Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Martha Gaskins Middle School

Public | 6-9 | 357 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 10, 2013

i have been attending Martha Gaskins since 6 grade- 8 its an OK school. The good thing about the school is that the teachers really want the students to active but its kinda more like they just don't want to see them next year in the same grade but its really that they want them achieve. Well that's pretty all the good thing about the school. The bad thing is that they cant keep up with there promises, a bit to strict about the uniform policy, the students are messy and immature, the food is bad, and the textbooks are messed up. The really fun teachers are all the social studies teachers.


Posted November 25, 2012

Every one I know says that Martha Gaskins Middle School was very very strict. There are many reasons why it is very very strict. Most teachers there are mean. They don't teach well. All they do is give out work. One teacher doesn't even teach at all. But we still get work. Not 1 sheet, not 2 sheets but about 9 sheets. If you don't finish it you have all that to finish for homework.Other teachers just go by favoritism. If they don't like you, you get work. Children make mistakes!! You can at least forgive them! They don't cook the food. They don't even heat it up! The buns and bread is always cold. Every time after I each lunch at that school, my stomache hurts. Some of my school shirts are a little small because I've grown. So the shirt comes out of my pants. I always get into trouble just because of that! They can even send students to detention for not tucking in their shirts!! I have always made good grades my whole life! -- until I got to this school.


Posted November 25, 2012

I hate this school!! The teachers are the bullies! They are mean disrespectful and rude! Im transferring to a diffrent school!


Posted January 25, 2010

This is the bestest school I have ever been to. You don't have to go to a alternative or magnet school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 21, 2009

Last year there was not enough homework issued. I believe that this year will be better, we have a honest class now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2009

I think my school is o.k. At times they're very strict on dress code, behavior and many other things. The only reason i think they do that is for the best of us. I'm in the 8th grade right now and i really don't want to leave.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 23, 2007

I think Martha Gaskins is alright I am in the seventh grade this year. We have lots of homework but I believe that it makes us stronger in our weakest areas. There are few fights up there this year and the 7th grade teachers are mainly focusing on ARMT and the Writing Assessment Test. Our goal would be 100% on AYP this year but overall the teachers are outgoing, helpful, and couraging. Even though this is my last year here I think I would never learn as much as I did at Martha Gaskins Middle School! Go 7th grade teachers!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 29, 2006

I read the comment left by the discouraged parent, and I have to honestly and candidly disagree with her. My child was in the seventh grade this year, and I loved the fact that the teachers took the time to assign homework and review over it with my child. I think the 7th grade teachers are caring, hardworking, and underappreciated. I take time with my child to help her with her homework, and I visit the school regularly. Fights will occur at every school, but I am involved in the life of my child, so that is not an issue for me. Two thumbs up to the teachers at Martha Gaskins!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2005

7Th grade teachers give a lot of homework. leaves me wondering, 'what are they doing in the class room? The school suppose to have a tutoring class, that has not started yet. my child needs this desperately in math. I feel like my child is being left behind in math. There are some teachers talking about the wrong thing such as where they reside and being the second black family in the neighborhood. (who cares) leave the attitudes at home and come teach the kids what needs to be taught. I am really at a point where i am ready to take my child out of the public school system. Biggest thing that go on at this school are fights. I am not pleased at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
32%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students45%
Female49%
Male40%
Black43%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education19%
General population50%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English45%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant45%
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a

Reading

All Students74%
Female78%
Male70%
Black72%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education31%
General population83%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English74%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant74%
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students22%
Female25%
Male20%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible20%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education0%
General population25%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English22%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant22%
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a

Reading

All Students72%
Female80%
Male64%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible71%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education23%
General population79%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English72%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant72%
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students59%
Female63%
Male57%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible62%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education14%
General population65%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English59%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant59%
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a

Reading

All Students63%
Female69%
Male57%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible63%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education14%
General population69%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English63%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant63%
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
22%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Students28%
Female31%
Male24%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible26%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education8%
General population31%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English28%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant28%
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 93% 34%
Hispanic 4% 5%
White 3% 58%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 92%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dr Sherene Carpenter
Fax number
  • (205) 231-9263

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

200 Dalton Dr
Birmingham, AL 35215
Phone: (205) 231-9200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Huffman Middle School
Birmingham, AL



Christian Alt School
Birmingham, AL


Smith Middle School
Birmingham, AL


Banks Middle School
Birmingham, AL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT