Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
7 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 16 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


We Putnam Middle School-Magnet 1

Posted July 15, 2016
- a community member
Teachers belittle middle school kids in front of other kids, no returned calls or emails from teachers. Most disappointing from an IB school. Will be surprised if they can keep that designation unless they get a whole new admin and faculty. I started homeschooling instead. Easier to deal with than this school.

We Putnam Middle School-Magnet
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted July 12, 2016
- a community member
Ms. Pettus ,tell her students everyday I believe in you but you must believe in yourself first. She also tell her students that they are somebody and they must act like they are somebody at all times.


We Putnam Middle School-Magnet 2

Posted May 27, 2016
- a parent
All Birmingham City Schools as a whole have a problem with discipline. How can my child have to sit in class with someone who brung weed to school. They have good teachers that care, but I never see proof of grades. Its just sad. The principle is doing all she can, but the parents are to blame as well as keeping problems in the school.

We Putnam Middle School-Magnet 1

Posted April 29, 2012
- a community member
this school is so sad, the kids don't want to learn,the teachers can't teach for yelling the whole class period. i see kids just given grades so they pass and get the hell out. this school is the true example of No Child Left Behind. kids don't have to learn and it shows. also the in the 6th grade are working on fourth grade work. shame

We Putnam Middle School-Magnet 1

Posted October 22, 2010
- a parent
The school gets no stars from me. Why? It is embarrassing to see how the kid s morale is, as if there is no home parenting, or no foundation at all. For instance just sit in the hallways and listen to some of the ongoing conversations that the students are having, they will scare you. Every time I come to the school there would be at least two to three fights that day. It s not just the kids and parents, I blame the teachers too. The students that want to succeed, to learn, really there for an education report the problems that they are having to the teachers and nothing is being done about it. So where is the teachers morale, and discipline?


We Putnam Middle School-Magnet 2

Posted March 30, 2010
- a parent
I agree with the student regarding Putnam not being a 5 star school. it is embarrassing to see how the kid's morale is. Kids are leaving class when allowed. I know alot is parent's responsibility...but I think more in the face discipline is needed. These kids wear uniforms and are still 'concerned' about the latest fashion. This school is failing. My daughter is not excelling at her potential. i am scared.

We Putnam Middle School-Magnet
no rating

Posted March 29, 2010
- a student
Putnam middle school is not a 5 star school in fact i have proof, just go to the school. Putnam is one of the top failing schools in the city of birmingham. The have gotten o new principal, but it does not seem to be any better!

We Putnam Middle School-Magnet 5

Posted June 05, 2008
- a student
geratest school ever attended you know!!!!shayshay

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

We Putnam Middle School-Magnet
1757 Montclair Rd, Birmingham, AL  35210
Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. (205) 231-8680
Last modified We Putnam Middle School-Magnet is a Public school that serves grades 6-9. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top