Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
27 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 30 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


East Limestone High School 5

Posted October 20, 2014
- a parent
East Limestone is an excellent school and the students have so many opportunities to get involved. I have had two children graduate from East and they both had wonderful experiences there.

East Limestone High School 1

Posted October 10, 2014
- a parent
Our child previously attended the preceding Creekside Elementary which has great management/leadership, challenges students and overall grades excellent with us. However, East Limestone is pale in comparison! From an outsider that has seen quality educational programs in various cities/states, East Limestone is no even on the map. Sure it is certainly a percentage of finances that is holding this school back, but truly it is a mismanaging of funds/priorities, a cultural lackadaisical attitude and lack of vision. The principal is just now retiring after 30 years (classic tenure, not merit) so hopefully there is about to be a significant philosophical calibration here. This school needs to stop worrying about being "so nice" and concentrate on prepping students for real collegiate success. Aggressive and progressive leadership is sorely needed at this school now. We are seriously considering bearing the significant cost increase to move our children to the Madison City schools. They have vision, significant budget, diverse staff and much greater % of engineer/military background parents in Madison. East Limestone has small town super nice staff, but does nice promote success?


East Limestone High School 5

Posted May 01, 2013
- a community member
I have heard so many good things about East Limestone High. I am glad my children will be able to attend in the next few years!

East Limestone High School 1

Posted February 01, 2012
- a parent
The teachers and coaches here are just putting in time so they can retire and help there children in sports if they are the coaches. There is a lot of politics going on in the school and it is run down terribly. Seems there not putting any money into the school!

East Limestone High School 2

Posted September 03, 2010
- a community member
Me and my wife have nieces that go to ELHS, 1 graduated this last year the other just started 6th grade there. My wife is a teacher (in another school system) and has had to straighten out my nieces schedule last year, a friend of hers and her boy friends (who is attending ELHS this year) schedules for graduation. The counselors at ELHS are not up to date on new state policies and what is required for graduation and I have seen first hand my wife having to tell parents (of students that go to ELHS) new state policies so there kids could be put into the right classes to be on track for graduation. Counselors at ELHS have no clue whats going on. We were going to move into the school system, but have decided to move elsewhere after experiencing the problems first hand.


East Limestone High School 2

Posted June 27, 2009
- a student
I am a freshman at ELHS and I believe that the funds are not distrubuted equally. The football and cheerleading programs are given more money that any other activity. I know especially the band is in debt. It seems to me that the most important thing to this school isn't academics but sports, namely football.

East Limestone High School
no rating

Posted April 27, 2009
- a student
I am in 6th grade at East, and it is an awesome school. Both the athletics and sports program are one of the best in the state

East Limestone High School 5

Posted December 26, 2008
- a student
I am an eighth grader at East and am in athletics and I love it. I mean,we might not have the best of things but it's cool.


East Limestone High School
no rating

Posted October 16, 2008
- a student
I am in the eighth grade at East Limestone Middle School. Even though ELMS doesn't have the best quality school buiding, they do the best they can with what they have! I just moved there and I was very worried about making friends and fitting in. But everyone is so warm and welcoming! That is why I am looking forward to the next four years in High School there!! Thanks- a student.(:

East Limestone High School 4

Posted September 11, 2008
- a parent
I have 2 children in East - one in Middle School and one in High School. I believe the system is doing its best with what it has available for them. Both of my kids have gone to East Limestone schools since Kindergarten.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

East Limestone High School
15641 East Limestone Rd, Athens, AL  35613
(256) 233-6660
Last modified East Limestone High School is a Public school that serves grades 6-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
East Limestone High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. Top