Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
200 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
35 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (3 responses)
characters left.
There are 75 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Hilltop Montessori School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 04, 2015
- a parent
It is interesting that the administrator has been with the school since 1998 and many of the teachers have been with the school since its inception. While other private schools change administration and direction, Hilltop continues to excel. The fact that they are doubling their campus from a 3.4 million dollar building, to a seven million dollar facility speaks for itself.

Hilltop Montessori School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted December 04, 2015
- a parent
The Montessori method fosters a strong sense of honesty and fairness in the student, which will last a lifetime. The students in Montessori come out highly motivated, eager to learn and extremely interested in their own education. This allows them to excel at their secondary school, regardless of the challenges they face.


Hilltop Montessori School 5

Posted December 04, 2015
- a parent
Hilltop's success since 1996 speaks for itself. Their campus is comprised of a 3.5 million dollar facility and they are currently building a 3.4 million dollar expansion. Accredited with three different organizations (AdvancED, SAIS and AMS) and established since 1996, they offer daily foreign language, technology integration, robotics for upper elementary, art and a thriving music program, that also includes private piano and violin. Beautiful, LEED certified building also fosters a strong environmental education curriculum while at the same time, strong academics have allowed them to graduate 6 National Merit Scholars.

Hilltop Montessori School 5

Posted November 05, 2015
- a community member
Hilltop Montessori School provides students and families a genuine and unique experience. A sense of peace and calm greets you when you enter the school. Clearly Hilltop has prioritized an environment conducive to learning. Matching the Montessori Method with a special group of teachers, Hilltop succeeds in going above and beyond for their students. I've had the blessing to keep up with the Hilltop Family for 12+ years now, and I can honestly say each visit I am more impressed. The school is a perfect example of what a Montessori school should look like. Hilltop's footprint can be observed across the globe. One of the most outstanding accomplishments of the school has to be the ability to provide each student with a custom experience that enables them to grow in their own way. I would recommend Hilltop Montessori School to anyone who wants their children to experience a truly next level learning environment.

Hilltop Montessori School 5

Posted November 02, 2015
- a parent
Hilltop is truly dedicated to educating the children they serve. The cohesiveness of the staff and the quality of education is truly unparalleled in the Birmingham area. Every child is treated as an individual and respected in their own right. I would recommend this school to anyone. Come and see for yourself! You will be amazed!


Hilltop Montessori School 5

Posted October 23, 2015
- a parent
Both of my children attended Hilltop from the time they were three. My older son graduated last year and transitioned to one of Birmingham's best college prep private high schools. He was very well prepared academically and is on the honor roll for the first quarter. The biggest adjustment has been finding time to do all the extra homework. Sending my kids to Hilltop Montessori for a decade was worth every penny... It's the best decision I ever made with regard to my kids. They genuinely love learning, which is the best possible indicator of future success. I highly recommend Hilltop Montessori from toddler age through middle school.

Hilltop Montessori School 5

Posted October 21, 2015
- a parent
Fabulous teachers, beautiful campus! Highly certified and trained staff. Parents can feel assured curriculum is the best-they are the only school in Alabama with all three accreditations: Advanced, SAIS and AMS.

Hilltop Montessori School 5

Posted October 21, 2015
- a community member
I attended this school up to middle school and it will always have a special place in my heart! I am an honor society member and have excelled in math, science, language and especially in writing. Learning to think for myself has made me the student I am today. I am applying to colleges and finding that I will easily qualify for multiple scholarships-I have HMS to thank!


Hilltop Montessori School 3

Posted October 03, 2015
- a student
Great school through 3rd grade but after that I would not suggest it both my brother and I spent 8+ years at hilltop I finished the upper elementary and my brother finished through lower elementary my younger brother flourished at his new school where I struggled in math and almost every other class, when arriving at my new school I was told that I was so behind they didn't know if they could catch me up and the sad part was my parents were told by hilltop I was ahead of most of the other kids in my class. Great school through 3rd grade but after that your child will fall behind.

Hilltop Montessori School 5

Posted September 28, 2015
- a community member
Amazing education for a variety of learning abilities. State of the art education is about to get even better-the school just broke ground on a 3.4 million dollar expansion. Highly trained teachers and being the only school in Alabama with all three accreditations (SACS, SAIS and AMS) make them a cut above.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hilltop Montessori School
6 Abbott Square, Birmingham, AL  35242
(205) 437-9343
Last modified Hilltop Montessori School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Hilltop Montessori School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 75 reviews. Top