Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mountain View Baptist School 5

Posted September 05, 2014
- a parent
Great school! Great teachers and staff. I am very pleased to have my son here!

Mountain View Baptist School 5

Posted September 02, 2014
- a parent
This is my child's first year at this school. We have been very pleased. His teacher is excellent, and he honestly has enjoyed going to school. I'm excited that he has art and music classes, and if excited that they do a lot of community outreach programs. I'm looking forward to seeing my child excel.


Mountain View Baptist School 5

Posted August 22, 2014
- a parent
I am a parent of a child who has been going to this school for 7 years now. The school has a great teacher student ratio and my child scores very high on all testing. In fact, MVBS students testing scores are only second to those of Mountain Brook students in the state.They offer many ways for a child to excel whether that is sports, music, arts or academics. Each year students compete in both state and national competitions in music, speech, and different arts. Each year they have many students who do quite well in those national competitions. The teachers are concerned about each of their students hearts and genuinely care for them. Add all this to the fact that the students are given a good Christian education based on the Bible and you have a school that continually turns out well-rounded people who are productive members of society.

Mountain View Baptist School 5

Posted August 22, 2014
- a community member
I would highly recommend this school to all parents looking for a well rounded and Christ centered education.

Mountain View Baptist School 3

Posted June 26, 2014
- a parent
The low teacher to student ratio helps teachers spend more time with and challenge students not challenged by a beka curriculum. That program is basically a bunch of workbooks. They teach to the standardized test but don't get tool excited when your kids test well. They teach no critical thinking and writing is weak from what I have seen. I am sure they have had their successes but what I see at the church, most of the alum that go to church there are barely functional adults. They have no tolerance for people that believe different and teach their kids that other religions are sinners. If that is your thing then you will love this church and the school.


Mountain View Baptist School 1

Posted March 28, 2014
- a parent
I was very disappointed in the way the school is run they are very unwilling to work with any child that has special needs. For an organization to claim they are Christian I found them quite the opposite. They want the children to be perfect and not step a toe out of line. Avoid this school at all cost!!! Home school!!!

Mountain View Baptist School 2

Posted July 21, 2011
- a community member
Many of the teachers and staff are extremely thought-controlling and will not tolerate students with different Christian doctrine than them. The discipline is inconsistent, with many cases where the punishment does not fit the crime and kids who are being nasty get away with it. I was a student for several years but had to leave after a year full of such incidents. Your experience there really depends on the teachers, especially in elementary grades. I had one good year there, but the teacher I had is now retired. The food, however, is exquisite. Especially the brownies. Oh, man.

Mountain View Baptist School 5

Posted March 18, 2011
- a parent
This school has a great student-to-teacher ratio. The school truly believes they are part of the village in doing their part to help raise your child. Discipline is strong here and behaviors that are commonplace in public school is not tolerated here. Most importantly, they give a Christian based education. They use the A Beka curriculum. The only mentionable con to the school is a small athletic program (only have basketball & volleyball)....but you can always get your child in athletics within a community league...the Christian based education far outweighs the athletic program.


Mountain View Baptist School 4

Posted June 27, 2005
- a parent
This school gives children a wide variety of choices on activities. The teachers and parents are great!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mountain View Baptist School
5568 Chalkville Mountain Road, Birmingham, AL  35235
(205) 854-2741
Last modified Mountain View Baptist School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Mountain View Baptist School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top