Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
8-12
Public district
Birmingham, AL
Students enrolled: 1,681
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Oak Mt High School 3

Posted May 22, 2015
- a student
I hated oak mountain! The faculty is rude, disrespectful, they pick favoritism, ridiculous with dress code and punishment. They act like you've committed a crime if you even wonder the halls during class.acedmic is very tough, too much homework, used to stay up until 1 in the morning every night doing homework to get a bad grade on it the next day because the teachers absolutely do not care.. The students are brats and immature. Rumors will eat you alive. Everybody will believe everything they hear and make your life horrible!! I cried all the time, got so upset my nose bled. After that, I never went back.. Transferred to pelham and it was even worse! Biggest mistake of my life!! Would recommend oak mountain before pelham high.

Oak Mt High School 3

Posted May 05, 2010
- a student
The only thing that makes this school bearable are my friends and a few teachers. The administration is ridiculous and have always seemed biased to me... Really, the Shelby County Board of Education is riduculous. Alternative school for using a cell phone 3 times? That's logical. A student likes to text so you're going to send them to a place where kids are punished for things like underage drinking and drug use? It's overkill. I will say the academics are great, but can be inconsistent at times. The administrators are rude, condescending, sarcastic, and even dowright hateful at times. They pick favorites; nothing is fair about it. I've been in three different school systems, and though Oak Mountain surpasses the other two academically, this school has the worst clique problem I've ever seen.
1 person found this helpful


Oak Mt High School 4

Posted July 03, 2009
- a student
I am a current student. I love OMHS. I constantly learn new things. Of course there are teachers who are not up to par, but what school doesn't have that problem. Every teacher I've ever had has been amazing. I suppose I'm just very fortunate. We do not have social group issues.. I don't know how to say it other than that. We are all friends, seriously. My one major issue with our school is that if you're involved in band or theatre, don't hope for much recognition. It's absolutely terrible. We have such talented students involved in the Fine Arts programs and none of it can be recognized because all of the attention is going toward athletics. Overall a very great school.

Oak Mt High School 2

Posted May 08, 2009
- a community member
I am a graduate of the school, and it was possibly the worst four years of my life. I go to one of the best colleges in the southeast, and I feel like I was properly educated, but I also feel like some things were left behind. There is also no unity in the school. Despite the fact that I graduated with a GPA above a 4.0, I always felt like whether or not my shirt was tucked in was of more importance than the fact that I was fifth in my class, participated in many extracurricular activities, and got into a first rate college on scholarship.

Oak Mt High School 4

Posted September 04, 2008
- a community member
OMHS is interesting because it is very strong in certain respects, but just mediocre in others. Strengths- The challenging courses (AP, honors) have very, very good teachers. The college preparation could not be better (awesome college counselors and top tier AP scores) Weaknesses- The regular classes can lack challenge and offer little chance of improvement. I have also encountered that school administrators are a little too concerned with test scores, and teachers are worked too hard (1 teacher- 130+ students...) Overall very good, just needs to get and keep good teachers.


Oak Mt High School 4

Posted June 11, 2008
- a student
I'm a student at OMHS right now. Our school's faculty is amazing, I mean the majority of the teachers are great people and educators. My main problem is our school has HUGE social division problems. I'm not going to say that our school is full of 'bullies' but the majority of the kids there are rich and if you aren't you are singled out. It's nt not a bad school, just one with some social problems. But hey, thats highschool.

Oak Mt High School 3

Posted August 15, 2007
- a student
OMHS is great if you are lucky enough to have a parent that is involved. For those students everything goes great. For everyone else the school is average

Oak Mt High School 5

Posted June 05, 2007
- a student
I am a graduate of Oak Mtn., and I feel that it more than prepared me for a successful future. The counselors are actively involved in preparing students for college. The teachers go beyond challenging and provide difficult yet realistic learning opportunities. There is a huge social disconnect, but that's not what's important. I don't care that my principal cared about image. I was well-educated, and realistically image is everything in today's competitive job market.


Oak Mt High School 3

Posted January 13, 2007
- a parent
OMHS has disappointed us for the challenged teen and the average teen. Prior area schools motivated and educated all but at Hs these two types got lost and ignored. My average teen got through it and never wants to go back after his experience there. My other child had to leave the school to try and get her back on track. The special ed in this HS is awful. This school lost so many great kids from involvement and achieving that could have participated more with a little push and interest coming from the staff. It is a good school for some but would never be a great school for most.Needs work

Oak Mt High School 5

Posted April 26, 2006
- a parent
OMHS is a wonderful school. The teachers and especially the principal go out of their way to make sure the students are successful and prepared for the future. I have been very impressed with the parental involvement and the way the principal and administration go about running the school and pushing students to excel. My daughter thought it was tough, but she was better prepared for college. Her friends that attended other local high are having a much harder time in their college classes because they were not pushed to learn and excel academically. I would recommend this school to anyone and am proud to say that my children are a part of the Oak Mountain schools.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Oak Mt High School
5476 Caldwell Mill Rd, Birmingham, AL  35242
(205) 682-5200
Last modified Oak Mt High School is a Public school that serves grades 8-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Oak Mt High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. Top