Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Wenonah High School

Public | 8-12 | 850 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 1, 2009

Wenonah is by far the best high school period. true enough we have a few bad apples here and there. but who doesn't??? don't put down a school before you know what's really going on inside of it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2008

Its the greatest school ever!!!! The Principle and the teachers are wonderful!! Miss Hunter has the school on task!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2008

I love the school and the principle Regina Hunter, and the new building is beautiful!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 31, 2008

we have alot of fun ar whs its cool
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 9, 2008

I attended Wenonah High and graduated with the class of 1990. We had very good teachers at the time that I attended there however, I can not say the same about the teachers that are there now. They are younger and do not care if the students learn or not. A great deal of them appear to be there only for a pay check. Yes, the new school is pretty but, pretty does not prepare our children for the real world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2007

I love Wenonah we have a good principle Ms. Regina Hunter.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 12, 2006

Wenonah is the Best school to send your children to. Both of my parents, aunts/uncles,and my sisters all went to Wenonah. The music program is one of the best in the city, and the core curriculum is not hard it just makes you as a student apply yourself. Overall I give Wenonah a Great rating.In my experience I had a wonderful time learning and growing with peers. When my son arrives early next year he will surely be going to Wenonah.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 3, 2005

I am a current student at Wenonah High School, and if I could choose to go to a different school, I would. Wenonah High School is the worst school I have ever been to. There are about 6 or 7 teachers that actually teach. The rest of them just sit and talk. I fear I will not be prepared for college when I graduate in the spring. Wenonah High School could do a lot better if they tried.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 11, 2005

Hi, everyone I would like to express my feelings about Wenonah at the time I was there. Both my brothers and sister went to Wenonah High. We all had different experiences there. I graduated in 1991 and I can honestly say I could have been a better student if I had the opportunity to excel and achieve the highest goals possible in academics without the stress of my surroundings at that particular time. It took me awhile after I graduated to find out I wasn't ready for the real world. I had great teachers there Ms. Petty, Mr. Davis and a few others that really left a great impression on me.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 19, 2004

i am a student at wenonah high school and this school is preparing me for college. and when i have kids they will be going here. Thanks Wenonah high School!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 18, 2003

Wenonah High School prepares everyone, especially in Math and Science
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 12, 2003

I graduated from Wenonah in 1999 and they prepared me well for life outside of High School and Birmingham. I would love for my son who is now 4 yrs. old, to attend Wenonah.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 4, 2003

I graduated from this high school in 2002 and I can honestly say that I was not prepared for college. If I had any children they wouldn't attend this school!
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Povertyn/a
Not povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 95% in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
95%
Language

The state average for Language was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
97%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
96%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 98% in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Language

The state average for Language was 91% in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 95% in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 94% in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
99%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
0%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

All Students88%
Female88%
Male88%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible86%
Reduced lunch eligible0%
Special education62%
General population92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English88%
Not migrant88%
Poverty88%
Not poverty94%

Language

All Students57%
Female60%
Male55%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible55%
Reduced lunch eligible64%
Special education14%
General population65%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English57%
Not migrant57%
Poverty56%
Not poverty71%

Math

All Students80%
Female84%
Male76%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible77%
Reduced lunch eligible100%
Special education36%
General population87%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English80%
Not migrant80%
Poverty79%
Not poverty88%

Reading

All Students75%
Female78%
Male73%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible73%
Reduced lunch eligible91%
Special education41%
General population81%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English75%
Not migrant75%
Poverty75%
Not poverty82%

Social Studies

All Students63%
Female61%
Male65%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible58%
Reduced lunch eligible91%
Special education36%
General population67%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English63%
Not migrant63%
Poverty61%
Not poverty82%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Biology I

All Students96%
Female96%
Male96%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible96%
Reduced lunch eligible100%
Special education75%
General population98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant96%
Poverty96%
Not poverty95%

Language

All Students87%
Female90%
Male82%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible85%
Reduced lunch eligible0%
Special education38%
General population92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant87%
Poverty86%
Not poverty95%

Math

All Students92%
Female92%
Male92%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible92%
Reduced lunch eligible100%
Special education56%
General population96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant92%
Poverty92%
Not poverty89%

Reading

All Students91%
Female91%
Male91%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible89%
Reduced lunch eligible0%
Special education50%
General population95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant91%
Poverty90%
Not poverty95%

Social Studies

All Students0%
Female0%
Male93%
Blackn/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible0%
Reduced lunch eligible0%
Special education88%
General population0%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant0%
Poverty0%
Not poverty89%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Alabama used the Alabama High School Graduation Exam (AHSGE) to test high school students in reading, math, language, biology and social studies. High school students must pass the AHSGE in order to graduate. The AHSGE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to pass the test.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 99% 34%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 5%
Two or more races 0% 1%
White 0% 58%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 87%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms Regina Carr Hunter
Fax number
  • (205) 231-1655

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2800wilson Rd SW
Birmingham, AL 35221
Phone: (205) 231-1660

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



West End High School
Birmingham, AL


Fairfield Alt School
Fairfield, AL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT