Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
28 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 40 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Phillips Academy
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted January 29, 2016
- a parent
Classes in middle school are packed to the gills (34 students). Bullying is common. For average or weaker teachers this is beyond difficult to deal with. Most teachers are average or below at this school in my experience. Admin dismisses parent concerns. Very disappointed.

Phillips Academy 2

Posted January 29, 2016
- a parent
Lots of bullying, assignments never returned/graded, kids frequently get injured in PE, admin dismisses parent concerns. Difficult to get callback from certain teachers and admin staff. If this is the best Birmingham city schools have to offer, we are doing a worse disservice to our kids than I imagined.


Phillips Academy
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted August 18, 2015
- a parent
Neither the teachers nor do the Principle and Assistant Principle practice any of these things!!!

Phillips Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted June 01, 2015
- a parent
I should have home schooled this year. The school is now very unorganized and slothful. The teachers have truly wasted our kids time and stolen they zeal for learning. There were more substitute teachers used this year than other years and its because there was a disconnect between the teachers and the new principal. He is not the best fit for this school.

Phillips Academy 1

Posted May 31, 2015
- a parent
No orginazation. Teachers were often heard yelling at 4 and 5 year olds in a very threatening manner. Would not recommend this school at all. Principal often defended teachers even when they were wrong.


Phillips Academy 5

Posted August 06, 2014
- a parent
We've moved several times so my kids have attended 3 different elementary schools, so far J. H. Phillips has been the best experience of all three. The teachers are prepared to teach. There is a learning strategic plan in place so that you know as a parent what to expect when it comes to learning goals. The leadership is exceptional. I believe parent involvement is essential because parent involvement prevents behavioral problems. The school has high expectations for the kids and higher expectations for the parents. There is also stability in the leadership and teaching staff. The focus remains teaching and learning.

Phillips Academy 5

Posted March 02, 2014
- a community member
Phillips is an awesome school.It has good teachers and well behaved students.It is just like a normal school except you have to take a test to get in.The school has a lot of extra curriculars.Some examples would be a foreign language or sports even chess.They have a lot of clubs to.All in all this is an awesome school that is the ideal place for your child to be.

Phillips Academy 5

Posted October 16, 2013
- a parent
Phillips Academy has really impressed me, and I am not easily impressed. Everything this school does (from football games to PTA functions) is done with Excellence. I am honored that my son was accepted to attend this institution.


Phillips Academy 5

Posted October 14, 2013
- a parent
es una muy Buena escuela me siento muy contenta de pertenecer a la familia de Phillips academy el director una exelente persona cuida sus alumnos su escuela mis dos hijas estuvieron con Miss Dunbar exelente maestra les ensena el repeto hacia los demas realmente les ensena a ser Buenos ninos y tener Buenos modales

Phillips Academy 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
The best and the brightest, excelling above and beyond the normal call of duty, very high standards. Proud to be a part of the Phillips Academy Family!!!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Phillips Academy
2316 7th Ave North, Birmingham, AL  35203
(205) 231-9500
Last modified Phillips Academy is a Public school that serves grades PK-9. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Phillips Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 40 reviews. Top