Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-12
Private
Atmore, AL
Students enrolled: 314
Before care: No
 
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Escambia Academy, providing a safe, Christian environment in which to learn and grow. Call 251-368-2080 to find out more on how to join us. Escambia Academy has been providing a solid foundation for its students for 40 years. We are an independent, co-educational, day school, providing a quality education from K-4 to 12th grade. The school is structured into elementary, middle and high school divisions. It is a non-profit organization governed by an elected Board of Directors and supported by tuition, fees, donations and fund raising. Escambia Academy is fully accredited by the Alabama Independent School Association (AISA) and the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS). Escambia Academy's mission is to provide a solid foundation through a quality well-rounded educational experience in a safe, Christian environment, supported by a fully accredited academic program that is financially viable and dedicated to the students' intellectual and personal growth and development.
August 14, 2015

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Escambia Academy 1

Posted August 16, 2015
- a community member
Instead of improving athletic facilities they should focus on improving the facilities of the actual school especially the elementary school and auditorium. It is so old and nasty !

Escambia Academy
Develops empathy: no rating

Posted August 14, 2015
- a school leader
We would encourage you to visit the campus, interact with the administration and teachers, and see for yourself why we are so proud of our school. We can also make arrangements for you and your child to monitor classes if you wish. Please contact our headmaster, Mr. David Walker, at 251-368-2080.


Escambia Academy
Develops honesty: no rating

Posted August 14, 2015
- a school leader
A Solid Foundation Our curriculum provides a strong foundation in the basics of education. We Believe for a student to excel intelluctually and personally, he or she must have a solid foundation in education. Our performance against this standard speaks for itself. Standardized test such as the Stanford Achievement Test and the A.C.T. are used to measure our academic success. Escambia Academy students consistently rank at or above the 70th percentile nationally in these tests. Our college-bound students have averaged 25 or higher on the A.C.T. for many years. A solid foundation is fostered throughout the curriculum. Students have access to a fully equipped computer lab. In addition to a core curriculum of English, Math, Science, Social Studies, students may select electives such as Advanced Science, Math, Spanish, and English. The elementary school utilizes the Accelerated Reader program and the student participation is overwhelming. Escambia Academy competes in Science Fairs, Scholar's Bowls (high school and middle school), Math Contests (high school and middle school) Spelling Bees, Geography Bees and Art Fairs. The commitment of Escambia Academy to academic excellence through a solid foundation is evidenced by the winning of one of the prestigious awards given to AISA member schools (Alabama Independent School Association). Escambia Academy was awarded the Blue Ribbon School designation for the 2010-2011 school year for offering an outstanding educational program with top-notch facilities.

Escambia Academy
no rating

Posted August 14, 2015
- a school leader
Escambia Academy, providing a safe, Christian environment in which to learn and grow. Call 251-368-2080 to find out more on how to join us. Escambia Academy has been providing a solid foundation for its students for 40 years. We are an independent, co-educational, day school, providing a quality education from K-4 to 12th grade. The school is structured into elementary, middle and high school divisions. It is a non-profit organization governed by an elected Board of Directors and supported by tuition, fees, donations and fund raising. Escambia Academy is fully accredited by the Alabama Independent School Association (AISA) and the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS). Escambia Academy's mission is to provide a solid foundation through a quality well-rounded educational experience in a safe, Christian environment, supported by a fully accredited academic program that is financially viable and dedicated to the students' intellectual and personal growth and development.

Escambia Academy 5

Posted August 07, 2015
- a parent
Best school my boys have ever attended. Very diverse student body that really love each other as brothers and sisters. Teachers and faculty are awesome, our SAT scores beat everyone in the area. Last years graduates garnered an average of $55,000 in scholarship monies. Would not want to go anywhere else


Escambia Academy 5

Posted June 06, 2013
- a parent
This is a wonderful school, who tries hard to not be bias towards certain "Heritages". Whether or not you agree with the boards decision about the "feather", she is the one who broke the rules. She was given the dress code and after she asked permission was told no. She did it anyways. She disrespected the Board and is trying to get away with it. In the real world, she would have been fired. But no, because this is in a small town and certain people feel like they have pull, they are trying to bully EA into an apology and to go against their own rules! Also, I find it completely ridiculous that people are getting on here and rating this school low because of a social problem they are having. Grow up. The school is great, teachers are wonderful, kids generally respect each other and authority. Parents are very involved, and they listen to parents concerns. There is not another school around, including Florida, that I would put my children in. They are very welcoming and make you feel like family. My children are more advance then kids who don't attend EA and get to experience more. Please don't listen to these people, if you follow the rules, you will love it! So will your children!

Escambia Academy 5

Posted June 04, 2013
- a parent
My experience with Escambia Academy has been nothing but excellent. My children have attended EA for many years. The academics are superb & the extracurricular activities are fabulous. The parental involvement is far beyond average--very, very close to 100%. The teachers really care about the children & the kids care about each other. My daughter has experienced great success in furthering her education at Auburn University. Her success can be directly credited to the education she received at Escambia Academy.

Escambia Academy 5

Posted January 05, 2008
- a student
it is an awesome school with a great sports program!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Escambia Academy
268 Cowpen Creek Road, Atmore, AL  36502
(251) 368-2080
Last modified Escambia Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Escambia Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top