Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Jackson-Olin High School

Public | 8-12 | 1167 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 21, 2009

I attended JO and it has its pros and cons. The good things about JO is that they allow for those students that want to learn learn but they really need to seperater those students who don't care bout their education. the bad thing is that they pay too close attention to our uniforms and belts and shoes rather than our learning ablilties. they also should give us a little more time to move from one room to antoher because JO is just too crowded for a 5 minute pass
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 27, 2009

I attended jackson olin high and I belive that while it does have many problems, and maybe even the most strict principal in history, it was a great place to learn. Some the teacher need to leave because their atttitudes aren't conducive to learning.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 19, 2008

i am a ninth grader at the school and my experience there so far have been horrible. the hallways are rowdy and the kids are rude and disrespectful.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 23, 2008

J.O is turning better for the 08-09 school year. Let's hope they keep it up.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 9, 2008

Jackson- Olin is a school that worries too much about uniforms rather than the education of the students. They are always finding a way to suspend students. If they worry about the education of the students, like they worry about the uniforms, the school would be a great school. That's why I am not attending Jackson-Olin anymore. That school is really messing up my highschool experience. The whole Birmingham City School system needs alot of work. Thats why everyone is being taken out.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 17, 2008

You are so very right i am a student and i feel as if the teacher and principals spend so much time worring about what we have on than what we are learning
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 5, 2007

I'm hopeful that the reviews, mostly advantageous, somehow promise to me. My daughter just started 9th grade, moved from FL, living w/ dad for now, and the best thing I've read is-16 children per class! Wow!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2007

Although it was stated that Jackson Olin worries about uniforms, it is all about discipline, control, and safety. There should be no concern for the strict enforcement of uniforms; the concern should be based on the quality of education our kids are receiving. Both of my sons have attended Jackson Olin, one of my sons has graduated and the other one is in the 12th grade. I think Jackson Olin has done a great job in educating both of my children. They value their children and they have a lot of teachers that care-quality of education is great. They have a zero tolerance for nonsense. They have great extra curricular activities for kids to participate, along with an honors club. Great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2007

this school is unorganized and they are to strict on the uniforms they suspend the students for uneccessary reasons. the teacher are more worried about our uniforms than teaching the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2006

I am a parent and a former student of Jackson-olin. From my experience as a parent, I have met only one teacher there who I did not approve of, but most of the teachers at Jackson-Olin truly care about the students' success. We are looking forward to the new school, new staff and some of the old staff as well, and we are all looking forward to new beginnings. All eyes are upon us at this turning point in our school's continuing legacy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2004

I am a 1995 graduate of Jackson-Olin High school and I can say that Jackson-Olin has had its share of great teachers....and bad, but overall it is a great school. I am glad that they will be receiving an overdue new facility. A big ups to a very supportive Alumni.....especially Mr. Joe Black.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 4, 2003

This school has come a long way since I was a student here. The teaching staff has been very effective with my son.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 95% in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
80%
Language

The state average for Language was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
56%
Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
68%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
53%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 98% in 2013.

2013

 
 
1%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
89%
Language

The state average for Language was 91% in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 95% in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 94% in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
89%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

All Students85%
Female87%
Male81%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible84%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education33%
General population90%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant85%
Poverty84%
Not poverty86%

Language

All Students58%
Female63%
Male51%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible58%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education5%
General population63%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant58%
Poverty58%
Not poverty57%

Math

All Students73%
Female74%
Male71%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible72%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education14%
General population79%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant73%
Poverty72%
Not poverty76%

Reading

All Students72%
Female74%
Male68%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible71%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education5%
General population79%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant72%
Poverty72%
Not poverty70%

Social Studies

All Students53%
Female55%
Male51%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible53%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special education10%
General population58%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant53%
Poverty53%
Not poverty55%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

All Students1%
Female96%
Male2%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible1%
Reduced lunch eligible100%
Special education88%
General population2%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant1%
Poverty2%
Not poverty0%

Language

All Students76%
Female82%
Male70%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible76%
Reduced lunch eligible92%
Special education32%
General population82%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant76%
Poverty77%
Not poverty71%

Math

All Students88%
Female90%
Male85%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible89%
Reduced lunch eligible92%
Special education68%
General population91%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant88%
Poverty89%
Not poverty76%

Reading

All Students90%
Female89%
Male92%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible90%
Reduced lunch eligible0%
Special education72%
General population92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant90%
Poverty91%
Not poverty82%

Social Studies

All Students71%
Female72%
Male71%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible71%
Reduced lunch eligible77%
Special education32%
General population76%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant71%
Poverty71%
Not poverty71%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 99% 34%
Hispanic 1% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
White 0% 58%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 92%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr Anthony L Gardner
Fax number
  • (205) 231-6506

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Music room
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

510 12th St
Birmingham, AL 35218
Phone: (205) 231-6431

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ensley High Alt Center
Birmingham, AL


Olin Voc School
Ensley, AL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT