Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Margaret Yarbrough School

Public | 1-5 | 511 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 21, 2014

Horrible! Test scores are the primary concern. The teachers are unprepared to deal with the new Common Core standards. The students are not given any time to master one skill before another skill is taught. My child has an IQ that is well above average and recently received a "C" on his report card. I have changed my home into a school and I teach my child the skills that he should have learned during the day each night. Will remove my child next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2012

As an employee of ACS, I'm sad to say we really don't receive support from any of our superiors!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 20, 2011

I am really happy after five + years my kids have attending Yarbrough Elementary School. Teachers do really care for students, staff is very competent and the principal makes everything possible in his hands to make every student success. Of course they all are also HUMANS and may have bad days, or there could be isolated incidents, but those do not reflect the reality. Frustrated incompetent parents want the school to to their job for them. Educate yourself and educate your kids, education starts at home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2011

This is a great school, exceptional, experienced teachers, good leadership from Mr. Forster and Ms. Daniel. My kids enjoy going to school and they take pleasure in reading with the knightly reading program. I would like to have more help with homework at the MAGNET after school program, but as another parent said, school can not do our job!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2011

I don't know what the heck is the FP (Frustrated Parent) talking about. Yarbrough is the best school. The kids really enjoy it. They say that it is fun to learn there and the teachers really care a lot about the learning process. Of course as in everywhere there are exceptions but those are not the rule. Kind enjoy and learn a lot. Agree with the other parent that the knightly reader program is excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2011

Horrible experience. I won't go in to details about our year long struggle. The principal, PF, is charismatic and deceitful. I got the impression that the faculty and staff had their hands tied when addressing our problems. PF is easily frustrated, egotistical, narcissistic, arrogant, and condescending. He would do much better as principal of a high school. He lacks true compassion for children. Also, the special education teacher, AH, is completely incompetent and lazy. The guidance counselor, MR, is a saint and the faculty and staff would do well to adopt her methods of interacting with children. The assistant principal, KD, cares for the kids, but is obviously overworked and overburdened since PF has no patience. Test scores are the number one concern for PF. There is a lack of positive leadership at the school. An elementary school principal position is clearly just a stepping stone for PF, it's just too bad he steps on everyone that enters Yarbrough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2011

This school was truly a disappointment. Just like the last parent review, my child had an incident at school and I was not called! The teachers were unhelpful and did not seem to care. Although this school received decent test scores, it seems that the tests are their only concern. We are African American and we were made to feel very unwelcomed. My children tested gifted in their prior school but were not placed in the gifted program here. Before placing your child in this school remember, educating children consists of more than just test scores.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2011

This is a terrible school. Our first year here my son was picked on by not only by other kids by the teacher as well. She singled him out for reasons unknow, I talked to the principal about it and he swept it under the rug. We had to go to the board of education on them. My other son had several accidents at the school., where I wasn't even called and the last one, he ended up in the ER with a head injury. We will not be returning to this school. We are moving just so we can get in another school district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

The teachers love and care for each student. They do a great job teaching them their subjects but also nutures them and provides for their needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2009

We have had a wonderful year at Yarbrough! My daughter was in 1st grade and had a great experience. Mr. Forester and Mrs. Daniel are involved and personable administrators, and Mrs. Marquez was an exceptional teacher. We will be unable to attend Yarbrough this year due to a move out of state, but I would recommend this school to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2008

Yarbrough has been great. This is our second year here in auburn.Our 1st yr here was good ,but our 2nd yr has been great. A new princiapal Mr.Forester brings in new blood & fresh ideas. And Mrs. Duncan is the greatest,she gives her class plenty of room to grow!!!!!!! Keep up the great work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2006

We have been here for 2 years now. The first year was wonderful. But the following year they changed principals. The first year I walked in the school I had a warm and fuzzy feeling. When I walked in this year it was extremely cold. The new principal is all about work. In my opinion she has brought the school down. My childrens grades are down further this year than last. The teachers are great!!!!!! But I am afraid they will start losing these wonderful teachers in the future if the principal remains at the school. That's sad because they are all wonderful. Especially Mrs. Jackson. We are moving to a different area partially due to this issue.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

109 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
92%

2009

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

105 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
92%

2009

 
 
90%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

107 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
90%

2009

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

105 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
90%

2009

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 91% in 2012.

124 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
86%

2009

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2012.

121 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
92%

2009

 
 
94%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students97%
Female96%
Male98%
Black93%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligible93%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education85%
General population99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Poverty92%
Non-poverty100%

Reading

All Students98%
Female100%
Male97%
Black93%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligible97%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education85%
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%
Poverty94%
Non-poverty100%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students90%
Female87%
Male93%
Black78%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White96%
Free lunch eligible74%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education60%
General population95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Poverty75%
Non-poverty99%

Reading

All Students92%
Female94%
Male91%
Black93%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White96%
Free lunch eligible87%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education73%
General population96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant92%
Poverty85%
Non-poverty97%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students94%
Female95%
Male93%
Black85%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White98%
Free lunch eligible85%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education81%
General population96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%
Poverty85%
Non-poverty99%

Reading

All Students91%
Female91%
Male91%
Black88%
Asian/Pacific Islander87%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White94%
Free lunch eligible82%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education69%
General population94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Poverty85%
Non-poverty94%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2012.

124 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
70%

2009

 
 
84%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Students85%
Female85%
Male86%
Black75%
Asian/Pacific Islander83%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White92%
Free lunch eligible71%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education69%
General population88%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English87%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant85%
Poverty73%
Non-poverty92%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 55% 58%
Black 29% 35%
Asian 12% 1%
Hispanic 3% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 32%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr Jeffrey P Forster
Fax number
  • (334) 826-2516

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1555 North Donahue Dr
Auburn, AL 36830
Website: Click here
Phone: (334) 887-1970

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT