Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 26 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Oak Mt Elementary School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted July 05, 2016
- a community member
Not enough as in none - ever. How do you practice without homework? Also, not enough info was ever sent home for the parents to know what was being taught.

Oak Mt Elementary School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted July 05, 2016
- a community member
Lots of positive talk, but nothing corrective or disciplinary was done about bullying. My daughter was disciplined for "stealing" a bracelet, which I could prove she had long before the incident (and because I'd purchased it myself). The group of girls that actually stole it and accused her never faced consequences.


Oak Mt Elementary School 2

Posted July 05, 2016
- a community member
I HATED our time here. The teacher was fine, and the other parents were great. The administration, on the other hand, were sheer h*ll to work with. We transferred in just before christmas, but finished the year. I couldn't get out of the district quickly enough. I considered homeschooling her countless times while we were there. The lack of tests and homework were concerning. For all the good said about OM schools, and the bad about Memphis schools, I can honestly say her education at OMES wasn't half as good as what she had here. That said, the building was immaculate, and the food was good.

Oak Mt Elementary School 5

Posted January 05, 2016
- a parent
We absolutely love Oak Mountain schools! We are so blessed to be apart of this community of solid families and incredible teachers and staff. I would not choose any other school for my kids. They are challenged and nurtured in every way.

Oak Mt Elementary School 5

Posted February 16, 2015
- a parent
We bought our current home so we could be zoned for OMES. We have a friend on the state school board who told us this is the 2nd best elementary school in the state, and he is right (the first is in another part of the state). We have made several friends since moving here who teach at local schools, and they all agree -- even those who teach at rival elementary schools. We have already sent one child through OMES (in the GRC program), and have another enrolled there now.


Oak Mt Elementary School 3

Posted March 07, 2014
- a parent
Average school. Great parent support, but lots of changes are needed. I noticed that there haven't been any updates done on a regular basis to the building outside or inside. OMES seems to be behind the times in all areas; technology, safety, and teaching. The classes are very large and teachers seem overwhelmed and kids are bored. This school used to be the best in Shelby County and still has great potential, but many improvements are needed. I hope they can make changes soon.

Oak Mt Elementary School 5

Posted August 08, 2010
- a parent
OMES is a wonderful school and I cannot believe that there are ANY negative comments about the school or faculty. The leadership is stern when needed but very loving and caring. If you get involved and know what is going on with your child, then I can't imagine you would have anything to complain about. I couldn't ask for a better public school system.

Oak Mt Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 27, 2010
- a teacher
OMES has a staff of professionals who follow the golden rule - treating colleagues, parents and students with respect. From the administration on down, everyone is there for the purpose of helping create happy, successful, well-rounded children.


Oak Mt Elementary School
no rating

Posted June 28, 2009
- a parent
If your child dose not fall in the ' normal learning range' you are out of luck. My child is very intelligent and was not challenged enough this year. My child instead had to sit a table with children who didn't speak english and had to help them learn english and read. It was a waste of 9 months for my child who should have been learning something new.

Oak Mt Elementary School 4

Posted July 31, 2008
- a parent
Overall, it's a very good school. However, it's very rigid and not ideal for all tyes of learners. Have an exceptionally bright child? She'll be bored out of her mind, at least until the gifted and talented program offered in third grade. Kindergarden features a ridiculously long day (8 am - 3 pm) so much of the work is a repetitive drill with mundane worksheets. Also, if your child acts at all out of line (as in literally stepping out of line during hall line up, or touching a wall, or talking too loudly, or other typical kindergartner stuff) they get put on the 'no fun bench' during playground time (a school-wide policy), thereby making the pent-up energy even worse so the rest of the day is harder still for her. Very nice teachers (kind, loving, supportive), very strict code for behavior that they have to implement.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Oak Mt Elementary School
5640 Cahaba Valley Rd, Birmingham, AL  35242
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. (205) 682-5230
Last modified Oak Mt Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-3. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top