Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Auburn Classical Academy

Private | K-12 | 65 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Auburn

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $162,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $690.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 31, 2013

This school has been a tremendous blessing in our family. We are so thankful that God put ACA into our path. Our children love this sweet school and really feel like a part of a family. We originally sought out ACA for its Christian environment but have also been most impressed with the Classical curriculum. We overall have been delighted with the school and look forward to being a part of it for many years!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2012

Remarkable. The teachers are the most engaging, life-giving, and intellectually stimulating of any I have known - sparking curiosity, nurturing, all while demanding hard work. Sadly, we moved away. My children still miss their teachers and speak of them dearly. I am not sure any others will ever compare.


Posted February 14, 2012

Auburn Classical Academy has been impressive in that teachers are very caring and diligent in their instruction, classes are small, and standards for students are high but very doable. It is impressive to see students excel at Latin and at recitation and to be fully engaged in the class activities. Students must be diligent about their homework, and parents must be supportive and protective of regular homework which again is very doable but cannot be ignored. ACA is definitely a good option for families committed to a classical school approach.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2011

ACA is a little gem, for any parent seeking a school that cultivates a genuine love of learning. A comment I have heard several times from other parents is that everything students are asked to do is truly worth doing. There is no busy work at this school. Students study fine literature at all grade levels, and history--as opposed to social studies--from the early grades. They begin Latin in third grade, but it is taught in a way that is very manageable. This helps students develop a love and knowledge of the English language. ACA teachers come from a wide range of professional backgrounds, bringing a richness to the school. This is a school where students feel comfortable speaking of faith, but they are taught to be respectful of the opinions of others. Starting in middle school they study Logic, and later Rhetoric. In small classes students are taught to express themselves orally, as well as in writing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2011

Nobody Ever Wants to Leave ACA! The staff and teachers run a tight ship, but the school feels like family. The staff and teachers are the most dedicated, personally involved I have ever seen anywhere. I would never send my children anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2011

Parent and teacher involvement is extremely high and this means that the children at Auburn Classical Academy are given opportunities to grow not only academically but spiritually as well. Hard to find a nicer group of well adjusted and enthusiastic kids!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 4, 2011

I love everything about this school! From the small class sizes (my daughter is in a class of 6) to the breadth and depth of the instruction by teachers who really, really care about each child and his or her progress. This school is an Auburn treasure!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2011

"ACA combines hard work with creativity and enjoyment. I feel as though going to school is no longer a drag. The teachers at ACA make it fun and we definitely learn a lot. It's hard to have a favorite subject as all the topics are interesting but I am especially enjoying Logic as we are learning how to win arguments! There are only 9 in my class so the teachers can really concentrate on answering my questions. The uniform is great because it's attractive and makes us feel part of the school. You do have to work hard but it's worth it and I love this school"


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

445 Shelton Mill Road
Auburn, AL 36830
Website: Click here
Phone: (334) 821-7081

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT