Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Escambia County High School

Public | 8-12 | 534 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 28, 2011

As a child/parent advocate, I am taken back by what seems to be an unwelcoming and unprofessional attitude when trying to help students. I noticed how the raking in parental involvement was a one star and not surprising! It is important that when things are brought to leaders/educators attention that the mindset stays as professional as possible and that solutions to the problems be researched. Some of my personal experience has not been very positive and has been very displeasing. It is difficult for me to see parents being really involved when road blocks seem to be put in place due to either hurt feelings or an ego trip. The time has surpassed for a change to take place in some of the schools in Atmore and it is my utmost desire that the leaders and educators will embrace parental/advocate involvement because no matter how much I may be pressed against, I will continue to push for parental involvement.


Posted August 22, 2011

I was at Friday night's football jamboree to watch my child play. However, i couldn't help but notice that there were only a few select players playing and sometimes, playing offense and defense. Its not fair to the rest of the team who practices just as hard and just as often, to sit on the sidelines and watch the same players on the field the entire game. Maybe if the coaches would stop playing "favorites", they could win a few games this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2011

Although there are some bad points with this school, I would like to say that there are some good points. I am an alumni and I have children who now attends. But what I have noticed is that although the kids share some blame so does the parents. These are the ones who finds fault, but can never be seen participating in the school. If we going to sit back and compain and never get involved, then these kids will be a representation of us. A group of people who doesn't care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2011

I feel that this school is hardly going to do anything good for anyone. The textbooks are outdated, the science labs are so poorly funded that only the theory of science is given with little or no practice, and what they consider to be "ready for college" is almost a joke. If at all possible, send your children else where. I went there and during my time, we had many different principals, teachers that would only survive one semester, and at best, a mediocre enviroment for succeeding. The students really do run the school and it makes it impossible for anyone to truly learn anything. I wouldn't want my daughter going there by any means.


Posted May 8, 2007

This school operates with very antiquated philosophies regarding education, social interaction and discipline. The administration hides its head in the sand and allows the students to run amuck. There is a band, but no choir. There is no drama or speech program. There are athletics. It was once a very good school with a lot to offer, but now it's just a place where kids go to fight, argue and goof off. It's sad, but I wouldn't bring my children to school there and I'm an alumnus.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 9, 2006

This is a good school with exception leadership, and it will continue to produce many well-adjusted citizens.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 26, 2006

As a new alumna of ECHS, I have mixed feelings about my alma mater. I have been a student here during four years of turmoil and change, but I must say that I feel that ECHS is finally on the right path. While ECHS does not offer AP courses, it does offer a phenomenal Dual Enrollment program for sophomores, juniors, and seniors. The band, which ranked superior at the 2005 State Competition, is finally under a stable band director with a vision. The only thing that I can truly criticize is the lack of parental and community support. Our community is slow to praise and quick to judge, and until the school has its full support, I think ECHS's growth will continue to be hindered.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 16, 2005

Escambia County High School has allowed the oppurtunities of the future for several students. This year, Kyle Ferguson, a great principal has taken charge of the school. He is a great leader over this school and many parents and teachers/staff respect him a great deal. Many parents and officials are more attracted to the school since the several 'clean-ups' of campus and buildings being re-modeled. This year we have new teachers and coordinated study classes that allow after school and in-school help for graduation exams and other core subjects. Over-all, Escambia County High School has the potential to allow your kids future to become a perfect success.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 28, 2005

Well my name is Cecil Buckhault. I am a student at this high school and I can tell you that the only exceptional Teacher at this school is Mrs. Garner she has helped me get through the year without her I really don't know what I would do she is a sweetheart and also an angel she has helped me look at colleges and I want to become a Teacher just like her. I want to be the best and go to college and get a masters or even a phd in science. But she is really the best teacher you can find and I will back up every last word that I type.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 15, 2004

Escambia county high school has many caring teachers and staff. The majority of teachers do a great job and are truly concerned about the students. Do not let one or two bad apples spoil the cart. There is no such thing as a 'perfect school.'
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 15, 2004

I am a student at ECHS and some things are really not that bad. Most of our teachers are outstanding individuals, not just Ms.Cox and Ms.Fantroy but also Mrs.Laurie, Mrs.Garner, Mrs.White and there are more. Our principal does just stand in the hall way, but teachers and staff respect him and all things go thru him. The asst. principals are the ones you see greeting,helping,and looking for the best possible thing for the student(especially Mr. Furgenson). ECHS extracurricular activities are the best in the county. Our parent involvement is increasing some, but you can make a difference by starting a PTA. ECHS also provides necessary requirments for your child to mature. You should look more into ECHS if your looking for a high school for your child to go to.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 1, 2004

E.C.H.S. is, at best, an average school. The principal is seen walking the halls staring at the floor all the time instead of doing something about the violence and other problems with the school. The assistant principals aren't much better. I'm highly displeased with E.C.H.S. I wouldn't reccomend anyone send their child there if they have an option.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2004

I think Escambia County HIgh School is the worst school in the world. I would not advise anyone to send their students to that school! Especially if you want them to LEARN. Although they do have a few good teachers and they are Ms.Fantroy (Science) Ms.Cox(Health) Ms. Helton (Nursing) and Chief Smart (JROTC.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Povertyn/a
Non-povertyn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Povertyn/a
Non-povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 95% in 2012.

118 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
88%
Language

The state average for Language was 75% in 2012.

119 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
64%

2009

 
 
66%
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

120 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
70%

2009

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2012.

119 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
69%

2009

 
 
64%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2009.

118 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
59%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 71% in 2012.

119 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
59%

2009

 
 
67%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 98% in 2012.

108 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
86%
Language

The state average for Language was 90% in 2012.

108 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
75%

2009

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 95% in 2012.

108 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
92%

2009

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 94% in 2012.

108 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
90%

2009

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 94% in 2009.

132 students were tested at this school in 2009.

2009

 
 
79%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 90% in 2012.

108 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
83%

2009

 
 
92%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

All Students86%
Female86%
Male85%
Black80%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Native100%
White96%
Free lunch eligible82%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population88%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant86%
Poverty83%
Non-poverty100%

Language

All Students66%
Female75%
Male60%
Black61%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Native75%
White82%
Free lunch eligible60%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population70%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English66%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant66%
Poverty63%
Non-poverty85%

Math

All Students73%
Female81%
Male67%
Black66%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Native100%
White87%
Free lunch eligible71%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population75%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English73%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant73%
Poverty73%
Non-poverty76%

Reading

All Students74%
Female81%
Male69%
Black71%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Native82%
White82%
Free lunch eligible71%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population79%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English74%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant74%
Poverty72%
Non-poverty81%

Social Studies

All Students63%
Female63%
Male63%
Black55%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Native82%
White83%
Free lunch eligible57%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population63%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English63%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant63%
Poverty59%
Non-poverty81%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

All Students99%
Female98%
Male100%
Black99%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligible99%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant99%
Poverty99%
Non-poverty100%

Language

All Students92%
Female97%
Male86%
Black89%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligible93%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant92%
Poverty93%
Non-poverty85%

Math

All Students95%
Female98%
Male92%
Black94%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligible96%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population97%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Poverty97%
Non-poverty90%

Reading

All Students94%
Female98%
Male90%
Black93%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligible95%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%
Poverty94%
Non-poverty95%

Social Studies

All Students90%
Female92%
Male88%
Black87%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligible89%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Poverty90%
Non-poverty90%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 73% 35%
White 18% 58%
American Indian/Alaska Native 7% 1%
Hispanic 1% 4%
Asian 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 83%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr Zickeyous M Byrd
Fax number
  • (251) 368-0969

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1215 South Presley St
Atmore, AL 36502
Website: Click here
Phone: (251) 368-9181

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Escambia Academy
Atmore, AL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT