Advertisement
Advertisement

Parkway Christian Academy

Private | PK-12

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Birmingham

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $102,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $740.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

58 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 23, 2014

My children have been at Parkway Christian Academy for three years. We found out that the school is closing and I am disappointed. As the colors of the children faces changed, the adminstration and board decided that our children were no longer an asset. We were recently purchased by Cornerstone because of the "financial" situation at PCA. I find it hard to believe that as a school we were not capable of surving. Holy Family has been surving for years because they have an adminstration that cares. In closing to other schools, before you make business deals based on race, visit the classrooms and look into the children faces before you walk out on them and stab them in the back. The majority of the children at PCA are not urban youth. They come from parents of business owners, educators,and professionals. We are not looking for a handout or a stereotype but we received both when Cornerstone purchased Parkway Christian Academy. Submitted by a parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2013

As a freshman, I am very happy with Parkway. I have teachers who love and care for me and my education. I have friends who supports me in every thing I do. I really admire the principal, he is a true man of GOD. As a varsity cheerleader, I am very proud of our varsity girls and boys for their victories in the basketball games. The only complaint I have is the food in the lunchroom. That is my opinion, because I am also very picky.


Posted September 16, 2013

Im a parent and my child loves this school she loves the kids and everyone in it the head basketball coach Darius Hall is a good guy....... but as i watched the current volleyball team play tonight that was ridiculous they dont need to break down like that i wasted my 5 dollars watching them play Huffman when i know they could do so much better. They better get their act straight and win some games and to be honest some girls were crying and no one knows what for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2013

They don't deserve the one star I just gave them. Overall terrible school, full of religious hypocrites and a TOXIC counselor. In my opinion, this counselor is 99% responsible for running this school straight into the ground. There are hardly any extra curricular activities and the ones they do have are a joke. The basketball team was absolutely pathetic (poor coaching). Baseball, soccer, and football are no longer offered there. So if you would like to be part of a terrible basketball team or what I can only assume will now be a joke of a volleyball team then be sure to register at parkway. Now for the academics, they have great, caring high school teachers. The problem is these teachers have so many classes, realistically they can't perform, anywhere near their potential. Let me be real frank with you for a second, if you are Caucasian and you can not get into a decent public school, GO TO JCA. DO NOT PUT YOUR CHILD THROUGH WHAT PARKWAY WILL PUT THEM THROUGH.


Posted May 12, 2013

After I had enrolled my daughter here for her 6th grade year I felt I was able to breathe a sigh of relief. I felt like I was doing the right thing by not sending her to public school. Now that I look back I regret this decision immensely. I noticed during her 6th grade year that she became very depressed and down on herself which I thought strange since she had always been such a bright, opinionated, creative, and happy child. I thought maybe it was just adjusting to middle school. Through the next few years though I slowly watched her fall apart. During her 9th grade year is when I realized just how horrible this school is. She began to lose a lot of weight, and became even more withdrawn and unhappy. She would come home from school on some days close herself in her room and cry! Whenever I asked her what was wrong she wouldn't tell me. I had a meeting once with the counselor there who told me that she would call my daughter down to her office occasionally to speak to her about God, once I put two and two together I realized that she was crazy and probably responsible for some of the tears. I could go on and but am running out space. Bottom line these people are crazy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2013

THIS SCHOOL IS LACKING A LOT OF CHRISTIAN VALUES. I guess you can say it is only a Christian school in name only. The education pass 6th grade is poor with the exception of the 7th grade history / bible teacher ( he is awesome!!!!). The principal is very out of touch with what goes on in his school and the assistant principal is very uncaring. There is a strong feeling of prejudiced in the front office... I have experinced this first hand and I witnessed a lot more unchristian like behavior during the time my daughter attended this school. *NEW BUSINESS* I think Parkway missed the memo on BULLYING. Yes the BULLYING EPIDEMIC now graces the hallway, classroom, gymnasium, and cafeteria at PARKWAY CHRISTIAN ACADEMY, and this is sad. I am talking first hand information. In closing I was very disappointed with this school. I pulled my daughter out to homeschool her beacuse, I work in public school and I would not send my child to a public school and the private setting is no longer what it use to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2012

This school is horrible!!!!!!!!! God's word is masked by unprofessionalism, rudeness, and faux Christians!!!! If there are any problems or concerns against the faculty the administration will not listen which is very unfortunate for the students. Just because a school claims to be a Christian Academy it doesn't mean that they are.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2012

My daughter attended PCA her Kindergarten year. She learned alot and had a great teacher by the name of Mrs. Shultz. She is in the 1st grade and her teacher's name is Mrs. Shackelford. I have known her for a short period of time but she is an awesome teacher very structured and very organized. Some individuals you can simply pickup on their spirit and their ability to lead. I am so lucky to have Mrs. Shackelford as my daughter's teacher. Parkway is lucky to have her on their team! As for Mr. Gallien, he is great. All the concerns I have had, he has addressed them timely and with class. With all that said, I am very please with Parkway Christian Academy. Last but not least, the President of the PTF, Mrs Green (Cookie) is awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2012

PCA hide behind the christian name. Principal is uncaring towards the students which reflect in the teachers. They did not go the extra mile to help my child succeed. Students that have graduated state they feel they are lost in the real world and realize in college they lack so much that wasn't taught at PCA. All about the money, not the education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2012

MAY DAUGHTER GRADUATED FROM THIS SCHOOL IN MAY 2009 SHE WAS NOT PREPARED FOR COLLEGE AT ALL ....DO NOT SEND YOUR PRECIOUS JEWELS TO THIS SO CALL CHRISTIAN ACADEMY. NO FORM OFCHRISTIANITY LIVES HERE AND DEFINITELY NOT AN ACADEMY....STAFF AND PRINCIPAL ARE HORRIBLE!!!!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2012

I am a former student of this school. Before I came here, I went to another great private school but unfortunatly they closed. When I came to this school my 7th grade year, I thought it was really fun. And at tat time, there was three seventh grades. But, I quickly realized that the curiculums were terrible and very old. Most of the teachers I had didnt really teach us or they made the work so easy that us students werent chalenged enough. Socially, this school needs alot of improvement in this area. The people here are vey stuck up and rude. If they were to see you in a resturaunt or store or something, they wouldn't even bother to wave or smile at you. They criticize and talk about people all the time butstill say that they are Christian. And the thing that bothered me the most is that teachers idn't do anything about it when they saw or heard it going on. Alot of times, teachers even sort of went along with it or thought itwas funny. Once I left this school, it was sad because I made many friends here. But when I left and went to a public school, it was definitly different but academically it was harder because Parkway didn't prepare me. Personally I would not recomend PCA.


Posted May 12, 2011

This school is awful. Do not send your child to this school. Not even for a Christian education because your child WILL NOT get it. The staff is constantly being the opposite of Christian. Most of the teachers are lazy and are not meant to teach children/teenager. Don't waste your valuable time and money! Do not sacrifice your child's education or spiritual growth by enrolling them into this school. Go find another private school if you must. Trust me you won't regret that decision.


Posted January 12, 2011

this school is horrible!!! i have been going to this school for 2 years and i really havent learned anything. My past school i made straight A's but since i came here everything went downfall. i wouldnt recommend this school. There are not alot of people at the school so you cant really socialize. The school is boring nd people are mean there. The teachers dont even act like they are Christians. Dont go to this school if you want to succeed in life. Oh and they are not organized


Posted April 7, 2010

I think that this school didnt prepare me for college at all. They were so stuck on being christians that they didnt know how to teach us. I wouldnt recommend Parkway to nobody. Im a past student, I wouldnt lie!!


Posted March 15, 2010

My daughter graduated may 2009 from this school she was unprepared for college. Some of the staff members and the new principal along with the counselor are not giving the student what they need for the real world. Yes this is a christian base school but you would have to dig really deep to find this out, because the principal doesnt show it in anyway. Would i recommend parkway no!!!!!!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2009

PCA is a thriving school with Chrisitan values and small classrooms giving attention to the students as needed. Many of the high school teachers are very good and our SAT scores are high. As with most things, the effort you put into something is what your return is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2009

ParkWay Christian Academy was a wonderful school for my son. He was in the K-4 program last year and made great improvements. Mrs. Knox was his teacher and she was the best. She is truly a Christian lady and had so much patience with my son. Love the values of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2009

My daughter is in the Pre-K program at Parkway. She is thriving. The children at the elementary are supportive and encouraging to each other. Harsh words are not allowed between the students. The teachers are loving, christians who support my childs academic and emotional growth. I've enjoyed the entire community from K-4 to 12th. I would recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2009

when i first started attending parkway it was all that is said to have been i have been there five years about to be six years and i have seen the good and the bad. The teachers that actually stood up and taught instead of being on the computer the whole entire period have been driven out now there are hardly any teachers that ar really good at what they do. The principle really is to strict now i admit your suppose to be strict but every time you go in his office he threatens you with suspension for a day or two. he has made the rule of no cell phones in the school the only phone you can use is the office phone and no one wants to go and have the office hearing your personal conversation with someone he obviously needs to take away that rule for thesakeofthechildrenbecausetheyreallyneddtobeallowwedtoussetheirphonesafterschooltocallforridesaranythingelse
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 9, 2009

I have a child in the 8th grade. The new principle has made many improvements and our SAT scores are great. This is a small Christian school with Christian ethics. The size of the school and the enrollment is what makes it so unique. It is an excellent school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 61% 38%
White 32% 56%
Two or more races 4% N/A
Hispanic 3% 4%
Asian 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

959 Huffman Rd
Birmingham, AL 35215
Phone: (205) 833-2410

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Children's Place
Birmingham, AL


Huffman Middle School
Birmingham, AL



Smith Middle School
Birmingham, AL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT