Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-12
Private
Birmingham, AL
Students enrolled: 325
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 32 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


34 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Shades Mountain Christian School 5

Posted November 05, 2014
- a parent
Great school! We are the parents of two graduates of SMCS who attended school there from K4 through 12th grade. We chose SMCS because we wanted to invest in our children's intellectual and spiritual education. We were not disappointed. SMCS also provided them with the opportunity to participate in multiple sports, band, choir and other activities which contributed to building their character and helping to prepare them for life after high school. SMCS is one of the area's best kept secrets which needs to be shared!

Shades Mountain Christian School 5

Posted November 05, 2014
- a parent
Both our boys transferred from an excellent school system when they were in the 6th grade. We originally chose to move our oldest son because we felt a smaller school would benefit his personality better. A once timid child blossomed in the smaller environment. The added value of a Christian curriculum was important to us, but it was not the original reason we switched schools. Both our boys excelled academically and socially. Both played football and baseball. But, what is unique about a smaller school, students are not pigeon-holed into just being a scholar, jock or artist. Our boys excelled academically, played sports and participated in SMCS theater. That elective enabled both boys to talk in front of people without fear. Both served as ambassadors for their colleges touring prospective students with their parents. Our oldest son had an excellent job offer in February before he graduated this past May. Our second son made a 32 on his ACT and is maintaining a 3.9 GPA in engineering. Looking back over our sons secondary school years at SMCS, we appreciate the impact the school had in our boys lives. We chose to go a different school path and we are thankful we did!


Shades Mountain Christian School 5

Posted October 31, 2014
- a parent
One of the best schools in Hoover.... I am proud to have a daughter and son that attended Camp Straight Street and daughter to work on the staff... These are amazing teachers helping young people grow and learn through God... Thanks, Angela Finley ~

Shades Mountain Christian School 5

Posted October 29, 2014
- a parent
I cant say enough good things about SMCS. The leadership and faculty is top notch. High level of academics with a Christian foundation. The family atmosphere and support is amazing.

Shades Mountain Christian School 5

Posted October 27, 2014
- a parent
As a parent of two children, one who graduated and one still attending, investing in there future at Shades Mountain has by far been the best decision I ever made for my children. I see visible evidence of the schools influence on both by children as they grow and learn to deal with others and the various challenges we all face. The school currently shares facilities with the shades mountain independent church, but they are working to either build or buy a facility. The other real benefit is that as a small school, you will know everyone and they know you and your kids. It's much easier to stay involved and know your kids friends in this smaller enviroment.


Shades Mountain Christian School 5

Posted October 14, 2014
- a parent
Our daughter has been at this school since K-5, she has loved it! We are happy with our choice. This is a private school where GOD is FIRST.

Shades Mountain Christian School 5

Posted October 02, 2014
- a parent
This has been the best decision we have made for our two sons. The staff is awesome and the education as well. It is great to have God involved in every aspect in the classroom.

Shades Mountain Christian School 5

Posted September 30, 2014
- a parent
Shades Mountain Christian is indeed a wonderful little gem tucked away in Birmingham! I love that the staff is so pleasant and inviting and that there are always opportunities for the parents to get involved. The curriculum is challenging and Christian based. The thing that initially drew us to the school was the fact that they offer a K3 as well as a K4 program. My daughter has an October birthday, so I was very excited that she wouldn't have to start Kindergarten late, and could be in a real academic setting even at 3 years old. I love the school, the teachers, and administration, and we look forward to many more wonderful years!


Shades Mountain Christian School 5

Posted September 30, 2014
- a parent
We LOVE Shades Mountain Christian! The teachers are fabulous, the people are friendly, there are many opportunities for involvement, and my child is receiving an education that will prepare him well for college. We believe this atmosphere of unity and quality of education is largely due to strong, caring school leadership, including administration, staff, and teachers. We plan to remain a part of the SMCS family until graduation!

Shades Mountain Christian School 5

Posted September 11, 2014
- a parent
The best kept secret in Birmingham. SMCS has a highly qualified faculty and administration. We are a small school, but that does not mean we are not significant. There is opportunity for every student to use their God-given talents and abilities.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Shades Mountain Christian School
2290 Old Tyler Road, Birmingham, AL  35226
(205) 978-6001
Last modified Shades Mountain Christian School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Shades Mountain Christian School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 34 reviews. Top