Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Jackson-Olin High School
no rating

Posted November 21, 2009
- a student
I attended JO and it has its pros and cons. The good things about JO is that they allow for those students that want to learn learn but they really need to seperater those students who don't care bout their education. the bad thing is that they pay too close attention to our uniforms and belts and shoes rather than our learning ablilties. they also should give us a little more time to move from one room to antoher because JO is just too crowded for a 5 minute pass

Jackson-Olin High School 3

Posted August 27, 2009
- a student
I attended jackson olin high and I belive that while it does have many problems, and maybe even the most strict principal in history, it was a great place to learn. Some the teacher need to leave because their atttitudes aren't conducive to learning.


Jackson-Olin High School
no rating

Posted November 19, 2008
- a student
i am a ninth grader at the school and my experience there so far have been horrible. the hallways are rowdy and the kids are rude and disrespectful.

Jackson-Olin High School 5

Posted August 23, 2008
- a student
J.O is turning better for the 08-09 school year. Let's hope they keep it up.

Jackson-Olin High School
no rating

Posted July 09, 2008
- a student
Jackson- Olin is a school that worries too much about uniforms rather than the education of the students. They are always finding a way to suspend students. If they worry about the education of the students, like they worry about the uniforms, the school would be a great school. That's why I am not attending Jackson-Olin anymore. That school is really messing up my highschool experience. The whole Birmingham City School system needs alot of work. Thats why everyone is being taken out.


Jackson-Olin High School
no rating

Posted May 17, 2008
- a student
You are so very right i am a student and i feel as if the teacher and principals spend so much time worring about what we have on than what we are learning

Jackson-Olin High School
no rating

Posted November 05, 2007
- a parent
I'm hopeful that the reviews, mostly advantageous, somehow promise to me. My daughter just started 9th grade, moved from FL, living w/ dad for now, and the best thing I've read is-16 children per class! Wow!

Jackson-Olin High School 4

Posted October 10, 2007
- a parent
Although it was stated that Jackson Olin worries about uniforms, it is all about discipline, control, and safety. There should be no concern for the strict enforcement of uniforms; the concern should be based on the quality of education our kids are receiving. Both of my sons have attended Jackson Olin, one of my sons has graduated and the other one is in the 12th grade. I think Jackson Olin has done a great job in educating both of my children. They value their children and they have a lot of teachers that care-quality of education is great. They have a zero tolerance for nonsense. They have great extra curricular activities for kids to participate, along with an honors club. Great school.


Jackson-Olin High School 1

Posted September 27, 2007
- a parent
this school is unorganized and they are to strict on the uniforms they suspend the students for uneccessary reasons. the teacher are more worried about our uniforms than teaching the students.

Jackson-Olin High School 4

Posted April 12, 2006
- a parent
I am a parent and a former student of Jackson-olin. From my experience as a parent, I have met only one teacher there who I did not approve of, but most of the teachers at Jackson-Olin truly care about the students' success. We are looking forward to the new school, new staff and some of the old staff as well, and we are all looking forward to new beginnings. All eyes are upon us at this turning point in our school's continuing legacy.

Nearby schools

Jackson-Olin High School
510 12th St, Birmingham, AL  35218
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. (205) 231-6431
Last modified Jackson-Olin High School is a Public school that serves grades 8-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top