Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Lewis Elementary School 1

Posted December 04, 2014
- a parent
I wouldnt dare recommend sending my child or anyone else's to this school I'm withdrawing my children immediately. The principal and some of the teachers I won't name likes to get in your business by interrogating your children.

Lewis Elementary School 4

Posted August 13, 2013
- a parent
The school is okay but could be more creative with their learning process. The cafeteria food also needs approving. They could use more teaching materials and more activities for the kids to get involved in.


Lewis Elementary School 5

Posted July 08, 2012
- a parent
The teachers in grades PreK- 2nd are extremely dedicated to the students in their classes.

Lewis Elementary School 2

Posted June 05, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Lewis Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted January 13, 2006
- a staff
While walking by a 2nd grade class I listened to [hopefully a visiting] teacher railing loudly at the kids about reading. What was also sad is that she was using poor grammar! I was afraid of her myself and kids can't learn in fear. There is no freedom in fear. Praise and encouragement and really caring for the kids. That's what they respond to.


Lewis Elementary School 4

Posted November 01, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Lewis Elementary School 2

Posted April 13, 2005
- a parent
The school has a new principal this year and this is her first year interacting with elementary level students. Very little parent involvement and 5th grade discipline problems is still an issue at the school. There aren't many program for K - 2 graders that can help with reading and math skills. The programs mostly target the 3rd - 5th graders. I feel they need more program to help students before they get in the 3rd grade. This may improve reading and math scores.

Lewis Elementary School 5

Posted February 26, 2005
- a former student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lewis Elementary School
2015 26th Ave North, Birmingham, AL  35234
(205) 231-3440
Last modified Lewis Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Lewis Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top