Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

9-12|Private
624 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 25 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


John Carroll Catholic High School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted January 12, 2016
- a teacher
The principal was very alert to everything and the students were most cooperative in keeping quiet corridors, showing respect to others because of his own personal example.

John Carroll Catholic High School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted January 12, 2016
- a teacher
Teachers' with bachelors' degrees ought to earn masters' degrees through Summer schools. That could also be achieved through online work from accredited colleges and universities.


John Carroll Catholic High School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted January 12, 2016
- a teacher
I never heard any student complain about homework. Most of the good work was done in the classroom and the students have abundant energy.

John Carroll Catholic High School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted January 12, 2016
- a teacher
There is a seriousness about study, faith, promise keeping, homework, and in keeping the school's rules.

John Carroll Catholic High School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted January 12, 2016
- a teacher
I saw first hand how the young men show respect for the girls. I never once heard a sexist remark from a boy or a girl.


John Carroll Catholic High School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted January 12, 2016
- a teacher
The basic Christian values of faith, hope and love are experiential at John Carroll. Compassion, caring and sharing apply to most students. They make very good friendships.

John Carroll Catholic High School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted January 12, 2016
- a teacher
By example. The students had impeccable manners and they were very supportive of students with slight learning disabilities.

John Carroll Catholic High School 1

Posted March 23, 2015
- a parent
I think that for the cost of tuition, John Carroll really isn't worth the money. You can get a far better education at a public school such as Homewood, Mountain Brook, Vestavia, etc, as well as more opportunities to excel academically. For a private school with over 600 students the technology is far behind as well as sub par facilities (constant leaks,heat outages). Unless you have your mind set on a catholic education there are far better options. And if your son or daughter is considering a future in athletics other than soccer, this definitely is not the place to go. Save your money I wish I had


John Carroll Catholic High School 5

Posted September 25, 2014
- a parent
We have sent our 3 children to JCCHS- our youngest is currently a freshman- our experience there has been a very positive one- academically strong, with a fairly diverse student body for a private school nested in Homewood and with a moderate access to extra-curricular activities. Our 2 oldest received quite sizable academic scholarships to competitive colleges. The main reason to consider JC as a school for your child is for the chance to get a solid education academically within a strong faith based milieu. There are few schools in the BHM area that are stronger academically- but not too many- and I was certainly impressed by the life lessons our kids were taught there. It is a very good school if your goal is for your kid to graduate a well rounded young man/woman. As for the comments about people being stuck up- I disagree- there are very wealthy kids that attend JC, but I think most of the student body is middle class and salt of the Earth kind of people. As for the cost- a significant part of it you recoup by the use of uniforms (anyone who has a daughter knows this) and in the college scholarship money they'll get if they are serious students (we came out well ahead!).

John Carroll Catholic High School 4

Posted June 03, 2014
- a parent
I have a just-graduated senior, and a second child currently attending JCCHS. One of my children is special needs, so I think my experience is pretty broad. First of all this is a good school, run by good, Christian people who emphasize building the moral side of students. My experience has been that they will do the right thing. The biggest issue I have with the school is the high turnover rate, which tends to bring in too many young, inexperienced teachers. Those teachers can wreck a kid's GPA. They know one way to teach, and lack the confidence to try other approaches than the one they were taught in college. Of course, there are exceptions--but in general I've found this to be the case. JCCHS is a good environment, but don't expect it to be perfect. There is a little bit of everything you'd see in any other high school--the difference being that the administration has more options to deal with it. Academically, I am convinced the graduates are better prepared than many from the public school system. In the class of 2014 there were over $9 million in scholarships offered. My child received a full tuition scholarship and graduated with an advanced degree and high honors.

Nearby schools

John Carroll Catholic High School
300 Lakeshore Parkway, Birmingham, AL  35209
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. (205) 940-2400
Last modified John Carroll Catholic High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Top