Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Auburn Jr High School

Public | 8-9 | 1065 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 17, 2014

Auburn junior high is an amazing school......if you have ever lived in another city and compare public education...Auburn is the best...so pleased with all of the options available....teachers, and great kids...there is tremendous support from school board and central office down!!!! Great parental support!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2013

If this is the best that Auburn can offer as a Junior High considering their *top notch* University here, then something is terribly wrong. My children constantly complain about how unchallenging their classes are. The ones they are interested are constantly interrupted by disruptive students. The teachers lack discipline because instead of dealing with the disruptive student(s), they punish the class as a whole. The principal is tyrannical and unfriendly. Her communicative skills are cold and controlling and she always speaks down to you. The administrative is OBSESSED with absences. Again, punishing the whole for the few that abuse the system. There is definitely a class system here. If a child is not into sports/cheerleading, then other teachers and the administration assume the child is a loser and either harasses the child or pays no attention to them. Drugs are another *hidden* issue here. No one wants to talk about it though. It starts in Middle School here. Just because it's close to Auburn University does not mean you are getting a top notch school system. Some serious changes need to be made in both the Auburn City School and this schools administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2013

I had heard about the arrogance of the Auburn School Superintendent but didn't necessarily believe it until an issue involving my son came up. I learned that there is no way to have a polite, reasonable discussion with this lady. She is narrow minded, argumentative and absolutely will not listen to anyone else's point of view. What in the world was the city council thinking when they hired this woman? Surely we could find someone with more experience and without this person's personality flaws to serve in this position.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2013

It seems the staff of this school & the school board has submissiively acquiesced to the tyrannical rulings of school superintendent Karen Delano in implementing an inane, harmful zero tolerance policy regarding the accidental taking of prohibited items onto campus. To routinely punish children with a one size fits all policy without exrcising common sense & compassion can do far more harm than good. Zero tolerance, without considering the facts of individual situations, has not worked anywhere. Yet, Dr. Delano has overruled the decisions of the duly elected school board & is administering excessively severe punishishment to my granddaughter for an accidental & unintentional act. Such severe punishment could, & probably will, have devestating negative efects on this young girl for years to come. Unfortunately, it appears that the school board lacks the courage to stand up to Dr. Delano & restore some fairness & common sense to the punishment of students at this school.


Posted February 18, 2012

The school is very disappoiting when it comes to education. Your personal laptop is no use.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2011

Correction: My son started at this shool this year. He has been going to Auburn Schools since 5th grade. He is excited about getting his very Own Laptop!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2010

I'm a student here and I really don't like it at all. I can't wait for the high school. We get treated like children here.. and the teachers a re very boring.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 6, 2009

They do their very best to provide the help we need with the best teachers ever!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2009

All students attending Auburn Jr High are given a $1500 laptop to use for the school year. It's awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2008

i am a student at this school. it is okay but i cannot wait to go to the high school. the lunches here are gross and some of the buildings and especially the bathrooms are dusgusiting. some of the teachers cannot teach and are extremmely boring. yeah so i would give it a c- or a d
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 9, 2007

My son is involved in an exiting new class fixing computers and learning software integraton, It's things like this that make's me love Auburn City Schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2005

this school dosent allow you to charge for your lunch, if you dont have enough money for a lunch u must go with out. the holidays keep on decreasing a day and we do not get to celebrate for 3 weeks but instead 2. all in all, i would give it a C-.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students89%
Female90%
Male88%
Black65%
Asian/Pacific Islander99%
Hispanic81%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White97%
Free lunch eligible65%
Reduced lunch eligible95%
Special education43%
General population92%
English language learners86%
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant89%
Poverty70%
Not poverty95%

Reading

All Students86%
Female88%
Male84%
Black67%
Asian/Pacific Islander85%
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White95%
Free lunch eligible68%
Reduced lunch eligible86%
Special education33%
General population90%
English language learners38%
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant86%
Poverty71%
Not poverty91%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 60% 58%
Black 30% 34%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 1%
Hispanic 1% 5%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 27%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

332 Samford Ave
Auburn, AL 36830
Website: Click here
Phone: (334) 887-1960

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Loachapoka High School
Loachapoka, AL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT