Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bay Minette Intermediate School

Public | 4-6 | 422 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 25, 2009

I absolutely loved my time on this campus while my daughter attended school here. I have a son moving up to BMIS next year and I can't wait. The faculty and staff were so warm and I felt like the campus was a true family. The education she received was top-notch and I am proud to send my children to this school. A proud mom
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2008

Thyis school is great for my children!!!!!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2006

BMMS is a great school. We have a new school that is open 7-8 grade.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 16, 2006

to other that have written about this school thing have changed,we now have a brand new 8 million doller school next to wal mart. we have a full term principle tath can do her job,our school is currently on a list that says the school must improve but it has.test score at this school are higher than all other middle schools in baldwin county. the sports programs are great.The only problem is the music department. the best band director they had was fired in eaary 2004. parent involment is ok.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 20, 2005

We recently moved into Bay Minette and have had a very positive experience with BMMS. Our son is in 7th grade and has a wonderful teaching staff. They are caring and strive to motivate all of the students. Our son is involved in football and Coach Powell is a credit to his profession. He stresses academics, teamwork, and good sportsmanship above just winning for the sake of winning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2004

We did not feel that our child was safe at BMMS. The administration is not able to help solve problems with bullying against our child. They wanted the police to do their disciplinary action for them. We have removed our child from this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

BMMS needs to be cleaned out!! The school is in horrible condition. It is a safety hazard for the students and teachers. There are problems with the administration that starts with the Interim Principal, and it continues all the way down to the teachers. The students are treated like second class citizens and the parents have no voice--no PTO no PTA, nothing. As soon as I am out of school, my husband and I have decided to leave Bay Minette.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

Compared to other areas, including Mobile County schools, Bay Minette has fine schools. The teachers are usually caring and helpful. The staff members are very helpful. There are a number of parents who participate. Sure, there are a few problems. In the current school atmosphere there will be. I think BMMS is a good school overall!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2003

All the rest you need to know is in the scores..they are not even 'average' I have my house up for sale, and will take a financial beating as a single mom, but the quality of education I want for my children is not in Bay Minette. If you have any choice, opt for private ed...it is 25 miles by bus, or just stay out of this area. The administrators and parents have their heads in the sand, and are accepting of things as they are. The is no parent group organized enough to tackle problems at this time.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

114 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
78%

2009

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

114 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
77%

2009

 
 
78%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 91% in 2012.

116 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
79%

2009

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2012.

116 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
80%

2009

 
 
80%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2012.

121 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
78%

2009

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

121 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
84%

2009

 
 
79%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students82%
Female86%
Male79%
Black66%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White91%
Free lunch eligible74%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education52%
General population90%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English82%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant82%
Poverty76%
Non-poverty93%

Reading

All Students82%
Female89%
Male74%
Black68%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White88%
Free lunch eligible80%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education35%
General population93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English82%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant82%
Poverty79%
Non-poverty86%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students94%
Female98%
Male89%
Black90%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White96%
Free lunch eligible91%
Reduced lunch eligible100%
Special education73%
General population99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%
Poverty92%
Non-poverty97%

Reading

All Students88%
Female93%
Male82%
Black77%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White93%
Free lunch eligible84%
Reduced lunch eligible91%
Special education36%
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%
Poverty85%
Non-poverty95%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students90%
Female90%
Male90%
Black84%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White95%
Free lunch eligible90%
Reduced lunch eligible85%
Special education83%
General population91%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Poverty89%
Non-poverty92%

Reading

All Students93%
Female95%
Male90%
Black86%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White96%
Free lunch eligible92%
Reduced lunch eligible85%
Special education83%
General population94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Poverty90%
Non-poverty96%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2012.

116 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
77%

2009

 
 
81%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Students72%
Female80%
Male62%
Black54%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White79%
Free lunch eligible60%
Reduced lunch eligible73%
Special education9%
General population86%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English72%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant72%
Poverty62%
Non-poverty92%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 56% 58%
Black 41% 35%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Asian 1% 1%
Hispanic 1% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 68%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dr Albertnetta Rutrina Hamilton
Fax number
  • (251) 937-0696

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

600 Blackburn Ave
Bay Minette, AL 36507
Website: Click here
Phone: (251) 580-0678

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Delta Elementary School
Bay Minette, AL


Stapleton School
Stapleton, AL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT