Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Chalkville Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 13, 2010

I love this school. My boys have attended Chalkville for the past 2yrs, but we recently moved and they have to go to a new school. Its amazing how the teachers and principles know the children's names and the parents when they see us coming! I was never worried about their education and safety. I am planning on purchasing a house in this school district again and send my boys back to Chalkville! I do believe that Jefferson County should give this school more funding because you won't find a better dedicated staff than this. I have nothing but good to say about this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2009

This is a very special school environment. I have seven children and GrandChildren. I am now involved in parenting my Great GrandChildren. My GGSon attended Kindergarten last year at this school. His Teacher was Mrs Mahler, a wonderful and caring Educator. He has learned much more than I would ever have anticipated from a Kindergarten. Everyone CARES about the children; their education and their personal well-being; the Office Staff, the Principal, the Teachers and the Lunch Room Staff. The school and grounds are always clean and well maintained. I highly recommend this school. R. D. Bob Champion, a GGParent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2009

I can't say enough about Chalkville Elementary School. My child has attended since Kindergarten - 4th grade so far. This is one school that is very focused on the children making good grades. Every teacher my child has had are absolutely dedicated to their jobs. I love the no nonsense approach from the principals and teachers. The staff wastes no time in correcting any problems or issues with the students. We decided to continue to live in this area because of Chalkville Elementary School!! There, we know that our child is receiving the very best education. Diane McGill
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2009

Chalkville Elementary School has quality teachers. The teachers methods of teaching recognizes true potential of their students. The school incorporate challenging opportunities for young childrens. The safety and discipline by the principal show good leadership. My grandchildren enjoy attending Chalkville Elementary (we give the school five stars).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2009

Chalkville Elementary School is a wonderful, very educational school. My son is in Mrs. Zoghby's class he really enjoy her and he says she is the most wonderful teacher he could ever meet, she really has teached him a lot of things. We thank you so much. Therefore my opinion Chalkville Elementary is a very good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2009

This school has a lot of things that need to change if they are to excel in education.Lack of money and lack of materials needed in the classroom are a serious problem.The teachers are wonderful but the county needs to invest more in the children's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2008

My children and i love this school. My children have learned so much. They really take the time to teach your student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2008

The fourth grade teachers are # 1 at Chalkville El.. My daughter is in Mrs. McGaughey's room and is enjoying her so much. The teacher is young, pretty and well educated. My daughter is so fortunate to be in her class. In general, all the teachers seem to have the same attitude as Mrs. Mcgaughey. Go Chalkville EL!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2006

This school is wonderful.. The staff truely care for the children's education. It is a bit crowded, but that's due the growth in the area. It's a safe school. They are serious at this school and it shows thur the education provided. Very good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2005

All 3 of my kids have went to this school and I have nothing but good to say about this school. The principal is outstanding and I give the teachers an A+. My kids love this school and have been very happy here and have learned alot. I recommend this school to any parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2005

All three of my children attended Chalkville. I have always been very impressed with the quality of the education they have received, as well as involvement from the teachers. They also have a wonderful PTA program, which seems lacking at other schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2004

My son has attended the elementary school for 2 years and I hate the fact that he and my other son will be attending the school this year. We will be moving so our children can go to a school were the parents are involved with their children and don't send them to school for a free daycare. I have been up at the school alot over the past 2 years and have seen to much. Alot of the parents expect the kids to raise them selfs or the teachers. It is not their jobs to raise everyone elses kids. The parents are not envolved with the school and it shows in the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2004

Both of my children have now 'graduated' from here. It is a wonderful school, with an awesome principal! She truly cares about every child -- she knows them all and loves them all! What an environment to learn in! This is a wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2004

this is my daughters first year attending Chalkville and I am most impressed with Mrs. Hunsinger, with the way she is obviously respected by the students.I was a little concerned when my daughter transferred there unaware of the # of kids attending. But she has adjusted well and and is always excited about going to school!She is 3rd grade so we a couple more years, so we are looking forward to the next two years. We are always telling others how happy we are since my child is there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2004

All three of my children have attended Chalkville Elementary, of which my youngest graduates 5th grade this year. Each of them have had wonderful experiences at Chalkville. I have been pleased that 2 of my children have been in the RLC program, which has allowed them even more opportunites in learning. Every teacher along the path of learning has had a great impact on my children. I can reflect more recently on the education of my son in 5th grade. He has learned so much. His writing skills are extraordinary, because his teacher is a quality teacher. The principal is greatly respected by the students. I have no complaints. I am proud that my children have a great education from Chalkville Elementary. My sons SAT percentile scores are higher than my step son's in the same grade at a private school. Because of the number of students in this public system, it is unfair to compare it to the standings of private education. Private schools have the advantage of a lower teacher/student ratio, therefore, their standings can be higher. For Chalkville, they extend the same quality of education...but to a more diverse population. I give them my highest rating!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2004

When my son started there a couple of years ago I was worried because the number of children that attend Chalkville Elem.. I must say I'm most impressed with Mrs. Hunsinger, the Principal. She controls that school with great leadership and skill. I see her in the mornings greeting the children and in the evening making sure every kid gets to their bus or car. With the school being so small with so many children attending I'm amazed at how she handles everything. The teachers are wonderful and are there to help in an instant. I love this school and tell everyone how thankful we are for the teachers and Mrs. Hunsinger. Thanks for all you do!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

187 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
85%

2009

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

186 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
82%

2009

 
 
80%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2012.

224 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
86%

2009

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2012.

224 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
88%

2009

 
 
85%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 91% in 2012.

218 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
75%

2009

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2012.

218 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
82%

2009

 
 
92%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students91%
Female96%
Male86%
Black90%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic91%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White95%
Free lunch eligible86%
Reduced lunch eligible100%
Special education55%
General population95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Poverty88%
Non-poverty100%

Reading

All Students88%
Female96%
Male80%
Black86%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White92%
Free lunch eligible85%
Reduced lunch eligible100%
Special education55%
General population92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%
Poverty86%
Non-poverty94%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students95%
Female98%
Male92%
Black94%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White97%
Free lunch eligible94%
Reduced lunch eligible100%
Special education67%
General population99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Poverty94%
Non-poverty97%

Reading

All Students92%
Female95%
Male88%
Black89%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White100%
Free lunch eligible89%
Reduced lunch eligible81%
Special education56%
General population96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant92%
Poverty89%
Non-poverty99%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Math

All Students90%
Female95%
Male86%
Black90%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White83%
Free lunch eligible88%
Reduced lunch eligible91%
Special education70%
General population94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Poverty88%
Non-poverty96%

Reading

All Students85%
Female88%
Male83%
Black84%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic92%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White86%
Free lunch eligible82%
Reduced lunch eligible87%
Special education43%
General population94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English85%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant85%
Poverty83%
Non-poverty92%
Scale: % level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Reading and Mathematics Test (ARMT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math. The ARMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

The state average for Science was 80% in 2012.

216 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
69%

2009

 
 
73%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Science

All Students63%
Female64%
Male61%
Black61%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White69%
Free lunch eligible56%
Reduced lunch eligible83%
Special education18%
General population72%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English63%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant63%
Poverty59%
Non-poverty73%
Scale: % level 3 or level 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Alabama used the Alabama Science Assessment (ASA) to test students in grades 5 and 7 in science. The ASA is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Alabama. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the Alabama Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Alabama Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 74% 34%
White 17% 58%
Hispanic 6% 5%
Two or more races 2% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 73%N/A56%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr Rod Johnson
Fax number
  • (205) 856-6662

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

940 Chalkville School Rd
Birmingham, AL 35215
Website: Click here
Phone: (205) 379-2950

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT