Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Dean Road Elementary School

Public | 1-5 | 434 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 7, 2014

These teachers are more concerned about his/her peers, personal appearance, and reputation than the actual comprehension of these children's learning. They pass out worksheets and expect them to independently work through "mind-reading". I have seen teachers yank little children's arms when they are defiant. I have seen partiality-where they allow certain parents walk their child to class and interrupt class time; whereas children with a temporary impairment are denied parent involvement. I have heard children screaming and crying in the principal's office and the administrative office un-phased by the noise. Do not expect these strangers to have the best interest of your child's learning. They are interested in maintaining aid- and scores-to achieve that goal.. It is glorified baby-sitting. Expect the "teachers" to use guilt as a method to exercise control. Expect teachers to undermine and patronize your intelligence by telling you how long they've worked in the school system and how little they get paid for the job they CHOSE. There are better curriculum in OPELIKA that care about the WELFARE of your child much better. ACS reptuation is no longer the best, but substandard.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2013

I have had the pleasure of dealing with quite a few of Auburn City Schools and I have loved them all except for Dean Road. Richland was awesome! Wrights Mill Road was great! Dean Road all I can say is rude and unfriendly!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2012

I am very impressed with Dean Road Elementary. As a child I went here. It was great then too. My mother went to the University and at the time they had kindergarten too. Now it's first and up, but still wonderful. Not quite as outstanding as the kindgergarten, but still a top elementary school as far as the array of things kids are taught and the ways in which they learn. It's been 5 years since my son attended, but at the time I think my only qualm was the way the car line worked and the first day or two my son tried to walk home with someone and no one noticed. I addressed it and it was never a problem again. That is why I put principal leadership a 4, but still...it was addressed so maybe it should be 4 1/2 and I'm sure it's also partially the teachers responsibility. But being the first week, I was understanding. I'm sure it's hard to keep up with a bunch of new kids.. and knowing they cared to make it safe made a difference. His teacher was great, but more written work and less hands on than AEEC. If the school has managed to stay this good for almost 30 years, then I think you can trust it's a great place for your children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

I love Dearn Road School because it is a great school and provides a lot of fun learning activities for the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

Dean Road Elementary is an awesome place full of teachers and students who love learning. The teachers at Dean Road are top notch and continue learning to stay on the cutting edge of classroom technologies. The students here are so enthusiastic about learning and love participating in school wide functions and showing off their school spirit. We also have a wonderful group of parents who stay involved with their children's learning experience and volunteer at every available moment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

The staff is wonderful and hard working. They give so much of themselves to motivate the children to do their best. They also offer so many extra activities after school such as choir, chess club, art club, and science club that the kids love. The teachers give their own time to do these activites with for the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2010

Dean Road is the best place to work and to learn. We have the best students, parents, and faculty! Dean Road is simply the BEST!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

I enjoy working at Dean Road with an amazing staff and wonderful students! Dean Road is a place where the staff are committed to the success of all students and the kids are excited about learning! Dean Road is one of 7 elementary schools in the Auburn City School district and is fortunate to be a part of this system. Auburn City Schools has incredible community support and is one of the top-rated school systems in the state!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 24, 2010

Why do I love Dean Road School? The teachers. I have two boys who attend this school presently and each year I am impressed with the teachers they get. Of course, I always hope the youngest child will get the teacher the oldest had the year before, but then I am always pleasantly encouraged by the love and dedication the 'new' teacher has for my child. Why only four stars out of five then?...because, everyone can improve and should always strive for improvement...even me as a parent....hard to believe..but it's true. Dean Road Rocks!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

I love Dean Road Elementary as an observer of the faculty, staff and students. Auburn, Alabama has outstanding schools, even some of the best in the nation. Dean Road is one of those outstanding schools. Dean Road rocks because they care about every student that walks through their doors. They not only educate the students but they also let them know that they care about them as individuals.


Posted July 2, 2008

DRES is absolutely the best thing that could have ever happened to my children! We moved here almost 3 yrs ago and my son has become so confident and I owe that all to this school and its staff of teachers. This is the only place I know where I wouldn't even consider moving my children into a private school! You can't buy education like these children are getting!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2008

Best School in Lee County
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2004

Dean Road provides a wonderful learning evironment for its students. Along with strong parental inolvement, Dean Road has a caring and capable faculty headed by an extrodiary Administration. Dr. Golson and Ms. Greenwood provide the backbone for this learning oasis which is obvious to see when looking at Dean Road's test scores.
—Submitted by a staff


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

86 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
89%

2009

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

86 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%

2009

 
 
93%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

81 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
88%

2009

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

81 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%

2009

 
 
91%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 91% in 2012.

95 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
83%

2009

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2012.

94 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
90%

2009

 
 
94%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students90%
Female96%
Male83%
Black69%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White94%
Free lunch eligible67%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education55%
General population95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Poverty71%
Non-poverty94%

Reading

All Students94%
Female96%
Male93%
Black88%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White95%
Free lunch eligible67%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education73%
General population97%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%
Poverty76%
Non-poverty99%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students91%
Female93%
Male89%
Black82%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White92%
Free lunch eligible74%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education100%
General population90%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Poverty78%
Non-poverty97%

Reading

All Students98%
Female98%
Male97%
Black91%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White98%
Free lunch eligible95%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education92%
General population99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Poverty96%
Non-poverty98%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students97%
Female98%
Male96%
Black79%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligible88%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education88%
General population99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Poverty88%
Non-poverty100%

Reading

All Students96%
Female96%
Male96%
Black85%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligible83%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education76%
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Poverty83%
Non-poverty100%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2012.

95 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
76%

2009

 
 
93%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Students88%
Female92%
Male85%
Black50%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White97%
Free lunch eligible63%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education53%
General population96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%
Poverty64%
Non-poverty97%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 58%
Black 15% 35%
Asian 7% 1%
Hispanic 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 25%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms Jackie Yvette Greenwood
Fax number
  • (334) 887-0599

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

335 Dean Rd
Auburn, AL 36830
Website: Click here
Phone: (334) 887-4900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT