Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Drake Middle School

Public | 6-7 | 1039 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 23, 2013

Love the atmosphere in this school! Admin and teachers care about students. I feel that my child is challenged, has many opportunities to get involved, and is safe. Great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2012

I go to drake and I find it lackes in many places like lunch behavior and the knolage the teachers have about filed trips and extra circular activities I don't care for the principle but like mr.barlow I hate the new rule about only string bags and find it repulsive and a bad decision not just for student but for teachers because if students have to carry them so do teachers and I don't like the 6th grade pe teachers


Posted October 9, 2012

Test scores are not everything. This school is the only blight in the Auburn City School district. The current principle is very unwillingly to help when a child is having a problem. Trouble with pe coaches as well,one in particular is very unprofessional and lacks decorum, tact, and any compassion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2012

I'm a parent of 7th grader and I must say that from the first day my child entered that school, I knew we made a mistake. Four fights, teachers cursing and people in the Office not caring. I truly wish the city of Auburn would invest in building another middle school. Some of your tenure teachers should have been gone a long time ago. My child was an A/B Student, very likeable and always getting rewards and honors for her grades and caring nature. We get to this school(which I'm sick of people stating that Auburn City schools are the best...that may be, but not all of the schools are) I was told how wonderful the school and the teachers were...wrong. I wish my family had the resource to pull her out and send her to Lee-Scott. Thank goodness this was her last year at that school. She will be homeschool the coming year. Parents, don't just go by what you heard or standard testing, please visit these schools within the next school year. Our children are our future and we need to invest in getting better teachers who don't treat students as they are a piece of meat or teachers who just want to get paid on the 1st and 15th of each month.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2012

I a current student think this school is a good place to be at, but the level of education is low compared to the US education. When you are given a math class it is impossible to advance, which happened to me. Many students use foul language everyday and on the bus. The good thing is that they divide you into teams. Where it feels like a good place to be at. There are many clubs and activity you can enjoy. The food is good compared to the Junior High and its a fine place to go!


Posted September 11, 2011

I'm a new student here at Drake, and I really give them credit for trying really hard to make sure everyone has the best education possible. They hire the best teachers and staff, and they have the latest in technology and science. Also, they have a lot of extracurricular things to participate in. They have tons of clubs. There's something for everyone! Since there are over 1000 students in the school, they divide you into 5 groups. They have their own mascot and pep cheers and everything. You don't feel as lost in a big school as you would if they didn't do that. Also, their math is very tailored to suit the individual child's needs. You are tested every 4 1/2 weeks to see how well you comprehended the material previously taught by your teacher. They place you in different classes according to your score, and they change things up so the students can't call one class "smart" or "dumb". All the teachers use convenient resources like powerpoints and worksheets to study instead of textbooks. All the material is regularly posted on their website, so you can go to your team and access what you need, even powerpoints and all the things you'll be studying for the week. 5 stars! Hoorah!


Posted May 23, 2011

I have had 3 children go to Drake. They all have very different personalities. They all made friends, good grades, and all thought they were Ms. Beebe's favorite:) This public school is as close to the real world as I would want them to be and I am thankful that they did well and enjoyed the overall experience! I highly recommend AU city schools!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2010

To the lady, who just moved to Auburn in 2008 and decided to Home School her children, she must have also just moved to Alabama that year. Sorry, but in our state, Auburn Schools rank very high in test scores compared to other schools in the State. Remember Alabama schools rank at the bottom of the list, so be thankful you moved to a beautiful area like Auburn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2010

ok IM VERY MAD about what people have to say about auburn middle school we r kids and i think some of ur kids over exagerate about things that go on at school.Have u ever thot maybe they whernt popular and where just mad cause they wherent well i think thats what it is.Auburn schools are AWESOME they have so much for us and the teachers are amasing they always no how to make learning fun.I loooove J.F. drake middle school and for all those ppl who say ur kids hate it oh well they can get over it!!!Mrs.beebee is amasing. and so r our teacher.:)


Posted August 28, 2008

We moved to Auburn in January 2008 and within two weeks, my sixth grade daughter was begging me to homeschool her. The children routinely used very foul language with no consequences. Having my daughter hear the F word all throughout lunch is not my idea of what a good school allows their students to do. Many children spoke so poorly that they were nearly unintelligable. The teachers would not correct their horrible use of the English language for fear of being non-PC. I have pulled both of my school-age children out of Auburn City Schools to homeschool them. After all the hype about ACS, I am sorely disappointed in them. My children will be getting a much better education at home than they would have gotten at ACS and without all the negative influences of the children who do attend there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2008

I have to say that my sons first year (7th grade) at Drake has been a year of repeating what he had already learned from previous schools he had attended. This school system does not offer but one advanced class per grade level. I have no idea how this school got such a high raking, which we used to base our decision about moving to this area. We are moving to get away from this school system. We have never had any problems, of any kind; at previous schools (not in this area) attended by our son or daughter. I have had to deal with counselors that don t follow up with what they say they will do. This school has teachers that can t teach, the way they would like, for fear of some student s bad behavior, and don t discipline those student out of fear. Everything started out great, everyone was very excited and then 3 months into the school year everything stopped. Most teachers stopped updating their web pages( go to school web site and check for yourself) and then the only way to find out what was going on at school was emailing the teacher. Of course you can ask you child but, boys at this age just don t want to talk about school when finished for the day. I have tried to stay informed about what is going on with both of my children during this year of transition. I hope my commits help others who care about their children s education and what kind of obstacles they will face by attending this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2007

I just started going to this school and I already like it more than my elementary shool. I am on the panthers and all the teachers are great, epecially Mr. Jenkins. He is so cool!! He has a tiki hut in his room!! This year was the 50th year that drake has been standing. We all dressed 50's and had a big celebration. The Skills For Sucess class is totally helpful and the teacher, Mrs. Williams, added to the package so well! Drake is the best school in Auburn!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 1, 2007

My child is being challenged only in math class & this is due to the excellent teacher. The band program is top-notch. While there are are some superb teachers, overall, this school is the weak link in the Auburn system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2007

This school is excellent! The teachers that my son had his two years at Drake were great! Band is offered in 7th grade. Mr.Denson is a wonderful band teacher, got kids that had never picked up an instrument, playing in no time. Dr. Jones is an exceptional science teacher and puts many after school hours into Science Olympiad. My son was on the Science Olympiad team and they went to Regionals, State and even the Nationals!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2005

This is one of this best school that my child has been to school at in auburn and opelika. Mrs.BeBe is always there to help the kids with anything and everything. The school is very safe. Mr. Jeffery Johnson, Asst. Principal at the school is very mean, but it's good on the students 'cause he knows what the students can and he pushes so they can make it to the next grade. I have never seen and asst. principle do so much to make sure that his kids pass.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2005

hey i am a student at Drake and i love the school so much and it's a great school. Mrs.BeBe keeps everything in check. She puts up with nothing but the best. We have fights like all schools do. She will call 911 if anyone stills fights or anything like that. It's a great school. We are split up in teams. The six grader are on the panters or the comsic cats, lucky lepards, or the roarind tigers. The 7th grader are on the Bobcats,bearcat,cool courags, or Jaguars. well you go check the website out at auburnschools.org/drake
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2012.

557 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
92%

2009

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

557 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
96%

2009

 
 
93%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2012.

540 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
89%

2009

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2012.

540 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
92%

2009

 
 
90%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students89%
Female90%
Male89%
Black70%
Asian/Pacific Islander96%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White96%
Free lunch eligible67%
Reduced lunch eligible83%
Special education65%
General population93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant89%
Poverty71%
Non-poverty96%

Reading

All Students96%
Female96%
Male95%
Black89%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White98%
Free lunch eligible85%
Reduced lunch eligible94%
Special education82%
General population97%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Poverty87%
Non-poverty99%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students94%
Female97%
Male92%
Black83%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanic91%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White98%
Free lunch eligible82%
Reduced lunch eligible88%
Special education73%
General population98%
English language learners88%
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%
Poverty83%
Non-poverty99%

Reading

All Students93%
Female96%
Male90%
Black79%
Asian/Pacific Islander95%
Hispanic91%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White98%
Free lunch eligible77%
Reduced lunch eligible96%
Special education72%
General population96%
English language learners73%
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Poverty81%
Non-poverty98%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2012.

540 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
83%

2009

 
 
87%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Students89%
Female91%
Male86%
Black70%
Asian/Pacific Islander92%
Hispanic82%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White95%
Free lunch eligible68%
Reduced lunch eligible85%
Special education73%
General population91%
English language learners63%
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant89%
Poverty71%
Non-poverty95%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 63% 58%
Black 25% 35%
Asian 9% 1%
Hispanic 3% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 26%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

655 Spencer Ave
Auburn, AL 36830
Website: Click here
Phone: (334) 887-1940

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Loachapoka High School
Loachapoka, AL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT