Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Our Lady Of Sorrows

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Birmingham

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $187,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $790.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 7, 2013

Our children are at or have graduated from OLS. My wife was a student when she was a kid. Wonderful environment. Conservative Catholic School. Most affordable of the over the mountain catholic schools. Art, Music, Computer ( Windows, Mac, iPad environment), Religion, even a full time Counselor. Can't say enough good things about the Principal and the teachers. The 2 kindergarten teachers are as good as any in the USA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2013

We are having a great experience at OLS. I haven't heard that any children feel "out of place," unlike the comment of one parent on here. I hate that the parent had that experience, but my child is dyslexic, and he had received nothing but encouragement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2013

I attended OLS for ten years and it really prepared me for the next level. The primary goal of the teachers is the success of the students. It is not overcrowded and has just an overall friendly atmosphere. When you leave the school you leave with a better understanding of your faith as well as respect for all life. There is no issue with racism. I myself am catholic but when i started at ols i attended a protestant church. The teachers just taught about the catholic faith so well i just wanted to be a part of it. He point i am trying to make is that it is a great place to be even if you are not catholic.


Posted December 30, 2012

If, four years ago, the principal of my first choice school had not arbitrarily decided that being raised by grandparents meant a student was behind, we would not have discovered OLS. I have custody of two grandsons, now in the 1st and 3rd grades. I spend a minimum of two hours every weekday driving from an area with poor public schools transporting my grandsons to and from OLS. My guys are doing amazing. Somehow OLS makes a challenging curriculum seem almost easy. I attribute it to the amazing teachers and counselor, and especially the principal at OLS. My guys are not perfect, one is ADD and the other is classic cant-sit-still ADHD. They fit in and are in Cub Scouts and play basketball through OLS. The school encourages parent participation and parent volunteers enhance the quality of the school. I like that it has a somewhat culturally diverse student population. Private school is a huge sacrifice for us but we feel education is extremely important for our grandsons' future. If our financial situation gets to the point we can no longer send our children there, I know that they have a strong foundation to build upon that they would not have had without OLS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2011

EXCELLENT school! I attended OLS for 10 years, and I enjoyed every second of my time there. As each day passes, I realize more and more that the education I received at OLS was far superior than anything I could have learned at another school. THANK YOU to the amazing faculty, staff, and administration for giving me the proper foundation to succeed in life.


Posted February 13, 2009

Both my daughters started Pre-K and are now in 8th and 5th grade. We have been very pleased w/ the school. It is a special environment w/ the perfect blend of academics, spirituality, sports and community. Our kids, teachers, principal and parents are a 'team'. You should visit and see for yourself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2008

I have had my children at OLS for 8yrs now. I love that the school is small enough that everyone knows their name. I also like the network of parents that are always watching out for each others kids. I feel that my children are very safe here and are growing academically and spiritually.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2008

I currently have 4 children enrolled at Our Lady of Sorrows School and one who has graduated. I would have my children no where else. The spiritual atmosphere is evident the minute you walk in the door. I have witnessed continued academic achievement and personal responsibility grow with each of my children due to this nurturing environment. The teachers and principal make every effort to reach out to each individual child and support their needs. The parental network is amazingly supportive. It is truly a family atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2008

I have had (3) children go to OLS over the past 21 years. One is doing front-line research at Auburn University, one is at Alabama on a national merit finalist, and the other graduates this year. Each of these children got an excellent K-8 education at OLS. People who care for and about your child make the difference.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2006

OLS is a wonderful place for children to grow academically and spiritually. The academics are top rate, challenging each student to reach his/her potential. The addition of the Atrium for the young children has enhanced the already strong spiritual aspect of the curriculum. The teachers are happy and seem to love what they do. A strong PTO that encourages volunteerism adds to the family atmosphere so evident at OLS. The school liturgies are amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2006

My daughter attended this school for approximately 2/3 of the school year. They had so many days off I found it hard to meet my responsibilities at work. They were out for spring break (AEA) for one week, returned to school for one week then were out for another week for their teachers conference in Atlanta. Tuition is $419 per month plus $60 for food, snacks not included, and $7 a day for after care. Some odds and ends and the total cost is $620 per month. You should also expect numerous fliers asking for money. The 'playground' is a 30 foot square play yard with no shade and black tar/chriso chips that stain your clothes (white shoes and white uniform shirts). Overall, this expensive school can be stressful for your child(if they don't 'fit in') and has questionable teachers, cirriculum and required in-school mass (even for non-Catholic students).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2006

It is a good school if your kids fit in. But if they have any kind of minor problem, such as finishing classwork slower than the other kids, you will have problems. My daughter attended for a couple of years. None of the other girls would play with her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2005

They were too nosey and they told all the parents to be ware of my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

This is a great school. I have three children currently enrolled at OLS. I have been very impressed with the academic and relegious education. The parents are very involved. The tuition is also very reasonable. Come visit one and you will see why there is no place like Our Lady of Sorrows.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 22, 2003

This is a wonderful school with high academic and moral standards.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 58%
Black 11% 34%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 3% 0%
Hispanic 2% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Birmingham
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1720 Oxmoor Road
Birmingham, AL 35209
Phone: (205) 879-3237

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Heritage Academy
Hoover, AL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT