Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Central Park Christian Schools

Private | K-12 | 16 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Birmingham

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $64,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $830.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 21, 2014

My son graduated may2014.CPCS is the most loving and caring environment for any parent who wants their child to receive a Christ in upbringing.I love Dr.Parker he was great to my son for four lovely years.Please send your child to CPCS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2014

The school is not great at all. The P.E coach is a pedifile and constantly harasses the students. He has his faves and if he doesn't like you, you will have to suffer. I would not recommend this school to ANYONE. They decided to go up on tuition to $800 when the building is no bigger that than 4 average McDonalds. It is in HORRIBLE shape and the teachers don't cater anything about the kids. They are just there for the money. It's sad to say but it's true. And their disciplinary actions aren't the best. You either get the paddle, have to hold a wooden bat out in front of you for 30min (all grades), or get kicked out. And that's just your first offense. And the parents don't sign anything that says that your child can be paddled. The headmaster(principle) does it as he pleases. Central Park Christian School is not okay for students at all. Public school will teach them more that this private school. DO NOT ENROLL YOUR KIDS HERE.....!!!!!


Posted October 7, 2012

Teachers don't know what they are doing there is only 3 good teachers in middle through high school out of like 12 this is a terrible school don't come here
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2011

CPCS IS AN OKAY SCHOOL BESIDES THE FACT OF THE HEADMASTER DR.PARKER.I WENT CPCS FOR A WEEK AND A HALF BECAUSE OF CERTAIN PROBLEMS THAT CONCERNED MY PARENTS AND I.DR.PARKER YELLED AT MY MOM JUST FOR ASKING QUESTIONS,ABOUT CERTAIN PROBLEMS I WAS HAVING AT CPCS.HE IS VERY UNPROFESSIONAL TO BE HEADMASTER HE TALKS TO WOMEN LIKE HES HEAD SUPREME .WOULD YOU WANNA SEND YOUR CHILD THERE AND DEAL WITH HIM. I THINK NOT! HE IS VERY RUDE TO ALL FACULTY AND STUDENTS. HE DOESNT LIKE TO BE TOLD HES WRONG ABOUT ANYTHING. THATS ALL I HAVE FOR YOU TODAY.


Posted October 26, 2010

I worked at CPCS school for 14 years, I Knew ALL of the students who attended, graduated and withdrew! And if you want your child to not only have a great education but also, morals and values, CPCS is the place. Dr.Parker (Headmaster)is not only a GREAT educator, he has so much love and compassion for the students and staff. I observed and worked in CPCS for many years and I have seen it all. The patience and GODLY love that the staff have for the kids are overwhelming! Children cannot dictate to an adult what he or she wants to do that would be a lack of guidance on the schools part. Dr. Parker was not about to let that happen. Some people always say the basketball team was the main focus NOT TRUE, God, Christian Love,Unity and education was the Main Focus.Lets not judge PLEASE!


Posted August 6, 2010

I am a CPCS graduate. Until 9th grade, my parents and I were satisfied. After that, things started to go downhill fast. But instead of recounting the numerous shortcomings of the school, I will simply say this: if you are considering this school for your child(ren), Google Central Park Christian School and look over the results. I was always proud to be an Eagle, so I don't begrudge the numerous articles detailing the basketball program's success. However, there don't seem to be any results relating to academic achievement. Scholars bowl? No. Math team? No. Science team? No. If a rudimentary understanding of introductory math and science are all that matter to you, this is a fine option to consider. But if you want your child to excel and be involved academically, I recommend that you look elsewhere. If I had children, I would not send them to CPCS.


Posted February 13, 2010

i currently attend the school the elementry is great but, the middle and highschool needs to be improved. For one there some teachers dont even teach they just read in my opion and it seem that some teachers just hand out grades instead of going by grades. It seems like the money we are spending is going nowhere but to the basketball team and not towards us. In my opion it need alot of improvement in the highschool area.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 25, 2009

After teachiung 30.5 years in public education my coming to Central Park put a positive desire to be back in the classroom. We have over 400 years of teaching experience and we do prepare students , at least those who are willing to study and learn. Central Park Christian provides what our children need without the financial aid of the federal government. We work very hard to give of ourselves spiritually, financially, emotionally, and as hard working teachers. I will always thank God for my time at Central Park Christian.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 6, 2008

As an elementary school, CPCS is probably one of the best options available in the area. The teachers are very much involved and very much invested in the success of their students. However, as a middle and high school, public school is a better option. Apart from being a safe environment, CPCS has little to offer. Few extracurricular activities and lackluster faculty leaves MUCH to be desired. As a student, of course, one is resposinble for their own education, but why pay out good money to be taught at a private institution if you are going to have to teach yourself. I was absolutely not prepared in science or math when I reached college.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 27, 2008

strict code of conduct, excellent leadership, solid basic education, daily Christian teaching, nationally recognized basketball program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2008

I am now attending this school and i will say that it is a very competent elementary school. Unfortunately the same can't be said for the highschool. They seem to disregard other activities by employing teachers that only know how to read from the book and not take learning from a more proactical approach and pay more attention to basketball team. I find it frivolous how the basketball team can get to europe every year, but our calss can't even go to georgia for a six flags trip.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 6, 2007

I graduated from CPCS in 2006 after attending for 5 years, and I was well prepared for the classes at UAB. The teachers excell in giving students a Christian environment and preparing students for the world ahead. Dr. Parker is a kind but strict headmaster who demonstrated to me that one will truly reap what one sows. As in any school a student will only learn what is needed if he/she desires to do their best.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 3, 2007

I attended this school and felt when I came out I was not prepared to attend high education as well as other kids who had attended public schools. The headmaster seems more concerned with the small sports program at the school than academics. I especially did not feel prepared in science or math.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 17, 2006

I was a student and sent my child there shortly. I feel the curriculum is insufficient in comparison to most schools in the area including public systems. The courses offered are basic and elementary, and does not touch upon the arts, sciences, business or computer classes which enables young people to have a promising future. Academic test scores and performances should be based on parental involvement and the headmasters steering in morality and ethics. Extracurricular activities are weak with only basketball encouraged.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 8, 2006

I gratuated from this school and I have to say that I was not at all prepared to go out into the real world after graduation. It was a close knit school, and I had many friends and participated in many activities, but it lacked in many areas also.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 26, 2006

I taught High School science at CPCS for three years (1998-2001) and can vouch for the high quality of education that its students receive. The teachers and administrators genuinely care for the students and invest their lives in them. I loved teaching there and would send my kids there if I lived in the Birmingham area.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 14, 2004

My children attend this school and I love it. They do very well on their SATs whcich lets me know that the school is doing a great job to prepare students to compete in the academic world. Dr. Parker, the head master, is fantastic. He is a fair leader and the children love and respect him. I also like the environment and the teachers. This school is worth every dime that I pay for my children to attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2004

There are two great benefits from the small class sizes at CPCS; there is a real sense of family and the individual attention students receive can help them get over any intellectual hump. Upon graduation the small class size can be drawback however. After graduating in the early 90s, I enrolled at a large public university where at first the scale and the opportunities were a culture shock. Going from a class size of 15-20 to 500 was an adjustment. From my experience the science education I received could have been better but this short-coming is matched by CPCS's liberal arts classes. The liberal arts foundation I received at CPCS prepared me for the most rigorous of university challenges. CPCS is a committed core of teachers working together to improve their community-it is an example that young people should learn. If you are willing to work CPCS will prepare you.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 27, 2003

This school is a well-rounded christian environment that teaches children how to survive in the real world. My children are receiving a well rounded education in a healthy christian environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2003

I graduated from this school! It's great! When I went to college I really missed the feeling of closeness that this school offers!
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 99% 34%
White 1% 58%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 5%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • ACSI
  • NCSA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1900 43rd Street Ensley
Birmingham, AL 35208
Phone: (205) 786-4811

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT