Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Hilltop Montessori School

Private | PK-8 | 200 students

Our school is best known for a quality, Montessori education.

 

Living in Birmingham

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $233,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $900.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 18, 2014

Hilltop's success since 1996 speaks for itself. Their campus is comprised of a 3.5 million dollar facility and they are currently planning a Phase Three expansion to complete their campus. Accredited with three different organizations (AdvancED, SAIS and AMS) and established, they offer daily foreign language, technology integration, robotics for upper elementary, art and a thriving music program, that also includes private piano and violin. Beautiful, LEED certified building also fosters a strong environmental education curriculum while at the same time, strong academics have allowed them to graduate 5 National Merit Scholars.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 29, 2012

Hilltop Montessori offers a wonderful early childhood and elementary education. Smaller community of just 190 students allows for individuality and all aspects of the child are addressed, not just the academic. The building is beautiful and we love the emphasis on fine arts, academics, daily foreign language and technology.


Posted August 26, 2011

We have two children at this school and there is no better school in Birmingham. The teachers here truly love the children. My kids come home happy and proud of their accomplishments every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2011

We've had children at Hilltop for eight years, and it's been a really great experience all the way. The kids have felt very close to their teachers, both primary and specialty -- Spanish, art, music, p.e. Parents are encouraged and welcomed to get involved with the PTO or individual classrooms. I especially like that while working their way through each three-year cycle, they gain independence and take on more responsibility. We intend to stay through at least the upper elementary level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2009

I love going to Hilltop! The administrator and staff are very nice and love to be there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 5, 2008

Hilltop has much to be desired in the way of a true Montessori experience. Beautiful building and lots of promises but if you are not already in the establised circle, it is hard to find your place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2007

We're thrilled to be a part of the Hilltop family. Our daughter has attended Hilltop from age 18 months (now 4) and our younger daughter will follow the same track. I was involved with the school as a vendor for 4 years prior to enrolling my daughter so I've seen the school from business, administrative and academic perspectives. The positive social and intellectual growth we've seen are affirmations of a good choice. Tip for prospective parents: start on the enrollment process as early as possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2007

I disagree with the postings on this website regarding the administration and board. The board is comprised of 1/3 parents, 1/3 teachers and 1/3 community members. It is hard to find a school where the parents are provided representation. As parents, we receive weekly (and sometimes bi-weekly) communication from the school. We plan on attending through the fifth grade or sixth grade!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2007

Adminstratively, this school leaves much to be desired. I have addressed many issues ( from a parental standpoint ) and they have been left hanging in the balance unattended by the administrator and the board.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2007

Hilltop is an excellent environment and the epitome of the Montessori method of teaching. My two sons are excited about school every day and truly enjoy spending time with their classmates and teachers. In addition to academics, they are learning how to respect their classmates, take care of themselves and respect the environment. The wonderful new green school is amazing as well - a beautiful and bright place to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2006

Hilltop is great for young children not when they are in 7th or 8th grade. Kids that attend Hilltop after 6th grade will be at a dissavantage when they reach high school because Hilltop is so sheltered and doesn't let kids see the real working world in which we live in.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 31, 2005

I have a child in Pre-K at Hilltop Montessori whom is doing remarkable well with the Montessori-styled teaching. She looks forward to attending classes and enjoys her teachers and classmates. I really appreciate the leadership at the school; the Headmaster is very professional and regards every concern as important. I have nothing but positive thoughts about Hilltop Montessori. I plan to enroll my child every year for the next nine years. I love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2005

I truly found that my child's unique abilities in math and reading were addressed and I loved the diversity in terms of children with different needs, both academic and social. The school also addresses special needs children on a caring but loving individual basis. I found that the Montessori classroom and Hilltop truly embraced all of my child-his academic, social and emotional needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2005

I found Hilltop to be a great school for my children. My son was able to take part in musical ensembles which enhanced his musical abilities. My daughter enjoyed art and computer classes. Both children loved the Spanish classes. Teachers were warm and friendly. I often recommend Hilltop to those who ask.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2004

My family loves Hilltop Montessori, my pre-schooler is learning reading, math, geography, astronomy, and more, all in a loving, safe, and controlled environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2004

I am a grandparent of a student at this school, and I am constantly surprised and delighted at the way the teachers guide the students in learning. I wish the Montessori system had been available to me as a young parent. This school provides a great environment for learning at a child's own pace.


Posted February 24, 2004

I am the father of two children that attend Hilltop. My 9-year-old brings home math homework laced with algebra and trigonometry subjects I did not tackle in public school until 9th or 10th grade! My 4-year-old is reading simple books to me at night. Overall, I am very please with the level of education my children are receiving at Hilltop. It is simple: Hilltop works - Montessori works. Be a good steward of your children s education, and look at Hilltop.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

Hilltop provided an excellent learning environment for our bright, quiet daughter to flourish academically, socially and physically. The staff is dedicated and warmly welcomed our involvement in the classroom and school overall. We originally intended to have our daughter attend for preschool only and stayed on for another couple of years. We were impressed with Hilltop's efforts to make our transition from Montessori to our local public school go as smoothly as possible and feel they truly care about our daughter's well-being. We still return for summer camps!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

Hilltop is a wonderful school. We have been at Hilltop for 3 years and love the teachers. The teachers at this school are very caring. They are willing to go the extra mile with your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

Exceptional! The Hilltop Montessori School is absolutely the best investment I could make for my children. Their curriculum is diverse and the staff is friendly and always very helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 58%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 9% 1%
Hispanic 5% 5%
Black 4% 34%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff American sign language
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
Media arts
  • Graphics
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • American sign language
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 5:45 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Michele Wilensky
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • Infant
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • SAIS/SACS/AMS
Associations
  • AMS
Fax number
  • (205) 437-9344

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • American sign language
  • Spanish
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • National Wildlife Federation
  • Edible SchoolYard Project
  • Legacy, Inc.
  • American Montessori Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • physical education
Girls sports
  • physical education

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
Media arts
  • Graphics

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Boy scouts
  • Chess club
  • Gardening
  • Girl scouts
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Daily Spanish for toddlers through 8th grade, Accredited with AdvancED, SAIS, SACS and associate members of AMS. Emphasis on technology, environmental education & Montessori philosophy.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


8 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
200
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
239

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$3000 - $9000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
No.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Indian Springs School
The Altamont School
Alabama School of Fine Arts
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6 Abbott Square
Birmingham, AL 35242
Website: Click here
Phone: (205) 437-9343

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Oak Mt Middle School
Birmingham, AL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT