Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Oak Mt High School

Public | 8-12 | 1681 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 5, 2010

The only thing that makes this school bearable are my friends and a few teachers. The administration is ridiculous and have always seemed biased to me... Really, the Shelby County Board of Education is riduculous. Alternative school for using a cell phone 3 times? That's logical. A student likes to text so you're going to send them to a place where kids are punished for things like underage drinking and drug use? It's overkill. I will say the academics are great, but can be inconsistent at times. The administrators are rude, condescending, sarcastic, and even dowright hateful at times. They pick favorites; nothing is fair about it. I've been in three different school systems, and though Oak Mountain surpasses the other two academically, this school has the worst clique problem I've ever seen.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 3, 2009

I am a current student. I love OMHS. I constantly learn new things. Of course there are teachers who are not up to par, but what school doesn't have that problem. Every teacher I've ever had has been amazing. I suppose I'm just very fortunate. We do not have social group issues.. I don't know how to say it other than that. We are all friends, seriously. My one major issue with our school is that if you're involved in band or theatre, don't hope for much recognition. It's absolutely terrible. We have such talented students involved in the Fine Arts programs and none of it can be recognized because all of the attention is going toward athletics. Overall a very great school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 8, 2009

I am a graduate of the school, and it was possibly the worst four years of my life. I go to one of the best colleges in the southeast, and I feel like I was properly educated, but I also feel like some things were left behind. There is also no unity in the school. Despite the fact that I graduated with a GPA above a 4.0, I always felt like whether or not my shirt was tucked in was of more importance than the fact that I was fifth in my class, participated in many extracurricular activities, and got into a first rate college on scholarship.


Posted September 4, 2008

OMHS is interesting because it is very strong in certain respects, but just mediocre in others. Strengths- The challenging courses (AP, honors) have very, very good teachers. The college preparation could not be better (awesome college counselors and top tier AP scores) Weaknesses- The regular classes can lack challenge and offer little chance of improvement. I have also encountered that school administrators are a little too concerned with test scores, and teachers are worked too hard (1 teacher- 130+ students...) Overall very good, just needs to get and keep good teachers.


Posted June 11, 2008

I'm a student at OMHS right now. Our school's faculty is amazing, I mean the majority of the teachers are great people and educators. My main problem is our school has HUGE social division problems. I'm not going to say that our school is full of 'bullies' but the majority of the kids there are rich and if you aren't you are singled out. It's nt not a bad school, just one with some social problems. But hey, thats highschool.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 15, 2007

OMHS is great if you are lucky enough to have a parent that is involved. For those students everything goes great. For everyone else the school is average
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 5, 2007

I am a graduate of Oak Mtn., and I feel that it more than prepared me for a successful future. The counselors are actively involved in preparing students for college. The teachers go beyond challenging and provide difficult yet realistic learning opportunities. There is a huge social disconnect, but that's not what's important. I don't care that my principal cared about image. I was well-educated, and realistically image is everything in today's competitive job market.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 13, 2007

OMHS has disappointed us for the challenged teen and the average teen. Prior area schools motivated and educated all but at Hs these two types got lost and ignored. My average teen got through it and never wants to go back after his experience there. My other child had to leave the school to try and get her back on track. The special ed in this HS is awful. This school lost so many great kids from involvement and achieving that could have participated more with a little push and interest coming from the staff. It is a good school for some but would never be a great school for most.Needs work
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2006

OMHS is a wonderful school. The teachers and especially the principal go out of their way to make sure the students are successful and prepared for the future. I have been very impressed with the parental involvement and the way the principal and administration go about running the school and pushing students to excel. My daughter thought it was tough, but she was better prepared for college. Her friends that attended other local high are having a much harder time in their college classes because they were not pushed to learn and excel academically. I would recommend this school to anyone and am proud to say that my children are a part of the Oak Mountain schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2006

As an employee of OMHS and the parent of an enrolled student, I feel that the overall quality of the school is mediocre. Way too much emphasis on athletics. One full week of homecoming activities and no academics?? Absurd but true. A large number of the teachers do not seem to have a true heart for teaching. overall attitude of apathy that reaches from the student body to the staff and back again.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted July 10, 2005

I recently graduated from OMHS, and I believe I received the best possible education and experience. It's unfair for people to slander the administration and teachers, when they work hard to make sure we excell both academically and socially. Oak Mountain is known for its rigorous curriculum, but finds its own ways to reward the effort of students. In my own opinion, some parents get in the way with their involvement because they're constantly criticizing every step the faculty takes, but at least they care. Oak Mountain is the only school in the area from which I'd be proud to say I graduated.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 15, 2005

OMHS could be a great school--it is a very good school. The principal simply does not push hard enough for excellence in academics. I agree that he is more conerned with image than real excellence. Entirely too much class time is interrupted for other things--an entire week of class interrupted for homecoming week is way out of line.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2004

OMHS has the potential to be a great school but the current principal has no vision nor does he have an understanding of what an excellent education is, in my opinion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2003

'Motivated students that plan to attend college and to seek high paying jobs. However, the principal seems to be concerned more with his image instead of the wellbeing of its students. The students are often overworked and tired.'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2003

The Oak Mountain area is growing rapidly and the teacher pool has diluted, however, this school has managed to grab onto excellent teachers. We have a senior this year and believe she will be readily prepared for any college she chooses to attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2003

Best High School in Area! Inclusive of Indian Springs & John Carroll!


Posted June 16, 2003

Your information is very out of date. Oak Mountain high school enrollment is currently about 1700, maybe more. Some classes are over crowded. It is a struggle for the administration to manage so many students. A good school for this area, but needs improvement in many areas.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 95% in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Language

The state average for Language was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
91%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 98% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
94%
Language

The state average for Language was 91% in 2013.

2013

 
 
0%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 95% in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 94% in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
0%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

All Students98%
Female99%
Male97%
Black97%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White98%
Free lunch eligible95%
Reduced lunch eligible100%
Special education72%
General population99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant98%
Poverty97%
Not poverty98%

Language

All Students89%
Female94%
Male83%
Black71%
Asian/Pacific Islander86%
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White92%
Free lunch eligible71%
Reduced lunch eligible71%
Special education24%
General population92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant89%
Poverty71%
Not poverty91%

Math

All Students94%
Female94%
Male93%
Black88%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanic75%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White95%
Free lunch eligible86%
Reduced lunch eligible82%
Special education41%
General population96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant94%
Poverty84%
Not poverty95%

Reading

All Students91%
Female95%
Male88%
Black85%
Asian/Pacific Islander90%
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White93%
Free lunch eligible90%
Reduced lunch eligible76%
Special education41%
General population94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant91%
Poverty84%
Not poverty92%

Social Studies

All Students89%
Female89%
Male90%
Black79%
Asian/Pacific Islander0%
Hispanic58%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White91%
Free lunch eligible81%
Reduced lunch eligible76%
Special education41%
General population92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant89%
Poverty79%
Not poverty91%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

All Students100%
Female99%
Male100%
Black97%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligible100%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant100%
Poverty100%
Not poverty100%

Language

All Students0%
Female0%
Male0%
Black90%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White0%
Free lunch eligible89%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant0%
Poverty93%
Not poverty0%

Math

All Students99%
Female98%
Male100%
Black94%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligible95%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant99%
Poverty96%
Not poverty99%

Reading

All Students99%
Female99%
Male100%
Black94%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligible95%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant99%
Poverty96%
Not poverty99%

Social Studies

All Students0%
Female0%
Male0%
Black90%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White0%
Free lunch eligible95%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant0%
Poverty89%
Not poverty0%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 58%
Black 8% 34%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 1%
Hispanic 3% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 11%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5476 Caldwell Mill Rd
Birmingham, AL 35242
Website: Click here
Phone: (205) 682-5200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Indian Springs School
Indian Springs Village, AL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT