Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Alabama School of Fine Arts

Public | 7-12

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 10, 2013

My family moved here to Bham for employment- WE FEEL So BLESSED to have our daughter go to such an amazing school. Just like the other reviews when you walk into the school you feel like you step into the U.N. which is AWESOME. Also the The level of Excellence and Expectation of the student is so high it has been so amazing to see how much my daughter has florished and has become so discipline. I didnt know she had in her. It great to see my child do high school and be so Happy about school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2011

This year is my first year at the Alabama School of Fine Arts and I absolutely love it. Everyone is very diverse and nice, for the most part. If someone is mean to you at ASFA, they're usually joking around. The only thing I think is wrong with the school is how narrow the hallways are and the huge poles in the smack middle of the hallways. I think that's a bit unnecessary.


Posted October 13, 2010

I love the Alabama School of Fine Arts because it makes it possible for kids to explore their own possibilities and encourages personal growth. The school helps kids to develope their own opinions and creative genius.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2010

i hate it..ive been there 5 years and everything that the community hears is not at all how it is at all! ASFA is going into a great downfall and i dont want tot be there to witness it.. sorry
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 10, 2009

Alabama's School of Fine Arts is an institution that nurtures every of its individuals desires in such a fashion that they're happy with who they are and strive for the best that they can be. A sort of a characteristic that is very rarely focused on by any school that I've ever seen or heard of.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 21, 2009

Wonderful school! Great Teachers and Staff who are sincerely interested in the success of each student. All schools should be like this one!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2009

This would be my first year this year going to the school and i absolutely love it. The atmosphere and the student body is so diverse. The deptartments (Creatv. Writing, Dance, Math and Science, Music,Theatre Arts, and Visual Arts) flourish in their own way. I, a Theatre Major, love the experience. It makes you diverse in everyway of theatre as well as artist. We can take classes from any of the other departments. The college prep is phenemonal we have alumni at Harvard, Juilliard, and Yale. As well as other school around the U.S! It is a very intimate number of students so chances of learning are more effective. And all students have the chance to become well rounded students. The school is an audition only admission so each and every students has the desire and Passion to do what they love. Future students should love what they do.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 19, 2008

Big Time Math and Science academics! We moved my son into this school after being at Clay-Chalkville Middle. ASAFA is both a middle and High school so there was little trauma transitioning into the High school portion. He majored in Math and science which was very challenging for this A student. He learned to work hard and study more then he ever had to do at the usual public school, and best of all he fit in since the school was so diverse. A lot more student free choices since the school is exstremly competive to get into, so kids who are there want to be there and less silly rules are imposed like the typical public school. Most of all my son learned the importance of his academic goals and where this will lead in conjunction with his real life choices to come. We highly recommend this school ! Especially for the 'Nerd'!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2008

This is an outstanding Alabama State (not local) specialty school. If you want your child to get a proper education--the kind all schools should give--this is it. Don't be fooled, though. It is a specialty school requiring auditions & unusual ability in an artistic (music, dance, visual, theater, etc) or science-math area. Kids must be able & self-driven to keep up with the fast pace. My child's day is 8AM-4:30PM every-day, and then she works on projects at home until 10-11PM most days, and on the weekends. [Like a job or college.] Why? Because she loves her specialty, and strives to meet every challenge. The student body is eccentric (as is some of the teaching staff) & diverse due to the school's purpose. Consistently rated a top specialty school in the US, this is the best it gets in Alabama. [submitted as a parent, former teacher/ administrator, and University instructor].
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2007

This is and wonderful school and I recommend this school to parent whose children are interested in performing arts or crative arts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2007

I love it! I m happy, I m going to this school!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1800 8th Ave North
Birmingham, AL 35203
Website: Click here
Phone: (205) 252-9241

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Phillips Academy
Birmingham, AL




Family Sunshine School
Birmingham, AL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT