Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sun Valley Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 28, 2014

Sun Valley is a great school. I wish more of the parents had a positive outlook on their child's education.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 24, 2013

Sun Valley leaves a lot to be desired in many aspects. The one thing that bothers me the most is that the principal does not care about the kids or the school and she shows that in her many absences from the school. She has gotten progressively worse since she has been their and the board seems to care less. The teachers have no since of governance and I can say that many of them need it b/c their teaching methods leave me as a parent, upset and embarrassed for them to be seen as an educator. The school also has no PTA/PTO and the principal blocks every chance at forming a healthy organazation that would benefit the students, parents and teachers. It is a said state and again the board seems to look the other way at how unproductive the school is at with it's parent involvement programs. I need to inflict change b/c if the principal does not want to be at the school then she should be replaced and maybe the atmosphere will change!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2013

my kids attended sun valley for many years. it started out great but as the years past there were changes in principals. the school is 99% black and they have a white principal who really does not seem to care about the kids and it shows in her attitude. she is not friendly or welcoming to parents at all. there are many good teachers there but many bad ones also. many just really seem burned out and just don't seem to care. they are yelling at the kids and rude to the parents. I attended Bham city schools and wanted to give them a chance but sadly I had to leave the system for my kids. it's really a school system that's crashing fast, which really saddens me. I would not reccomend this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2012

As i child i never attended public school even though i wanted to. I had my child in private school for two years and he actually skipped a grade. So i was like ok we will try public school and it will save me a lot of money. It was not worth it and i see why my mom paid for my education. She was ahead but only because they didnt teach anything. LESSON LEARNED
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2011

I have three kids at sun valley 5th, 2nd, kindergarden. i can count on one hand that its still some good old fashion teacher that know how to run there class and doesnt call you for everything. but this school here has been awful for my 5 grader. the first two weeks was great homework, agenda book where actually used, tuesday folder where on time. but soon are later no responses in the agenda books, no tuesday folders. this time i havent receive know progress report yet and its been atleast 2 weeks. this woman here doesnt have a passion at all for our kids she spends more time off are in a meeting than in her class. cant wait to see report cards this time around, if we get them on time. my 2nd grader teacher is awesome shes on time with everything if not she lets you know whats going on. my son has homework daily spelling words etc. agenda book checked. kindergarden she is awesome this teacher here handle those little ones well. not to sound harsh but if alot of them think of there own kids and love what they do our schools will be so much better. i can imagine how it may be for some but if we all still believe in the old way bringing back the paddling, discipline will change.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2011

I am deeply sadden this year. My son is in Kindergarten and though the teacher is adequate, there is NO enthusiasm. I am disappointed. The principal is uncaring, rude, and says statements that are offensive. She is not invested in the school. The two principal before her were gems compared to her. She came from another school and perhaps she is sad since she was overlooked and had to come here. It is a beautiful school. It just needs real leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2009

We have enjoyed our first year at Sun Valley. My son his dad and I really appreciate the staff. We are definately looking forward to next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2009

The former principal, Mrs. Ragland was awesome. The teachers that y children had were great. The current principal is quite impersonal to have that position. It was like going from sunshine to clouds. If you were not in the 'elite' you were neither seen nor heard.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2009

The administration has great patience with the children of Sun Valley. I know this from experience and I greatly appreciate them. They also strive hard to make the learning environment conducive for learning. As a parent I think this is very important, it is a great boost to the morale of the kids. Again I feel the great schools rating on this site does not represent the school well at all. The rating needs to be revisited and re-done.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2009

I think Sun Valley is a very,very good school.They do a excellent job with the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2007

I am very pleased with Sun Valley Elementary School. My oldest daughter attended this school, and now my middle daughter attends. The administrators as well as the teachers are very coordinated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2007

Sun Valley has been great for my kids. The only thing that disappoints me is the lack of extracurricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2006

I love this school. if it wasn't for Sun Valley I wouldn/t be at W.J Christian Alternative
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 11, 2005

Sunvalley has one of the best academic programs I have ever seen and I love it. My son has learned so much. They have the smartest kindergarten students I have ever come in contact with and the principal is awsome.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

80 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
61%

2009

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

80 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
75%

2009

 
 
70%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

68 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
54%

2009

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

68 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
63%

2009

 
 
68%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 91% in 2012.

96 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
73%

2009

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2012.

96 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
73%

2009

 
 
76%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students75%
Female79%
Male71%
Black74%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible72%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population83%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English75%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant75%
Poverty73%
Non-povertyn/a

Reading

All Students75%
Female76%
Male74%
Black74%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible72%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population84%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English75%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant75%
Poverty73%
Non-povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students78%
Female79%
Male76%
Black78%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible76%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population83%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English78%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant78%
Poverty77%
Non-povertyn/a

Reading

All Students68%
Female77%
Male55%
Black68%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible64%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population73%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English68%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant68%
Poverty65%
Non-povertyn/a
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students88%
Female88%
Male88%
Black87%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible85%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population91%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%
Poverty85%
Non-poverty95%

Reading

All Students83%
Female88%
Male80%
Black83%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible83%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population88%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English83%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant83%
Poverty81%
Non-poverty90%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2012.

96 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
73%

2009

 
 
50%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Students79%
Female85%
Male75%
Black79%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Free lunch eligible77%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Special educationn/a
General population82%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English79%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant79%
Poverty77%
Non-poverty86%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 98% 35%
White 1% 58%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 4%
Two or more races 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 52%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (205) 231-5747

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Visit

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:
Elementary school


 

How to apply

Does this school have an application or enrollment process?
 

No

Planning Ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Woodlawn High
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1010-18th Avenue NW
Birmingham, AL 35215
Website: Click here
Phone: (205) 231-5740

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT