Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

5 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Alabama School Of Fine Arts 5

Posted January 10, 2013
- a parent
My family moved here to Bham for employment- WE FEEL So BLESSED to have our daughter go to such an amazing school. Just like the other reviews when you walk into the school you feel like you step into the U.N. which is AWESOME. Also the The level of Excellence and Expectation of the student is so high it has been so amazing to see how much my daughter has florished and has become so discipline. I didnt know she had in her. It great to see my child do high school and be so Happy about school.

Alabama School Of Fine Arts 5

Posted November 05, 2011
- a community member
This year is my first year at the Alabama School of Fine Arts and I absolutely love it. Everyone is very diverse and nice, for the most part. If someone is mean to you at ASFA, they're usually joking around. The only thing I think is wrong with the school is how narrow the hallways are and the huge poles in the smack middle of the hallways. I think that's a bit unnecessary.


Alabama School Of Fine Arts 0
no rating

Posted October 13, 2010
- a parent
I love the Alabama School of Fine Arts because it makes it possible for kids to explore their own possibilities and encourages personal growth. The school helps kids to develope their own opinions and creative genius.

Alabama School Of Fine Arts 0
no rating

Posted March 03, 2010
- a student
i hate it..ive been there 5 years and everything that the community hears is not at all how it is at all! ASFA is going into a great downfall and i dont want tot be there to witness it.. sorry

Alabama School Of Fine Arts 0
no rating

Posted October 10, 2009
- a student
Alabama's School of Fine Arts is an institution that nurtures every of its individuals desires in such a fashion that they're happy with who they are and strive for the best that they can be. A sort of a characteristic that is very rarely focused on by any school that I've ever seen or heard of.


Alabama School Of Fine Arts 0
no rating

Posted September 21, 2009
- a parent
Wonderful school! Great Teachers and Staff who are sincerely interested in the success of each student. All schools should be like this one!

Alabama School Of Fine Arts 5

Posted August 22, 2009
- a student
This would be my first year this year going to the school and i absolutely love it. The atmosphere and the student body is so diverse. The deptartments (Creatv. Writing, Dance, Math and Science, Music,Theatre Arts, and Visual Arts) flourish in their own way. I, a Theatre Major, love the experience. It makes you diverse in everyway of theatre as well as artist. We can take classes from any of the other departments. The college prep is phenemonal we have alumni at Harvard, Juilliard, and Yale. As well as other school around the U.S! It is a very intimate number of students so chances of learning are more effective. And all students have the chance to become well rounded students. The school is an audition only admission so each and every students has the desire and Passion to do what they love. Future students should love what they do.

Alabama School Of Fine Arts 5

Posted December 19, 2008
- a parent
Big Time Math and Science academics! We moved my son into this school after being at Clay-Chalkville Middle. ASAFA is both a middle and High school so there was little trauma transitioning into the High school portion. He majored in Math and science which was very challenging for this A student. He learned to work hard and study more then he ever had to do at the usual public school, and best of all he fit in since the school was so diverse. A lot more student free choices since the school is exstremly competive to get into, so kids who are there want to be there and less silly rules are imposed like the typical public school. Most of all my son learned the importance of his academic goals and where this will lead in conjunction with his real life choices to come. We highly recommend this school ! Especially for the 'Nerd'!


Alabama School Of Fine Arts 5

Posted February 01, 2008
- a parent
This is an outstanding Alabama State (not local) specialty school. If you want your child to get a proper education--the kind all schools should give--this is it. Don't be fooled, though. It is a specialty school requiring auditions & unusual ability in an artistic (music, dance, visual, theater, etc) or science-math area. Kids must be able & self-driven to keep up with the fast pace. My child's day is 8AM-4:30PM every-day, and then she works on projects at home until 10-11PM most days, and on the weekends. [Like a job or college.] Why? Because she loves her specialty, and strives to meet every challenge. The student body is eccentric (as is some of the teaching staff) & diverse due to the school's purpose. Consistently rated a top specialty school in the US, this is the best it gets in Alabama. [submitted as a parent, former teacher/ administrator, and University instructor].

Alabama School Of Fine Arts 5

Posted December 28, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Alabama School Of Fine Arts
1800 8th Ave North, Birmingham, AL  35203
(205) 252-9241
Last modified Alabama School Of Fine Arts is a Public school that serves grades 7-12
Alabama School Of Fine Arts Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top