Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Auburn Jr High School 5

Posted March 17, 2014
- a parent
Auburn junior high is an amazing school......if you have ever lived in another city and compare public education...Auburn is the best...so pleased with all of the options available....teachers, and great kids...there is tremendous support from school board and central office down!!!! Great parental support!!!

Auburn Jr High School 1

Posted March 19, 2013
- a parent
If this is the best that Auburn can offer as a Junior High considering their *top notch* University here, then something is terribly wrong. My children constantly complain about how unchallenging their classes are. The ones they are interested are constantly interrupted by disruptive students. The teachers lack discipline because instead of dealing with the disruptive student(s), they punish the class as a whole. The principal is tyrannical and unfriendly. Her communicative skills are cold and controlling and she always speaks down to you. The administrative is OBSESSED with absences. Again, punishing the whole for the few that abuse the system. There is definitely a class system here. If a child is not into sports/cheerleading, then other teachers and the administration assume the child is a loser and either harasses the child or pays no attention to them. Drugs are another *hidden* issue here. No one wants to talk about it though. It starts in Middle School here. Just because it's close to Auburn University does not mean you are getting a top notch school system. Some serious changes need to be made in both the Auburn City School and this schools administration.


Auburn Jr High School 1

Posted February 03, 2013
- a parent
I had heard about the arrogance of the Auburn School Superintendent but didn't necessarily believe it until an issue involving my son came up. I learned that there is no way to have a polite, reasonable discussion with this lady. She is narrow minded, argumentative and absolutely will not listen to anyone else's point of view. What in the world was the city council thinking when they hired this woman? Surely we could find someone with more experience and without this person's personality flaws to serve in this position.

Auburn Jr High School 1

Posted February 01, 2013
- a community member
It seems the staff of this school & the school board has submissiively acquiesced to the tyrannical rulings of school superintendent Karen Delano in implementing an inane, harmful zero tolerance policy regarding the accidental taking of prohibited items onto campus. To routinely punish children with a one size fits all policy without exrcising common sense & compassion can do far more harm than good. Zero tolerance, without considering the facts of individual situations, has not worked anywhere. Yet, Dr. Delano has overruled the decisions of the duly elected school board & is administering excessively severe punishishment to my granddaughter for an accidental & unintentional act. Such severe punishment could, & probably will, have devestating negative efects on this young girl for years to come. Unfortunately, it appears that the school board lacks the courage to stand up to Dr. Delano & restore some fairness & common sense to the punishment of students at this school.

Auburn Jr High School 1

Posted February 18, 2012
- a parent
The school is very disappoiting when it comes to education. Your personal laptop is no use.


Auburn Jr High School 4

Posted August 14, 2011
- a parent
Correction: My son started at this shool this year. He has been going to Auburn Schools since 5th grade. He is excited about getting his very Own Laptop!

Auburn Jr High School 2

Posted March 25, 2010
- a student
I'm a student here and I really don't like it at all. I can't wait for the high school. We get treated like children here.. and the teachers a re very boring.

Auburn Jr High School 0
no rating

Posted November 06, 2009
- a parent
They do their very best to provide the help we need with the best teachers ever!


Auburn Jr High School 2

Posted September 22, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Auburn Jr High School 5

Posted August 17, 2009
- a parent
All students attending Auburn Jr High are given a $1500 laptop to use for the school year. It's awesome!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Auburn Jr High School
332 Samford Ave, Auburn, AL  36830
(334) 887-1960
Last modified Auburn Jr High School is a Public school that serves grades 8-9. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Auburn Jr High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top