Advertisement
Advertisement

Lee-Scott Academy

Private | PK-12

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Auburn

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $162,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $690.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 9, 2012

As a university professor, this was an obvious choice for my two children. The environment is wonderful. I can make those statements having also experience the local public school system (K-5). My experience with the public school system was not that favorable hence we opted for LSA. My oldest son, when in public school, spent significant time "helping the other kids that don't understand." Furthermore, when I met with the instructor to discuss this issue, I was told "Oh, don't worry your son is doing great! He is ahead of the class and we don't ever have to worry about him." Teaching to the lowest common denominator is not part of my educational model. I don't engage that practice in my classroom and I will not abide those that do. I would encourage any parent to come to LSA and take a look at what it has to offer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2012

Some of my worst memories are at this school. If you're folks are affluent and you are relatively well-adjusted, maybe it's for you. If you are being abused and neglected at home, you won't feel welcome here either.


Posted March 4, 2010

it has good nice teachers and my kids love it
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2009

My daughter attended the K4 program and was taught by Kim Chavis. I cannot say enough wonderful things about our experience. My daughter was more than prepared for Kindergarten. She is excelling and I know it is because of the sound foundation of a strong K4 program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2008

Such a wonderful environment! We're only in the Kindergarten program, but I don't forsee ever leaving. Mrs. McLeod is professional, and my daughter has the best possible teacher she could have for her first year in 'big' school. We couldn't be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2007

LSA is the absolute best thing I have done for my child..without a doubt! I don't worry about her at all while she is in a great atmosphere and around wonderful teachers and leaders who care about the children and their safety. She is involved in cheerleading, anchor club, robotics and key club...she comes home excited about what she has encountered at Lee Scott...Go Warriors! Dr Roberts is truly a leader and a wonderful man with Christian values. Mr Samford has my respect and my child thinks he is the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2006

I have 2 children in lee-scott who are doing academically superiorly to any of the public school system, and i know this because they have friends in both opelika and auburn school systems. If you plan for your child to succeed and get into a reputable college unfortunately you may have to pay for this. The xtra curricular activities are available to all that will take advantage of it. As a parent I feel very involved in the progress and successes of my children. Lee Scott is safer environment for my children, there are no metal detectors or policeman in the school at this time and hopefully never.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2006

My only regret in my life is that I sent my child to LSA.... she is miserable everyday. Discipline is strange and uneven. LSA has a locker room atmosphere and every other teacher is a coach. My child who attends LSA comes home with a terrible attitude. She feels left out. I would definitely refer you to another school, considering the education at LSA is just not challenging for a gifted child. The board and headmaster needs a wakeup call before it is to late. If you don t believe me, just check around. Talk to the parents that are taking their children out of LSA and ask why .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2005

We have been at Lee-Scott for 6 years and as a public school teacher myself I could not be more estatic about the education and values my children are receiveing at Lee-Scott! They have a quality academic program with extracurricular activities to match. I feel that my children have not only received a HIGH quality education but are in a very safe and productive atmosphere. By teaching in the public school sytems I see the difference in the value and standards of education my children receive. Children are taught by very skilled and nurturing educators. I feel that Lee-Scott offers the BEST education in this area and no one can match their quality and values. If education and values are priorities in your family then Lee-Scott is the place for you and your children. We also have one the best administrative personnel available with Dr. Roberts, Nancy McLeod, and Bobby Samford!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2005

Over priced education. I am pulling my kids and putting them in the Opelika School System.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2005

We are just completing our first year at Lee-Scott and we are very pleased. My first grader is reading and spelling at a very advanced level. The children are very well behaved and well-mannered. My eight grader is excelling in math and english like he never has in other schools we have attended. Being a newcomer, I was suprised at how readily accepted he was into the class and was even voted class favorite at the beginning of the year. He was encouraged to join the JV football team and has found many friends there. A solid, traditional education is offered amongst very supportive and friendly families. While Auburn Public schools have a good reputation, we feel the academics and the atmosphere at Lee-Scott are better suited to our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2005

Not a very good school. A rather great amount of students transfer to the Auburn Public schools, which are a lot better in many aspects and have better-disciplined children. Lee Scott has a reputation for selfish, mean, and boastful students.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 12, 2004

This school is academically superior to local public city schools, which are rated highly in Alabama. However, at Lee-Scott, most of the students are high achievers and their SAT scores are usually in the high 80th percentile (many scoring in the 90s). The current Headmaster, Dr.Don Roberts, has made incredible strides to ensure that the school maintains its high caliber. All the teachers are highly competent, and many varied courses are available. If you want safety, high morals, and the finest education in Auburn, Lee-Scott is the only choice. My daughter (5th grade) has many friends, and is highly motivated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2003

I have never seen such talent pulled from children. It is an absolute wonderful place for a child to get an excellent education with all the extracurriculars.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1601 Academy Dr
Auburn, AL 36830
Phone: (334) 821-2430

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT