Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Birmingham, AL
Students enrolled: 204

4 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


19 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Joseph S Bruno Montessori Academy 5

Posted November 22, 2013
- a community member
A child-centered school with a Montessori-based physical plant, wonderful teachers, engaged students, and an exciting plan for the future.

Joseph S Bruno Montessori Academy 5

Posted November 08, 2013
- a parent
The administration has changed. The head of school retired and there is a new head who is absolutely wonderful!!!


Joseph S Bruno Montessori Academy 5

Posted December 18, 2012
- a parent
We have been at this school for six years and are very pleased with the education our children have received. The teachers are highly educated (most with master's degrees and Montessori training) and take special interest in the children. Parent-teacher communication is exceptional here because the teachers not only communicate academic progress but they are also concerned about the development of the whole child. Lessons are given to the students in small groups or one on one and are only presented once the child is ready to be successful at the new concept. Children are allowed to learn at their own pace giving them the opportunity for the repetition of concepts leading to mastery of the subject material. A large number of the students who graduate from this program are accepted to the top private schools in the state. The campus and classrooms are beautiful. The learning environment as a whole exudes peace and inspires a joy for learning that is evident if you observe the children enrolled there.

Joseph S Bruno Montessori Academy 5

Posted December 11, 2012
- a community member
This school is amazing! I am a fifth grader there. I have gone ther for three years and absolutely love it. When I first got there all the teachers and students were very nice and helped me get used to the new ways of learning, I feel like I am learning a lot more and am a lot smarter since I have been here.

Joseph S Bruno Montessori Academy 5

Posted December 11, 2012
- a community member
All you haters are wrong this is a great school I am a fifth grader there i have been going there seven years and it is great. Everyone learns at there own pace so if you get confused a teacher will sit down with you and help you with it. There are many extracurricular activities at this school. We even have a robotics team that is one of the best teams in the state. Students can participate in school plays and musicals. We have music, art, library, and drama classes. Overall it is a great school.


Joseph S Bruno Montessori Academy 1

Posted November 04, 2012
- a parent
Like a previous reviewer, we have received near daily phone calls from the administration. Early on, the administrator insisted we get a pyschological evaluation for our 4 year old. When the findings did not meet her expectations, she demanded a second opinion. The experience has been unexpectedly stressful, and this is our first and last year at the school. We plan to cut our losses and not return after the winter break.

Joseph S Bruno Montessori Academy 1

Posted October 11, 2012
- a parent
We would not recommend this school to anyone. The administration at this school is unprofessional. We enrolled our child in the preschool and were called within the first hour of the first day to collect our child because our child didn't adjust to the Montessori method instantly (it was new to our child). On the second and third day, we received a similar call by lunch. We received daily phone calls with complaints like "your child played with a stick" (why was a stick available?), or "your child works better one on one" (don't they all?) or "your child pretended a box was an airplane"(the teacher confirmed the assignment had been completed prior to the imaginative play). We removed our child in the sixth week of school because our child had yet to complete a full day. The staff continually removed him from the classroom rather than working with our child (placing our child in the workroom between the classrooms). The school staff never helped our child adjust to the school, they simply excluded our child. We regret leaving our child in the school as long as we did. Be aware tuition is non-refundable under any circumstance before you sign the contract with this school.

Joseph S Bruno Montessori Academy 1

Posted February 18, 2012
- a parent
We also had horrible issues with the administration at this school. It is a beautiful campus and the teachers we dealt with, all of which have also now left the school, were wonderful, but the administration is severely judgmental, non-cooperative, and lacks all professionalism. Extremely disappointing for a Montessori Academy. We expected so much more.


Joseph S Bruno Montessori Academy 4

Posted February 04, 2012
- a parent
This is a wonderful school especially if you can start your children out in the preschool. The staff is dedicated. If you are a veteran of Montessori, this is your place. If you're thinking of Montessori, read more about it and then come here. I have 3 children at this school and couldn't be happier nor could they.

Joseph S Bruno Montessori Academy 1

Posted January 18, 2012
- a parent
I do not recommend this school to anyone because of the administration. When visiting, she assured us that she could work with our child and meet their needs. Once enrolled, it was the exact opposite. Afterwards, she was unprofessional and made rude comments about our child. We have learned that other parents have removed their children from the school and teachers have left because of the administrator and her actions. I believe this school will become a better institution once a change in administration has taken place.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Joseph S Bruno Montessori Academy
5509 Timber Hill Road, Birmingham, AL  35242
(205) 995-8709
Last modified Joseph S Bruno Montessori Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Joseph S Bruno Montessori Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top