Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
440 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
24 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (3 responses)
characters left.
There are 66 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Cornerstone Schools of Alabama
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted May 17, 2016
- a student
When there is a problem no one will listen. Teachers talk down to students. I don't feel that the curriculum is even up to par with that of the public schools.

Cornerstone Schools of Alabama 1

Posted May 17, 2016
- a student
The principal is not very friendly. The teachers never listen to concerns of the students and are very judgmental.


Cornerstone Schools of Alabama
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted May 17, 2016
- a parent
The teachers fail to relate to the students. Teachers view students as poor little charity cases instead of intelligent children regardless of background.

Cornerstone Schools of Alabama
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted May 17, 2016
- a parent
The principal as well as a few teachers failed to display any compassion or concern for the students.

Cornerstone Schools of Alabama 1

Posted May 17, 2016
- a parent
Poor leadership in the high school. This school is not very Christian. The principal does not like parents to ask questions. The teachers also do not respect the students.


Cornerstone Schools of Alabama 1

Posted May 17, 2016
- a parent
Poor leadership in the high school. This school is not very Christian. The principal does not like parents to ask questions and he does not have a good rapport with students.

Cornerstone Schools of Alabama
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 10, 2015
- a teacher
I have a student at Cornerstone School and I have witnessed first-hand the quality of education that this school provides. My child continues to thrive at Cornerstone year after year.

Cornerstone Schools of Alabama 5

Posted June 04, 2015
- a community member
I'm a member of the Birmingham community and have been an active volunteer at Cornerstone for four years. The one word that comes to mind when I think of the teachers, administration and staff at Cornerstone is "passion." These individuals are committed to providing children with a first-class education in a Christian environment, and the students are inspired to not only take control of their educations, but to also take control of their growth as a member of the community and the church. I'm proud to be associated with Cornerstone because the teachers, administration and staff are truly passionate about what they do, which is inspire others, lead by example, and instill integrity and faith in our community.


Cornerstone Schools of Alabama
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted June 03, 2015
- a teacher
At Cornerstone, character building is a huge piece of how the students are educated. The teachers as well as the staff constantly emphasize and model what it means to have grit and commitment and the motivation to get to the finish line in all we do.

Cornerstone Schools of Alabama
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 03, 2015
- a teacher
I've had such a wonderful and fulfilling experience at Cornerstone School. I have been an employee for a number of years and I can honestly say that the leadership is constantly striving and moving in the way of excellence. Working in an atmosphere that allows for camaraderie and fellowship with so many others affiliated with the school has been an uplifting experience. Above all, the fact that we get to change and impact lives not only through education but through teaching about Jesus is what makes Cornerstone such a wonderful organization to be a part of.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cornerstone Schools of Alabama
118 55th Street North, Birmingham, AL  35232
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 66 reviews. (205) 591-7600
Last modified Cornerstone Schools of Alabama is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top