Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Going Elementary School-Magnet 1

Posted April 12, 2011
- a parent
My son has been great student at private schools. Going focus on failure and dwell on not helping. I feel my child doesnt like his school nor his teacher. He complains that she focuses on suspending the students. And want let them show they are talented. I can say you that " you get what you pay for". This school and their progress is the worst. No professionalism and the principal is never there.

Going Elementary School-Magnet 5

Posted March 21, 2010
- a parent
I am a parent of three sons at going elem and will have a fourth there next year. I enjoy this school and Im very pleased with It. All my boys are on the Honor roll each time. Cant wait till the New school Opens in December.


Going Elementary School-Magnet
no rating

Posted March 21, 2010
- a parent
I am a parent of a boy, and have read the issues concerning parents about the way that the principal and teachers respond to the parents. I recently had concerns about my childs grades and decided to follow up with the teachers about it. The principal as well as the teachers became offended when I approached them about the matter and said that my son had discpline problems. I am fed up with this school. I have been mistreated as a parent, therefore let's me know that my son is also being mistreated. I will not allow my child to attend this school next year, I would recommend each parent who reads this if your child isn't receiving passing grades, or you are constantly getting calls for minor problems further investigate the issue and see how the principal and teachers react.

Going Elementary School-Magnet 1

Posted May 01, 2009
- a parent
This is not an excellent school. I have two children attending this school. The boys and girls are treated so differently. The teachers focus more on trying to label the children with behavioral issues. My son attending another school before attending Going and had no issues. Every since attending Going there has been problem after promblem. The teachers are not very well at speaking with the children. The teachers behave more like children. The principal is the leader of the entire mess. Don't send your child here if you can avoid it.

Going Elementary School-Magnet 5

Posted April 24, 2009
- a parent
Going Elementary School is a great schools. The faculty and staff are dedicated and work extemely hard to meet the needs of the boys and girls. The Principal has high expectations for all of the students and expects nothing but the best. She along with the teachers care about the boys and girls. I would recommend Going Elementary to anyone


Going Elementary School-Magnet 4

Posted April 24, 2009
- a parent
I love this school. The principal and teachers are great.

Going Elementary School-Magnet 2

Posted January 23, 2009
- a parent
I have children who attend this school and it is not the best in Birmingham. It lacks creativity in its approach in teaching the children. The principal seems to micro manage teachers and tries to micro manage parents. Teaching the test seems to be top priority. The same assignments are given every year. For example, if you have a child in the second and third grade your second grader will have the same assignments and projects your third grader had the previous year. There is no extracurricular activity for the children. The principal and some teachers yell too much at children. There is a lack of respect for the parents by the principal. The principal gets angry if you have any concerns or question anything that happens there.

Going Elementary School-Magnet
no rating

Posted August 31, 2008
- a parent
My son is in Second Grade there and the school has not impressed me or my child. He does not like going there to much yelling at the children


Going Elementary School-Magnet
no rating

Posted May 29, 2008
- a parent
Goings is ok the school it self is old and not very accomadating.

Going Elementary School-Magnet 5

Posted March 07, 2007
- a parent
'I think Going School is a great school. My daughter has attended Going for the past three years and the learning experience has exceeded my expectations. The teachers, principal, and staff are on one accord when it comes to the education, discipline and well being of our children. My hat goes off to the staff at Going for such a great job! A.L. Cook, Exceptionally Proud Going Parent

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Going Elementary School-Magnet
1015 North Martinwood Dr, Birmingham, AL  35235
(205) 231-5310
Last modified Going Elementary School-Magnet is a Public school that serves grades K-5
Going Elementary School-Magnet Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top