Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

The Altamont School

Private | 5-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Birmingham

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $141,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $660.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 31, 2014

The Altamont School is preparing me for college wonderfully! It is quite challenging at times, but I know in the long run it will help. I believe Altamont is one the best or the best school in Birmingham. We welcome all races into our community. ~Student


Posted December 13, 2013

The Altamont School has provided far and away the best high school experience anyone can ask. The students strike that delicate balance between intellectual quirkiness and people skills. Class sizes are luxuriously small--in my senior year, I have a class of one, a class of three, a class of five, and a couple classes of around twelve. The attention afforded to us by the faculty and staff is unparalleled, and the support network the school provides is phenomenal. And the resources...oh my god the resources. I've literally gone to school some days to find things in the Morning Report like "if anyone wants to dissect some human brains, meet in the bio lab." I have had two independent studies (I created my own course, got it approved/funded) in which UAB professors came to the school every week to oversee my experiments. About a solid half of my high school teachers have doctorates in their field--i'm not sure that's true of many colleges. Altamont does a fantastic job of providing for a student's need from 5th through 12th grade--for those of you with smaller children who are afraid of the high school-middle school mixing, DON'T BE!! Cannot say enough about this life-changing school


Posted June 17, 2013

Altamont is the greatest school I have ever gone to. When I'm there in class I feel so much love and acceptance from everyone. The teachers genially care about all of the students. They treat you like family. If you are a parent and are reading this consider sending your child to Altamont. Everyone finds heir place there.


Posted February 29, 2012

This is the best secondary education environment in Birmingham. Teachers and staff truly care about all aspects of the child and the education is exceptional. Each child is respected for their individuality and the students are very accepting of each other. Wonderful school community which embraces everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2011

Sarah Whiteside is a wonderful principal and academician that permeates down to the whole staff. Altamont is a very special place that fosters the development of the "complete" child. I would recommend this school to anyone considering a top notch education for their child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2011

Love this school!! Great teachers and board. the arts are important to everyone here, which is unusual but really appreciated! enough freedom to have fun but also learn responsibilities.


Posted July 16, 2009

The academics are great. The teachers are amongst the best, however the administrative staff of this institution of 'learning' are absolutely horrible! Particularly the financial staff. Education is no longer the main focus of this once top-rate institution of learning; they are now more focused on courting those with a great amount of income and doing whatever is necessary to eliminate and force out those who are not as fortunate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2009

This school suffers severly with a lack of communication and polotics. The school has some great teachers left, but the majority now have no communication skills. The administration at the school needs to be reconsidered. The school has lost it's main focus, the students, and focuses on nothing but satisfying the parents in order to obtain their money and keep the school alive. The number of enrollments has saignifcantly dropped due to the sharp decline of excellance at this institute. It needs to change, or it is going to fail even more.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 2, 2009

The best voice my husband and I have made - was to send our daughter to Altamont. The teachers are all very dedicated to their jobs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2008

This is just about the best school in alabama! i love every aspect of it and hope that many more students will choose to attend Altamont.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 11, 2006

A wonderful school, in every area. Academics are challenging, and teachers are truly allies of the students (not to mention parents). Small class size and dedicated faculty set Altamont in a class by itself. Sports is a vital part of this school, as are the arts. Children graduating from Altamont go on to highly selective colleges, and do well. An outstanding school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2005

With the death of Martin Hames this school is not the same place. It was once a great school that fostered broad learning and did not cater solely to AP courses and was not solely concerned with numbers and with reputation. Now it has lost everything that made it unique. Do not go to Altamont for a unique educational experience because it is just like some other schools that cost half the price. I must say that Altamont's direction can be changed if there were to be a change in the administration. Instead of caring about students and faculty the present administration ahered to a relativistic philosophy that can only be characterized by elitism in trying to drastically change a school that did NOT need to be changed. Return Altamont to what it once was!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 27, 2005

This is a terrible school now. The new administration has sent this place down.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 24, 2004

Great Private School. Best in the Birmingham Area! They went to the 2a final four last year in basketball, and beat #1 Ranked Calera, #2 ranked Hatton, Tarent, and won there area in basketball. This school also has the best girls indoor and outdoor track and cross country team in the sate for the past 2 years. The boys track team also won the state this year (2004). The boys soccer team won state last year. In the acedemic area, Altamont is sending early decition two people to Stanford and one to Harvard out of a class of about 50. The teachers also have a passion for teaching that is uncharacterisic of any other school in Alabama. If your looking for a school that combines acedemics and athletics seemlessly, then Altamont is the place for you.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Design
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4801 Altamont Rd S
Birmingham, AL 35222
Phone: (205) 879-2006

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Alabama Waldorf School
Birmingham, AL




Crestline Elementary School
Mountain Brook, AL


Spring Valley School
Birmingham, AL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT