Alexandria High School 3

Posted September 02, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Alexandria High School 3

Posted October 07, 2008
- a student
I have been a student of Alexandria since kindergarten, so I haven't a huge basis to compare to, but I shall make my best attempt. I am a purely academicly focused student that has always achieved A's in all subjects. Alexandria administrators mostly support the athletic students of our school, but our average teachers are very supportive of acedemic students. A very prominent example would be our National Honor Society chapter sponsored by in house teachers who provide us with goals and outlets for community service projects. We are a small rural school, but we offer an excellent band program that recieves ones at almost every competition, and a fabulous choir that also earns many rewards. Our atheletics department is a bit over supported, but it would be useful if your child or yourself was interested in a winning, dedicated sports team.


Alexandria High School 5

Posted October 07, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Alexandria High School 4

Posted June 24, 2008
- a parent
Good teaching staff. Good leadership, although, defiantly pushes religion. Good basics. Need more emphasis on foreign languages and the arts. School is above average in safety and discipline. Very good major sports. School does not support track and field and other minor sports.

Alexandria High School 5

Posted March 12, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Alexandria High School 4

Posted October 26, 2007
- a student
I have been in AHS from k-8th grade. From what i have come to know so far. is that this school is a great opportunity for kids to make friends. but also i think that if your not into sports. you will get excluded from some fun things. other than that i love this school. it would be a great experience to go there. so if your new in calhoun then this is the place to go to school.

Alexandria High School 5

Posted March 27, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Alexandria High School
353 Stadium Dr, Alexandria, AL  36250
(256) 741-4400
Last modified Alexandria High School is a Public school that serves grades 6-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Alexandria High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top