Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Inverness Elementary School

Public | K-3 | 655 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

50 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 20, 2010

Inverness Elementary has been a great experience for our son. The teachers have taken initiative early on his first year there to insure he had every resource he needed to succeed. We love Inverness and wish we could stay there forever!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

The teachers are amazing, the Principal, Vice-principal, & staff really care about the kids! They are always looking for ways to improve the school and work with the parents to provide a high quality learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

The teachers provide a nuturing environment for our kids to blossom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

Both of my children have had an excellent educational experience at IES. The teachers, staff, and administration make IES the best elementary school with their dedication and creative approach to learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

The teachers and administration are loving, caring and have high standards not only for themselves, but our children. I moved to my home just so my children could attend Inverness.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

GREAT School... The teachers and staff are so loving and caring!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

The teachers are great and fun. The parents really put in alot of time to make the events even better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

Inverness is a wonderful school. They truly care for students and differentiate between students' needs. I love Inverness!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

The teachers, administration and parents all care about the children and their education. It is a very inviting school and you always feel welcome to join your child for lunch or special events.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

Administrators, faculty and staff care about the well being and future of ALL of their students.


Posted May 20, 2010

My son is in kindergarten this year and has had a great experience. They seem to really do their best to meet the kids right where they are.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

Inverness is the best!! All my children have had wonderful experiences and we're always sad when they have to move on. As a parent, I've always felt welcome and it's a pleasure volunteering for such a great school! What a blessing to have teachers who really care and love the students. We're so thankful to be at IES!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

Inverness is a friendly neighborhood school and the children love it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

The teachers and administrators are the best. They love the kids and their jobs!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

The principal goes to the trouble to match each student with the teacher who will bring out the best in each child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

Great school, great teachers.. Very friendly and great academics..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

I moved from a Birmingham inner school to this school since they excel in education and the teachers and staff really care about the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

Great school with great teachers! They love the kids and make the experience of going to school super!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

IES is a great school, My son has improved in everything from reading, writing and math; since we moved here last year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

It is has been a great educational experience for our three (3) children.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

181 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
88%

2009

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

179 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
96%

2009

 
 
92%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students85%
Female81%
Male88%
Black68%
Asian/Pacific Islander67%
Hispanic81%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White93%
Free lunch eligible73%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education35%
General population90%
English language learners62%
Proficient in English87%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant85%
Poverty73%
Non-poverty90%

Reading

All Students89%
Female86%
Male92%
Black79%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic88%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White94%
Free lunch eligible82%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education41%
General population94%
English language learners64%
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant89%
Poverty80%
Non-poverty93%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 58%
Black 13% 35%
Hispanic 9% 4%
Asian 5% 1%
Two or more races 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 15%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5251 Valleydale Rd
Birmingham, AL 35242
Website: Click here
Phone: (205) 682-5240

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT