Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 11 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Saks High School
no rating

Posted March 24, 2009
- a parent
The teachers work hard to help or get the help your child needs to succeed. The one that comes to mind most is Mrs. Ingram, she is an amazing teacher. The Principal, Mr. Whaley, is the kind of person you have to kind of warm up to because he comes across rather blunt. But you will see he loves this school and would do anything in the world for each and every student, no matter how rich or poor or color of skin. He works hard to make Saks safe for the kids and pushes them to reach their potential. I look forward to him being the principal when my other kids move to the high school. Mr. Alison is a real asset to the school as well. As Assistant Principal, he is the disciplinarian , but still maintains an open door policy to the students anytime they need his help.

Saks High School 4

Posted July 15, 2008
- a parent
As a parent and a graduate of SHS, this is a great place to learn and excel in all things.The faculty and staff are always great or as long as i was in school,and are still today!If you are looking for a great learning and above all master the arts of life Saks High School will be a Teacher and A Provider. I know it helped me!


Saks High School 4

Posted July 01, 2008
- a student
Mr. Whaley is a great principal and is way better than Mr.Skinner. Mr. Whaley cares for the studen't and facilty, and he wants to see his school as nothing but the best. mr.Whaley has low toleance for misbehavior. Our school is not the best but he strives to make it the best. We all love Mr.Whaley and when we have a problem the counselor can't solve he's there to help us and always finds time to ask you questions about the school and will let you sit out on drills just to make sure your teacher notices you are missing. He is a great principal and comes in our classrooms continuously to make sure we are doing what our teacher said we would be doing.Keep up the good work Mr.Whaley

Saks High School 4

Posted April 18, 2007
- a student
As a former student, I both agree and disagree with the comments posted here. Most of the teachers are caring and take time to see that students learn the material. Overall, I would recommend this school to anyone. I hope someday to return to SHS as a teacher myself, and would be proud to consider myself a member of the SHS faculty.

Saks High School 5

Posted March 04, 2006
- a student
I was a student at SHS. Since attending school there I have relocated and attended many different schools. There is no other school that can compare to SHS. It is true that there are different social groups and status's, but that is a matter at any school. Academic wise SHS is the best in my opinion. It just seems like every other school is so far behind and every child is struggling elsewhere. The teachers really care about their students at SHS. There isn't a big problem discipline wise. If anything, the children who get in trouble need to be disciplined more frequently at home so they know what is expected of them when they are at school. It is not a school's place to teach children such things, it's the parents. Overall SHS is a great place for your children to grow and learn! Go wildcats!


Saks High School 4

Posted October 29, 2005
- a student
I am a past student of Saks High I agree with the other posts. Things are a little biased everyone is catagorized. I wasn't in that 'in' catagory so I didn't fit in and it seemed that it really didn't matter if I showed up or not. As a matter of fact I quit and no one noticed staff wise nor did they ever try to make contact afterwards. I jsut never went back. The only things I liked about Saks was some of the teachers and the school and the location. Would recommend to the popular folks.

Saks High School 4

Posted February 10, 2005
- a student
Hello i am a student at Saks High.. i do believe it is kind of a buddy system, and im not trying to argue with the person who posted before but i dont like parents and other people who dont really know everything that goes on at school talking baout how bad it is. Quite frankly i really like this school and all the teachers are nice.. although i do agree with the last post there is lack of extreme discipline. so if you are looking for a place for you child to go i say saks high b/c were not huge like oxford, everyones nice, and they will love it. sry if ive offended anyone but i think that u should see it from a students standpoint!

Saks High School 1

Posted July 07, 2004
- a student
Saks High School is a 'buddy system' school in the truest sense. Punishment, or lack of it, is based on your status in the community. This community is 'ruled' by a few and having had two children attend this school I would definatly advise anyone to steer clear of it.

Nearby schools

Saks High School
4401 Saks Rd, Anniston, AL  36206
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. (256) 741-7000
Last modified Saks High School is a Public school that serves grades 8-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top