Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 12 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Daniel Payne Middle School 5

Posted October 08, 2009
- a student
great school everything about this school is cool

Daniel Payne Middle School
no rating

Posted October 20, 2008
- a student
daniel payne is not a bad school. there are children who have parents that are not doing there job as parents. I go to daniel payne and it is very fun. The teachers try to do all they can to teach us.


Daniel Payne Middle School 5

Posted December 08, 2007
- a parent
I think Daniel Payne is not what people think it is.It is a very safe, fun, and learning enviroment for my son.

Daniel Payne Middle School
no rating

Posted September 26, 2007
- a parent
In my observation Daniel Payne Middle school overall rating is a 2.From principal leadership,teacher quality,and parent involvement.There needs to be more involvement overall to bring up this rating. They're also has to be more feedback from the teachers to the parents to make sure that the student is getting everything that they need.

Daniel Payne Middle School 4

Posted August 22, 2005
- a parent
I think that Daniel Payne is one of the best Middle Schools in the Birmingham System. I've had two daughters to attend this school. Daniel Payne has excellent teachers, and an excellent principal. My daugters have done a great job academically, all because of what they have learned at this school. They have both gone through honors classes in High School, and have done very well. All of the teachers are challenging the children in all grade levels. They don't have enough parental involvement. There are only parent's whose children are trying very hard attending PTA meetings. I feel that all parents should become involved in their childs education. If they do, they wouldn't have so many problems. Don't complain, get involved! Well Done Daniel Payne! I am Proud!


Daniel Payne Middle School 4

Posted September 30, 2004
- a parent
September 30, 2004 I have a son in the sixth grade at Daniel Payne. I was truely afraid for his attendance. So many stories are out there about this school. Statements about the behavior of the students. That can be corrected if parents do their part. However, wiith the teachers I am pleased so far. I think Mrs. Ming is on the ball with the math. We as parents just have to jump in the bandwagon with her. Mr. Blue and Mr. Williams are good teachers and they aren't taking any stuff for these kids. Mrs. Clark has been out but if she come back ready to go forth. Our children will only get as much as we push them to get from this school. I think has a lot to offer we just have to make the most of it.

Daniel Payne Middle School 2

Posted August 11, 2003
- a student
Hi, I am a former student of Daniel Payne (2003),and let me be the first to say that this school is horrible. Overall, we had a handful of wonderful teachers, Mr.Cook, Mr.Mcghee,Mrs. Ming, Mrs.Thompson, Mr. Buford Clark, and Mr. Echols. The rest of them only half teach.Over the past 5 or six years we've had a principal who sat and let children run over him. Last year, the school board attempted to hire a better principle, but they only recieved one that was worse.The discipline there is horrific, and the parent involvement is decreasing now that children are graduating.To be honest, I am truly jubilant that I have graduated, So, if you have a choice, do your kids a favor and put them in another school.

Daniel Payne Middle School 4

Posted August 10, 2003
- a parent
Daniel Payne is an excellent school. The staff really seems to care about the student's learning. The only that I have noticed is that whenever the school obtains staff members who work to improve the school,those personnel are sent to other schools before their task is completed at Danie Payne. Within the past to years, Daniel Payne has seen too many Principals as well as counelors. Also, parental involvement is at an all time low. It's amazing how parents will come to a school because of 'mess', but will never offer solutions to problems or become a part of the school's PTA.


Daniel Payne Middle School 1

Posted July 21, 2003
- a parent
From my opinion I think you can choose better, to be honest with Parent/Guardian I mean its okay but its not the best at, all the teachers half teach, and the school is not well displine at all.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Daniel Payne Middle School
1500 Daniel Payne Dr, Birmingham, AL  35214
(205) 231-3190
Last modified Daniel Payne Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-9
Daniel Payne Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top