Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Creative Montessori School

Private | PK-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Birmingham

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $187,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $790.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 2, 2014

CMS has continued to provide my children with a true Montessori experience for the last two years and we are excited to have new leadership in place to take the school to the next level. Plans for a Capitol Campaign and all-new facilities is in the works. While the current facilities are not the most beautiful-the tuition is very reasonable, the children have top-notch educational materials and the teachers truly care about their students. It is certainly not traditional-but the method's ability to meet each child's individual needs is brilliant. Its unique method is not one that sends home worksheets every night and constantly "tests" your child's ability to memorize - but it is one that has my 4-year-old understanding math concepts like fractions and multiplication. The outdoor garden (which the children maintain) provides ingredients for their lunch. It makes "work" take on a whole new, refreshing meaning. We always feel like its the best kept secret in Birmingham! (And with a wait list of over 30 for the preschool program-the secret must be getting out!)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2014

My child has always loved school, until this school. He would cry every day that he didn't want to go and that he didn't like the people there. I would pick him up and he would have random scratches on his face, and when I would ask the teacher what happened they would tell me that he must have done it to himself while he was napping, he is 4! I even tried to have a teacher conference where they told me that somehow it was my fault he wasn't doing well there. Bad communication, and bad leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2012

My child has really thrived in this school (upper elementary level). PROS: they teach intellectual curiosity and self-determination. They allow children to progress pretty much at their own pace and work on their own projects but encourage them to help each other at times and have group projects and presentations. They go above and beyond the state curriculum, teaching kids how to learn, study and problem-solve - NOT just facts and figures. I particularly love the goal setting every 2 wks or so. (They set their goals in all areas and then they reflect upon how they met those goals - all this with the guidance and feedback of the teacher.) I feel like it's good preparation for real life! CONS: parent-teacher communication (by phone & email) is really not great, but there are 2 P-T meetings during the year. They tend to over-communicate about events and fundraisers (probably this is coming from parent/community members) and under-communicate when it comes to replying to particular questions or requests. It is not cheap, but it's reasonable as compared to the other area private schools and a far greater value than many.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2011

I have two children in the preschool and couldn't be happier. The teachers are fantastic and unbelievably dedicated to the children. I am amazed at my 5 year old's understanding of math and only wish I could have had this type of education as a child. Most importantly, my children are developing a love of learning in an environment rich in diversity. They love to independently work through the lessons. I highly recommend this school to anyone looking for an excellent Montessori education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2011

This school has gone downhill over the years. The school is clearly struggling while surrounding schools flourish and expand. Their parent communication is legendarily bad. Their facilities are decapitated with kids walking by dying roaches. They clearly need new leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

The teachers and the ciriculum. Both outstanding!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Low teacher-student radio. Individualized instruction. Students work at their own pace. Wonderful, dedicated teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

The teachers and cirruculum are great and the children enjoy learning


Posted September 17, 2009

The teachers! They make it so fun to lean. Both of my children love to go to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Talented and empathetic teachers make this an amazing place for my son to grow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Creative Montessori is an amazing private school with very dedicated and hardworking staff. Previous to starting Creative Montessori, my child had never been to any type of daycare, nursery, or school setting, and the staff at Creative Montessori have been wonderful at helping her not only adjust but thrive. She loves going to school and looks forward to it each morning. The children learn responsibility, a variety of skills, French, and the staff stresses respect of others and the environment. The students work at their own pace, and the teachers contexualize the learning process. The classroom is an organized and clean space that welcomes and encourages the students to engage. Everything is hands-on, and we are very proud and pleased to have our child attend CMS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

I love Creative Monterossi School because they are doing such a great job educating my grandchildren.


Posted June 29, 2006

Creative Montessori School is what Maria Montessori had in mind when she defined the ultimate learning environment. While the building is far from new, the teachers and other staff members love and nuture the children like they are their own. The spirit of the child is respected at all times, encouraging mature, motivated and independent graduates. My child loves going to school here, she adores her teachers and feels that she is part of an academic family! I love it when other parents comment on how happy (and intelligent) my child is. This school is one of the finest private schools Birmingham has to offer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2006

The teachers are not open parental suggestions. Children with learning problems may not find what they need. Behavioral probelems are also a problem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2005

I have three children with a Creative Montessori education. Creative Montessori is a wonderful place for children to experience childhood to its fullest and achieve their academic potential. They are free to learn, encouraged to explore, stimulated without being over-stressed, and allowed to be kids without apology. Homework is mostly in the form of long-range projects and rarely interrupts the flow of life after school. My oldest is now a freshman in high school; neither he nor his sister in seventh grade has suffered academically for not having had several hours of homework each night of their elementary school years. I am thankful that my children have been able to love learning and life at the same time in the Montessori environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2005

This is a wonderful school! My son is graduating this year after 5 years here at the school. The Montessori method is a wonderful way to teach children and allow them to be themselves. They learn better and the teachers actually care about what happens to the children. Each teacher takes time with the students. I wish my son could stay there till he graduates. Check out there site at http://www.creative-montessori.net
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 56% 58%
Black 28% 34%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 9% 1%
Two or more races 5% 1%
Hispanic 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1650 28th Court South
Birmingham, AL 35209
Phone: (205) 879-3278

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Our Lady Of Sorrows
Birmingham, AL







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT