Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-6
Public district
Bessemer, AL
Students enrolled: 523
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Abrams Elementary School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted June 01, 2015
- a community member
Homework depends on the teacher's style of educating. Some use it and others don't. It's no big deal as long as the children are progressing properly. I really wouldn't know what is too little or too much.

Abrams Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted June 01, 2015
- a community member
In a place where so many children need to built up to even contemplate success, there would have to be an overflow of love, encouragement, passion, and positive energy despite all other factors for them to learn and grow. How can they become in aggressive pursuit of good when identifying it is so difficult?


Abrams Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted June 01, 2015
- a community member
Sorry, this is not that kind of school. Not from what I have seen or experienced.

Abrams Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted June 01, 2015
- a community member
I'm sure they talk about qualities of integrity, but they don't teach it. Oftentimes they fail to exemplify these very qualities. Plus this school is more focused on testing rather than developing minds and hearts into quality human beings. Bullying is ever present. Not much is done about it.

Abrams Elementary School 2

Posted June 01, 2015
- a community member
Schools get worse, but this school is pretty bad. Three generations of my family have attended, but the children today have it really bad. Most of the good teachers are gone. I'd say about 15% of the staff is actually worth paying. Some paraprofessionals, librarians, janitors, and a few teachers. Most of the teachers are poor communicators, lazy, under-protective of the students, and take no pride in what they do. Some are defensive and disrespectful toward parents and children. The teachers are there to collect checks, as they have either taken no interest in the children or have just given up. In poorer socioeconomic areas, things can be challenging. There's no doubt. I just figure you're up for the challenge or not. Most of the faculty aren't. The passion is hanging on by a thread only because of the few that actually care about the children and their profession. Otherwise there would be none. Another thing about this school is how they promote testing rather than learning, growth, and character. There's more to life than taking tests. Tests are important at times, but the whole curriculum should not revolve around tests. Now to be a bit petty, their drop-off/pick-up and check-in/check-out process isn't well planned. Dropping off in the morning is okay. I would like to see more than a couple of people receiving the kids in the morning though. Picking up is awful. The walkie-talkie system they have is supposed to call the kids out to the car, but there are cars parked on the left and right side of the road because people still go in to get kids. Plus traffic in the middle of the road, but the traffic officer keeps that line moving (when they're doing their job). Where to park? How to get out after pick-up? If someone is entering the building to get their children, then they should use the parking lot. Leave spaces for people respecting what little order is in place. Check-in/check-out requires parents to sign in at a building used for state and county programs, not the actual elementary school. Then you take your child to the actual school. Time wasted. Enclosing. There are more bad things, but this school has much potential. I see what it could be. It frustrates me because I know what it was. Many of the faculty and staff are genuinely decent people. Some actually good people. Where is the pride and passion though?


Abrams Elementary School 4

Posted March 17, 2009
- a parent
Abrams has never been a Bush Middle! That's a complete exaggeration if I have ever heard one! I went there as a child and I am more that happy to have my children there! Mrs. Rumbley is doing an excellent job with those kids and also with getting the parents involved! The school and the children are a product of it's surroundings! Let's surround them with LOVE, MOTIVATION, and much more, EDUCATION!!!

Abrams Elementary School 3

Posted May 10, 2008
- a parent
Abrams Elementary Elementary Administrators and Teachers care about student achievement. They have Reading Coaches, Counselors, Paraprofessional, Parent Volunteers, and even Substitutes who take a vested interest and trying to get our children to be the best that they can be.

Abrams Elementary School 1

Posted April 04, 2008
- a parent
This school is one of the dangerous school's out there. It is like a Elementary style of the Bush Middle School. I really think this is one of the worst schools in Alabama

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Abrams Elementary School
1200 23rd St North, Bessemer, AL  35020
(205) 432-3100
Last modified Abrams Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Abrams Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top