Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Forestdale Baptist

Private | PK-6 | 113 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Birmingham

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $96,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $710.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 10, 2010

My daughter has been going to FBS since she was in K5. Would not trade it for nothing in the world. The staff is great with the kids. She has learned more than from here than she would have if she was in a public school.. She will be here till it is time the 6th grade. Then try to find a school just as good to finish her education with. Wish they went to the 12th.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2009

This will be my sons second year and he absolutely loves it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2009

My children started FBS at the same time (they are 1 yr apart). Younger one started in 3K and older one in 4K. They are now headed into 2nd and 3rd grades. My brother and I attended FBS, and now my kids do. I think FBS is a great school as far as teaching Christianity and the basic tenets of our faith. I do have SOME questions as to whether or not the academics could be improved, but so far, my children do not appear to be behind others the same age. One complaint I do have is that children who are more advanced can feel bored because there are no 'advanced' placement classrooms like in a public school. BUT, my #1 priority is that my kids are receiving a good, solid, Bible-based Christian education, and FBS is FANTASTIC where that is concerned. Academics are better than average but not superior.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2008

My child has attended FBS for two years and loves it! :) The teachers and staff are so caring! If you are looking for a christian school that will teach your child the bible along with abecka curriculum this is your school. This school beats the Jefferson county school system hands down. Your child will actually learn!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2008

My child will be attending 4-k this year and I'm excited for her to experience what FB has to offer.. I attended from 1-6th grade and absolutely loved... I always wished they had gone through 12th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2008

Forestdale Baptist School is an excellent school. My son has attended FBS for the past 4 years. The quality of education he has received has been excellent. The teachers are all loving and caring. I am very pleased with FBS and would recommend it to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2006

My son is in K4 and this is the first time he has ever been in a school/daycare environment. I have been so impressed with what my child has learned in such a short amount of time. I highly recommend this school for parents that are tired of poorly run public schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2004

Forestdale Baptist School has provided my children with an excellent Elementary Education. Both my husband and I are extremely pleased with how much our children have excelled at Forestdale Baptist. If you're looking for a Christian Based Education for your Children, I would highly recommend this School. If you're looking for a School with Teachers and Staff with an attitude of care then this is the School for your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

My son and I both absolutely love this school. He learns so much and really enjoys going to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 58%
Black 7% 34%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
Hispanic 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Baptist

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1400 Brisbane Avenue
Birmingham, AL 35214
Phone: (205) 798-1248

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Minor Community School
Birmingham, AL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT