Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-9
Public district
Birmingham, AL
Students enrolled: 1,224
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Oak Mt Middle School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted August 28, 2015
- a parent
If you can't keep up you will drown in the work. You have to be determined to not get Saturday school from missed assignments. You also already feel like a failure because you get a barely passing or not even a passing grade for still doing it. Not encouraging at all.

Oak Mt Middle School
Develops respect: Agree

Posted August 28, 2015
- a parent
Yes respect is a must because of all the rules like a boot camp. Orders, rules, and immediate punishment, if you don't respect it you are in trouble. Not the best learning environment if you are overwhelmed by the work right from the get go


Oak Mt Middle School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted August 28, 2015
- a parent
It is early in the year and Saturday school for missed homework is already looming

Oak Mt Middle School 3

Posted August 28, 2015
- a parent
I am stressed about homework and it is has only been two weeks. There needs to be more adjustment time in the beginning for 6th graders. It is overwhelming to transition to a new school, have 3 locker combinations to memorize, learn a schedule of 7 classes that also changes on certain days of the week, plus keep up with all the information flooding from that many teachers. You can not get caught up and already being punished for homework assignments.

Oak Mt Middle School 5

Posted September 19, 2013
- a community member
i have just come here from two different schools and none compare to OMMS! i love the teachers they really do a good job to make sure we understand everything we need to know. and when i am at school i feel safe and secure. i recommend this school greatly. (rating out of 5 i say 500!!!)


Oak Mt Middle School 5

Posted September 19, 2013
- a community member
I love this school i moved recently and i missed all my teachers and ive been to 3 different schools and i have to say the best one by far has been OMMS. You can see the sincere interest of the teachers to help the students really understand the information that they'll need in everyday life. you cant find the same interest and generosity of the teachers any where else! In one word: AWESOME!

Oak Mt Middle School 5

Posted January 06, 2012
- a parent
Hey, my child goes to this school and plays basket ball. The coaches of the sports make sure that they have good grades, and if they get a bad grade they make them run or something along those lines.The teachers provide advanced classes for the gifted, and extra help classes for the students who need help. Some times they have people to come and talk to the students about making good life choices. Also, they have character assemblies where they give out awards for good character. The students try hard to win these awards. The teachers make learning fun, and enforce the rules. For example, if my child (he wouldnt normally do this) was being a bully, they would fix the problem and would send my son to get suspended. The electives are amazing, too. Especially the band program. The band directors do an am amazing job pushing the kids to play hard music, and the result is an amazing band and perfect reviews after competitions. I highly recommend this school!

Oak Mt Middle School 5

Posted July 08, 2011
- a community member
I am goiing in to 6th grade at Oak Mountain Middle School and i have heard it is a great school!! I am a little nervous though... :)


Oak Mt Middle School 5

Posted May 14, 2011
- a community member
I go to this school and have SO much fun! The teachers are great, and they are always open to talk and ask questions. OMMS' strict no bullying program provides a safe learning enviroment, and the lunch provides many delisious choices. I have never loved a school soo much.... 5 stars!!

Oak Mt Middle School 5

Posted July 27, 2009
- a parent
Oak Mountain is the perfect school! My son has been loving EVERY minute of it. They have excellent teachers for every grade. They also have excellent extracurricular activities. It is a perfect all-around school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Oak Mt Middle School
5650 Cahaba Valley Rd, Birmingham, AL  35242
(205) 682-5210
Last modified Oak Mt Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-9. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Oak Mt Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. Top