Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Our Lady Of The Valley School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Birmingham

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $233,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $900.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 5, 2013

Our Lady of the Valley is a two time recipient of the U.S. Dept. of Education Blue Ribbon School of Excellence award. The children that attend this school are well prepared for high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2013

OLV is an outstanding school. Our children were incredibly well prepared for high school academically, socially and spiritually. The sense of community is wonderful and parents, teachers and students really support and care for one another. We are blessed to have had our children at OLV.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2013

Our Lady of the Valley School has won the nation's top honor, the Blue Ribbon, twice. It is the only Catholic school to ever accomplish it even once. The community is a terrific community of parents, students, faculty and staff. It is not unusual to see faculty at OLV drama, sporting events, and other activities supporting the students. Parents are an integral part to the success of the school, assisting in many facets of education and extracurricular activities. Athletically, the school competes in the "Toy Bowl" against other Catholic schools, and has excelled in all sports, which begin in the 1st grade. I really like that, as in public schools students have to wait until 7th grade to compete. Science Olympiad has been nationally recognized; the OLV Drama Department has won national awards, and the academic and extracurricular activities are simply top-notch. The Principal is retiring this year after 19 years, and the school conducted a nationwide search to attract an outstanding Catholic educator to be new Principal. Change brings about opportunity, and I have no doubt OLV will continue to thrive. I have had 5 children there 19 years total and look forward to two more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2013

OLV offers a wonderful community where parents, students, and teachers support and care about one another. As the parent of two alumni, I can say that OLV graduates are incredibly well prepared for high school not only academically, but also spiritually. They are provided with an outstanding moral and faith foundation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2012

Caring teachers, good leadership from principal, strong academic program and involved parents. OLV won the prestigious 2011-2012 Blue Ribbon School of Excellence Award from the US Department of Education and earned the Third Place Award at State Science Olympiad. The prinicipal is very involved with the students, she knows most of them by name. The teachers are very caring and I have seen a big difference in my daughter's deportment (how she interacts with others) in addition to her advances in education. I would highly recommend the school to anyone and my husband and I are very glad we decided to make this investment in her education. We cannot wait until our son is old enough to start going to OLV. My only criticism (and it is a mild one) is that many of the mothers do not work and are available to attend the numerous plays and school functions, which makes it difficult on those who do work as my daughter always wonders why I don't visit her school and attend the various activities as much as other mothers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2011

OLV is an incredible school. The teachers are top-notch, and they truly care about their students. The school provides an excellent Catholic education and prepares students very well for the future. Students are challenged and offered numerous opportunities to explore their talents and interests. The school community is like a family and I am proud to be a member of it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

Most of the teachers are excellent. There are a few who are not Catholic and the social studies teacher for middle school has the children coloring more than learning. My oldest graduated from OLV on 08 and has done excellent in HS and is taking honors classes in every class except history. I attribute this to her middle school social studies teacher. She did not prepare them for high school. They have an excellent drama department and Science Olympiad program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2010

I am currently a student at Our Lady of the Valley. Parents who send their kids here expect their kids to be getting a quality Catholic education, but half the teachers aren't even Catholic. There's also a teacher who can barely teach, and another who grades a bit harsh. But, there are a couple good teachers, and a wonderful principal who work with students. there is also a great drama department and thespians.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 17, 2009

I agree with everyone that it is clicky. I also found incompetence with one of the teachers in constantly grading my child's work wrong in elementary. In middle school, I felt that the grading was too harsh. One of the teachers believes in giving a child a '0' if they forget to do 1 of their problems in homework. Of course, your child can never get an 'A' in the class after receiving a zero. They believe this teaches the child responsiblity where I think it is too harsh as no one is perfect. The drama program is clicky but also excellent and the principal is very good and involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2008

I have 4 children taht have attend OLV. There are various opportunities for parent involvement. High academic challenges aid in preparation for high school. A large percentage of the 7th grade students have qualifided for the Duke Testing in recent years. Our teacher's do an excellent job of sharing the Catholic faith with the children at OLV. My children have developed strong life long friendships. But, most of all the christian faith has aided in molding their character.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2008

OLV is a good school. Its got good academics and fair athletics. The only problem I have with OLV is that athletics are not taken very seriously.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 28, 2007

This is a wonderful school with high academic and moral standards.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2007

Student to teacher ratio is very high. I tried to contact principal for 8 weeks to discuss my child, I never got a call returned. In my opinion in the 3 years my child was there it has gone downhill. Since changing my childs school from OLV the progress as a student and general well being has gone up dramaticly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2007

I've had four children experience the community of OLV and it is expensive and it is clicky and if you are a Christian it will be a beautiful adventure. Also, my eldest daughter started in third grade and was shy and was well accepted and happy. A dad
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2007

The academics are good, but Unless your child starts there in kindergarten, she has no chance of fitting in later.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 21, 2005

Very high quality academics. Tough on kids-force responsibility. Teaches kids to be nice and behave.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 58%
Hispanic 3% 5%
Two or more races 3% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Black 1% 34%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Birmingham
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5510 Double Oak Lane
Birmingham, AL 35242
Phone: (205) 991-5963

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Indian Springs School
Indian Springs Village, AL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT