Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Avondale Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 2, 2014

My 3rd school Junior Pastors are Beatrice and Corey Farren First Young Ladies are Hannah and Lauren and Wendy Farren Principals are Mrs. Tanya Farren, Mr. Hubert Lathan, Miss Kendra Blacker, Mr. Lloyd Bowley Asst. Principals are Mr. Rupert Blacker, Mr. Sheridan Farren Sr., Ms. Leslie Lathan, Miss Ellie Harrison, Mrs. Wendie Wesley


Posted September 2, 2013

Great school! The principal and staff are wonderful and they truly care about the kids. I love the new wave of parental involvement and the diversity. Individualized learning means that every child learns at his or her appropriate level at all times. The extra programs like the music, dance and art events are so wonderful and bring us together like a small town community within our metro area. Parents of childrens in Avondale, Crestwood and Forest Park - you are missing out on this great community school if you are choosing private school. Go visit, speak with the teachers, kids, parents and the principal. You won't regret it. And don't forget - free 4k as space allows is another fantastic benefit of Avondale Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2013

Avondale elementary school its a very nice school for the children. This will be my daughter first year of kindergarten, an I think I'm more excited than her. I'm really to get involved in school activities with her
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2013

Others should know that Avondale Elem is dedicated to teaching all races of children in a capable, energetic way in a beautiful environment full of children's art, huge windows that let in light so that all areas of the school are bright and cheerful, an environment suited for happy learning, As a grandparent, I've attended a very impressive end of year school program as well as having observed teachers happily at workencouraging all ages to love to learn!


Posted May 22, 2013

We just finished Kindergarten with our first child and couldn't be happier with her experience. Most importantly, I feel my child is as safe as anywhere when she is at Avondale. Her teacher was wonderful and the principal Dr. Curry takes great pride in making Avondale succeed. We had one small issue with another child and her teacher dealt with that situation immediately and proffesionally. They have a wonderful after school program as well. If parents will take the foundation this school provides and work with their child, they will no doubt succeed. The PTA is growing and the involvement of parents will continue to benefit Avondale. We are moving out of town and are honestly sad to see Avondale go.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2013

Parents I have been a at-home mom for over 10 years and I care very much for my children's well being. I came on greatschools and other websites to see how well they were doing. My advice to you go visit the school for yourself, speak to an administrator and do a tour of the facility. Because many of these good schools are ranked very low because of the district they are in, Avondale for one. Because some of the High Ranked schools didn't have the time or day to speak to a concerned, caring, active parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2012

Our son is in kindergarten at Avondale. DO NOT believe the bad press about this B'ham school! The teachers are great! The PTA is growing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2012

I can't say enough great things about this school. My son started pre-k at Avondale Elementary in the fall, and the quality of his education has exceeded my expectations. He comes home with daily and weekly progress reports and assignments from his teacher. He truly enjoys going to school, and he has many new friends! When you walk through the halls, you will see students engaged with their teachers or working diligently at small learning stations. The walls are filled with current classwork and student artwork. The librarian is warm and helpful. The music teacher is amazing and dedicated. The principal has decades of experience and clearly loves her work. The faculty calls Avondale, "Heaven on the hill." This is a very special school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2012

My son is in Kindergarten at Avondale Elementary and boy do we LOVE it! He has had an amazing introduction to "big kid school". He loves going to school everyday! Avondale is a clean, bright, diverse, positive environment. I was alarmed by the bad press Bham City Schools get but I can tell you the rumors are not true at Avondale. Wonderful staff! Dr. Curry, the principal, truly loves the children and runs a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2012

Don't be alarmed by those test scores! AES, a Title 1 school, has consistently raised its test scores over the last few years. And, as we all know, test scores do not adequately meaare sure the success of a school. Avondale is a safe, nurturing, bright school with passionate faculty who care about the success of their students. There's also been recent energy brought in by a new wave of neighborhood parents. A lot of great things are happening at AES... the kind of things you want your family to be part of. If you don't believe me - walk inside. You'll see why current parents love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2012

We are new to Avondale Elementary so may yet add a 5th star. So far we are very pleased with the school, teachers, principal, and students. There is a lively new PTA group and our child LOVES this school. As a parent of a child with some mild special needs, we have found the Birmingham City Schools Special Ed department along with Avondale Elementary School to be shining jewels of the Birmingham City School System. Even better, unlike with some city schools Special Ed and IEP are carried out right on the Avondale campus. No bussing, etc. and the services can be administered right in class or down the hall with a minimum of missed class time, which is a BIG deal to us. As far as we're concerned- after having looked around quite a bit, we couldn't be happier than we are with Avondale Elementary School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2011

Avondale Elementary is the only school my son has attended that I have been completely happy with from the principal to the cafeteria.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2011

I absolutely am head over heels in love Avondale Elementary. This was our first year in Birmingham & I was truly given the blues about Birmingham City Schools. Let me just say "BELIEVE NONE OF WHAT YOU HEAR, BE A WITNESS"! To my surprizes the Prinicple, Vice Principle, and Counselor were very interactive with the children in all grades. Mrs.Martin (3rd grade) is freaking phenomenal...my childs 3rd grade year was awesome. She gave parents the freedom to come in observe & learn with the children, the things that would be required of the children. We had 18 children in all, every grading period she had at least half the class being represented on "A" or "A/B"Honor Roll. The last report card all 18 students made Honor Roll! I love the outstanding job that Mrs Martin did with the children. She really takes pride in what she has CHOSEN to do...so has her other 3rd teaching cohorts. My child made honor roll everytime...if there is something to be said about Avondale Elementary it is "We expect great thing" and best believe they won't let you down. Parents we have to do our part in our children's educational process, because at Avondale Elementary they sure does theirs!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2009

Avondale does a great job of including parents in the many fine arts aspects of their children's education. I've never had to worry about my children's safety, nor the quality of the education they're receiving. Their teachers communicate very effectively and I'm welcome and included in the educational experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2008

I'm a former student of Avondale and I can say that I had one of the greatest time of my childhood at Avondale School. The teachers were great and the principle at the time was 100% on point.


Posted November 28, 2007

Avondale Elementary School has welcomed my family with open arms with my child being only in kindergarten, the staff has made themselves aware to the children and parents as to what role they play. My child loves her teacher Mrs. Dickson and speaks highly of all the staff at the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2005

I have enjoyed the overall experience at Avondale with my kidS. I feel they need more activities for the kids such as after school art program to enhance their creativity. They also could improve on their special education classes and the way they handle mentally challenged children. This school above all is the best out of the one my kids have gone to in the past.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2005

My kids just statryed this year. but i love it alreay. from the moment you pull up your greeted by such a friendly staff . It makes you feel at ease when you drop your kids off. you know they are in good hands.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2005

Avondale is definately one of the best schools in our area. I really Love Dr.Curry and her staff of teachers. The academic program at Avondale is excellent. Avondale has a very unique and vibrant music program that any student would enjoy. I highly recommend Avondale for your child's academic experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
58%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 93% in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students64%
Female63%
Male65%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant64%
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a

Reading

All Students73%
Female76%
Male69%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant73%
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students63%
Female59%
Male68%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English63%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant63%
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a

Reading

All Students81%
Female86%
Male74%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English81%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant81%
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students79%
Female77%
Male81%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant79%
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a

Reading

All Students78%
Female84%
Male72%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant78%
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
58%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Students75%
Female74%
Male75%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant75%
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 85% 34%
Hispanic 8% 5%
White 4% 58%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 89%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Courtney Nelson
Fax number
  • (205) 231-7139

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4000 8th Ct South
Birmingham, AL 35222
Phone: (205) 231-7130

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

The Altamont School
Birmingham, AL


Alabama Waldorf School
Birmingham, AL




Trinity School
Birmingham, AL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT